Quantcast
Game crashes when loading character - EQ2Interface
EQ2Interface.com
Search Downloads


Go Back   EQ2Interface > Featured Projects > ProfitUI

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 11-21-2009, 11:00 PM
Daxius Daxius is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 2
Default Game crashes when loading character

I just reinstalled with Windows 7.

I lost my EQ2 discs so im left downloading the EQ2 trial and playing through that. So now it seems they only have the option to stream the game!?

Anyway i loaded up the new ProfitUI but then i click login on the character select screen it crashes the game every time.

I have followed the UI install instructions, does anyone know what would cause this?

It is because of the new "streaming" method of running EQ2?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread 11-21-2009, 11:38 PM
Drumstix42's Avatar
Drumstix42 Drumstix42 is offline
A Griffon
Featured
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 3,179
Send a message via AIM to Drumstix42 Send a message via MSN to Drumstix42 Send a message via Yahoo to Drumstix42
Default

The trial? Just goto http://everquest2.com/ and at the top click "GET THE GAME" and select "Reinstall". Should give you the normal patcher.

As for crashing, no clue.
__________________
"I'm afraid you're guilty of thought-crime. Don't bother getting the door, we'll let ourselves in..."
<Donate to DrumsUI> < [DrumsUI] Updater > < [DrumsUI] Full Interface> < Drumstix42 on Twitch.tv
>
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread 12-14-2009, 04:49 PM
fearitself fearitself is offline
A Coastal Crab
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 1
Default

same thing here. I just installed windows 7 on my laptop, and used the new streaming client. now it launches and goes to character select but crashes as soon as you choose a toon and select play. changing to the standard UI fixes it and launches fine.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread 12-18-2009, 10:26 AM
Farfr0msane Farfr0msane is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 6
Default No Love

A friend is having the same issue. Windows 7, new streaming client, as soon as you click play at the character select screen EQ2 crashes (not responding). Delete the eq2.ini file allowing EQ2 to load default UI and it works great. Any ideas as to what is missing or happening?
(Note: I also had him run both EQ2 and Profit Updater in Admin mode to see if it was a premissions issue, still no love.)

Also, we both had issues with the new streaming client not having an eq2.exe file, see here for more details.
http://www.eq2interface.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=13649
Thanks for reading.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Unread 12-19-2009, 12:06 PM
autenil autenil is offline
EQ2 DEV
Yes this person is from SOE!
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Server: Everfrost
Posts: 8
Default

Is there an EQ2_crash.log or EQ2_crash.log.old file in your install directory? If so, please send it to me: jkriegshauser -at- soe.sony.com

The install directory on Windows 7 is:
C:\Users\<user name>\AppData\LocalLow\Sony Online Entertainment\Installed Games\EverQuest II Streaming\
__________________
Joshua "Autenil" Kriegshauser
Technical Director, EverQuest II
Sony Online Entertainment, LLC.
http://kriegshauser.blogspot.com/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Unread 12-20-2009, 01:51 AM
autenil autenil is offline
EQ2 DEV
Yes this person is from SOE!
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Server: Everfrost
Posts: 8
Default

Wow, this crash seems to be pretty epic. Thanks for emailing me the crash log.

I can reproduce the problem. After looking into it quite a bit, it appears to be a vulnerability inside one of Microsoft's DLLs coupled with the long path of the default install location. I'll report my findings to Microsoft since the crash appears to be in a Windows 7 DLL. I haven't tried this on any other OS.

In the meantime, there are the following workarounds:
- If you're crashing when picking a character, try deleting UI/ProfitUI/fonts/*.ttf and adding them to your ignore list. Some of the fonts will use the default, but the game will be playable with ProfitUI.
- Try re-installing to a different folder, like C:\EverQuest II. This shortens the path and should fix the problem.

I tried making my path even longer (C:\Users\jkriegshauser\AppData\LocalLow\Sony Online Entertainment\Installed Games\EverQuest II Streaming Client\) and started crashing at startup, but for the same reason.
__________________
Joshua "Autenil" Kriegshauser
Technical Director, EverQuest II
Sony Online Entertainment, LLC.
http://kriegshauser.blogspot.com/
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Unread 12-20-2009, 04:34 AM
Drumstix42's Avatar
Drumstix42 Drumstix42 is offline
A Griffon
Featured
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 3,179
Send a message via AIM to Drumstix42 Send a message via MSN to Drumstix42 Send a message via Yahoo to Drumstix42
Default

Thanks for the follow up! Glad to see some progress on this mysterious bug. I sure would love the option to be able to pick an install location attached to any or all of the launchers at first open.

Thanks!
__________________
"I'm afraid you're guilty of thought-crime. Don't bother getting the door, we'll let ourselves in..."
<Donate to DrumsUI> < [DrumsUI] Updater > < [DrumsUI] Full Interface> < Drumstix42 on Twitch.tv
>
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Unread 12-20-2009, 09:52 PM
Farfr0msane Farfr0msane is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 6
Default

Thank you Autentil! I had my friend move the contents of the \EverQuest II Streaming fold to a new C:\Programs Files (x86)\Sony\Everquest II folder and it is working so for, thank you for the help.
An option to select installation location would be a good addition to the streaming client if you can swing it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Unread 12-20-2009, 10:03 PM
lordebon lordebon is offline
Fetish Core author
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Featured
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 2,560
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Farfr0msane View Post
Thank you Autentil! I had my friend move the contents of the \EverQuest II Streaming fold to a new C:\Programs Files (x86)\Sony\Everquest II folder and it is working so for, thank you for the help.
An option to select installation location would be a good addition to the streaming client if you can swing it.
I believe there is an option to select where the streaming patcher installs. IIRC, it's under an "advanced" install rather than being an option in the "default" install.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Unread 12-21-2009, 12:26 PM
gm9 gm9 is offline
gm10-1
Premium Member
EQ2Interface Super Mod
Featured
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Server: Runnyeye
Posts: 6,478
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by autenil View Post
I'll report my findings to Microsoft since the crash appears to be in a Windows 7 DLL. I haven't tried this on any other OS.
The general issue is not new however, if your code is not calling the unicode Windows API functions when dealing with files you always run the risk of exceeding MAX_PATH regardless of the OS. Most of the builtin functions and dialogues use the ANSI calls btw which is why they crash due to buffer overflows in those situations.

edit: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/libr...47(VS.85).aspx
__________________
P R O F I T U I ∙ R E B O R N [Auto-Updater] | [Portal] | [F.A.Q.] | [Support Forums]
~ Retired ~
If it does not work, you likely installed it incorrectly. Always try a clean install before reporting bugs.

Last edited by gm9 : 12-21-2009 at 12:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Unread 12-21-2009, 01:11 PM
autenil autenil is offline
EQ2 DEV
Yes this person is from SOE!
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Server: Everfrost
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gm9 View Post
The general issue is not new however, if your code is not calling the unicode Windows API functions when dealing with files you always run the risk of exceeding MAX_PATH regardless of the OS. Most of the builtin functions and dialogues use the ANSI calls btw which is why they crash due to buffer overflows in those situations.

edit: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/libr...47(VS.85).aspx
The crash occurs on both wide and multi-byte versions of the API, and the path generated (~130 bytes) is significantly less than MAX_PATH (260 bytes). I've written a 5-line program that reproduces the problem and reported the findings to MS. They've opened a ticket to address it. I'll be following it closely.

In the meantime, using custom UIs necessitates picking the advanced option and installing to a directory with a shorter path. I'll talk to the launcher guys and see if we can get a shorter install path by default, but that won't happen until after the holidays.
__________________
Joshua "Autenil" Kriegshauser
Technical Director, EverQuest II
Sony Online Entertainment, LLC.
http://kriegshauser.blogspot.com/

Last edited by autenil : 12-21-2009 at 01:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Unread 12-21-2009, 10:29 PM
gm9 gm9 is offline
gm10-1
Premium Member
EQ2Interface Super Mod
Featured
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Server: Runnyeye
Posts: 6,478
Default

Ah thanks for that info!
__________________
P R O F I T U I ∙ R E B O R N [Auto-Updater] | [Portal] | [F.A.Q.] | [Support Forums]
~ Retired ~
If it does not work, you likely installed it incorrectly. Always try a clean install before reporting bugs.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 AM.


Our Network
EQInterface | EQ2Interface | War.MMOUI | WoWInterface | VGInterface | LoTROInterface | MMOInterface