EQ2Interface.com
Search Downloads


Go Back   EQ2Interface > General Discussion > Help!?!?!

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 06-29-2024, 02:32 AM
Arther759 Arther759 is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Jun 2024
Server: Guk
Posts: 5
Default Help with Darqui Install and setup please

Hello All,

I recently returned to EQ2 after being away for 10 years, and wanted to install Darqui to help improve my gameplay.

The other day I downloaded it from EQ interface.

I then unzipped it right into my EQ2 UI folder, then ran the install but once I loaded into the game something was not right. It seemed like both the default EQ2 interface and Darqui interface was showing up on my screen. It was a mess. Example: Chat windows and Character screen was still EQ2 but the XP bar was I assume Darqui....ect....there where other box's on top of other box's.

I tried to mess with it but everything was such a mess I uninstalled it.

What did I do wrong?
Any advice would be welcomed!!!
I am running on Windows 10 - high end gaming system.

Thanks in advance.

Arther

Last edited by Arther759 : 06-29-2024 at 02:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread 06-29-2024, 08:40 PM
allday69 allday69 is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: May 2023
Server: Unkown
Posts: 5
Default hmm

best guess would be just to do a fresh install.
erase everything in ui folder
copy the exe into there and run/install it
then launch eq2,let it update, and should work.
can also try /loadui ingame and select darqui incase
ur eq2.ini isnt correctly directed to it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread 07-01-2024, 05:49 PM
zaradann zaradann is offline
A Grassland Beetle
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 62
Default

did you use the /loadui command and choose Darq? usually have to do this
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread 07-03-2024, 03:08 PM
Arther759 Arther759 is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Jun 2024
Server: Guk
Posts: 5
Default

Thank you all for the advice.

I did try and fresh install and used the /loadui command in game but I'm still getting the same thing. If I can figure out how to include a screen shot I will add it so you can see what I am seeing when I load the UI.


For me this is how I did the install: Downloaded it, unzip into Games SSD 2T (A) games folder then UI folder.

Then I clicked on DarqUI Unified and went through the install process.

In that UI folder the only thing that shows is:

DarqUI_v3
Default
Default_Blue
EQ2MAP
Fonts
DarqUI Unified.


Hope some of this additonal information helps, thanks again for any advice.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Unread 07-03-2024, 06:41 PM
Darqwood's Avatar
Darqwood Darqwood is offline
A Griffon
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 882
Default

Arther759, looking back at you original post I'm thinking there may not actually be a problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arther759 View Post
Hello All,

I recently returned to EQ2 after being away for 10 years, and wanted to install Darqui to help improve my gameplay.

The other day I downloaded it from EQ interface.

I then unzipped it right into my EQ2 UI folder, then ran the install but once I loaded into the game something was not right. It seemed like both the default EQ2 interface and Darqui interface was showing up on my screen. It was a mess. Example: Chat windows and Character screen was still EQ2 but the XP bar was I assume Darqui....ect....there where other box's on top of other box's.

I tried to mess with it but everything was such a mess I uninstalled it.

What did I do wrong?
Any advice would be welcomed!!!
I am running on Windows 10 - high end gaming system.

Thanks in advance.

Arther

1. The DarqUI Chat window and Character window don't look all that much different from the default components, which is by design. How did you decide these two components were from the default UI?

2. DarqUI has several custom components that are displayed for characters that log in for the first time. The idea is that if I didn't show them to you, you might never realize they are part of the UI. In the free UI you will see something like this when logging with a new character:



Roughly left to right, these are the Icon Bar, Stat Monitor, Maintained Spell Monitor and Gear Buff Macros. Are these the boxes on top of boxes that you witnessed? They can all be turned off from the settings (Window Manager) window. I have a feeling you installed DarqUI correctly but saw things you didn't expect.


.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	new-user-ui.png
Views:	136
Size:	285.6 KB
ID:	9828  
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Unread 07-04-2024, 04:49 PM
Arther759 Arther759 is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Jun 2024
Server: Guk
Posts: 5
Default

How can I add a screen shot of what I'm seeing? When I click on insert image it's asking me for a url link.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Unread 07-05-2024, 10:18 AM
Darqwood's Avatar
Darqwood Darqwood is offline
A Griffon
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 882
Default

When composing your post click the paperclip and add an image. File size needs to be fairly small so you may need to reduce the size in your Paint program.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Unread 07-05-2024, 03:29 PM
Arther759 Arther759 is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Jun 2024
Server: Guk
Posts: 5
Default

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot (5).jpg
Views:	68
Size:	240.5 KB
ID:	9836



Here is the screen shot, hope this worked. I did have to edit it so it would allow me to upload it.

As you can see there are box's all over the place (maybe that's normal).

Another strange thing is I can only type in the bottom left chat window.

I have 3 chat windows:

Bottom left which has 3 tabs, global chat, combat info and loot rewards
Above bottom left which I use for group chat, raid chat and private tells
Far right which I use for guild chat.

But for some reason It only lets me type in the bottom left window.

Hope this all makes sense and thanks again for the feedback.

Last edited by Arther759 : 07-05-2024 at 03:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Unread 07-06-2024, 10:10 PM
Darqwood's Avatar
Darqwood Darqwood is offline
A Griffon
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 882
Default

Right-click a chat window that does not have an input line and go to Window Settings. Choose Frame Only from the dropdown and you should get an input line.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Unread 07-07-2024, 03:12 PM
Arther759 Arther759 is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Jun 2024
Server: Guk
Posts: 5
Default

Ok based off that screen shot I added, does everything look like it is working as intended?


The main reason I wanted to use this UI is because people have said it makes it a lot easier to heal and cure people in groups. I assume one of those windows is what makes that possible.

If things are working as intended are there any additional suggestions you can give me to customize the UI so It is as useful as possible? (in game or during the install process).



Thanks again for putting up with all my questions.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Unread 07-07-2024, 06:31 PM
Darqwood's Avatar
Darqwood Darqwood is offline
A Griffon
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 882
Default

Everything looks fine, although you'll want to find out what each component does, and customize the ones you feel will be useful to you as a Priest. Since you are not yet familiar with the various DarqUI components, I suggest taking a quick look at the help files for each of them.

In the upper left-hand corner of each window is a blue "gem" button that appears when you mouse over the area. Click that and the Window Manager will appear. This is where you can customize settings to match your Priest's needs and your preferences.

At the top of the Window Manager is a purple [?] Help icon. Click that for any component and you'll get a Help page with more detailed information about settings, and usually a paragraph or two describing what the window is and why you would want to use it.

For a Priest class you'll most likely be making heavy use of the reference-cast spell icons on the Group and Raid windows, and the Maintained Spell Monitor. If you have gear with useful proc effects, you might take a look at the Gear Buff Macros window. I know it may seem overwhelming at first but it's really not once you get the hang of how to configure the parts you need. You don't have to use everything all at once.


.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 AM.


Our Network
EQInterface | EQ2Interface | WoWInterface | LoTROInterface | ESOUI | MMOUI