EQ2Interface.com
Search Downloads


Go Back   EQ2Interface > Developer Discussion > XML Modification Help & Info

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 06-27-2008, 12:43 PM
RickF7666's Avatar
RickF7666 RickF7666 is offline
A Griffawn
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Server: Oasis
Posts: 70
Default Group window send tell

I've come up with a way to send a tell to a group member. This is suppose to be an easy way for group members to have a private chat with out involving the entire group. Basically, push a button and send a tell to that group member. The problem I'm having is that it sends the group member's name twice to the chat window. So what I have is:

OnPress="beginchatinput "/t " ## parent.Name.text"

Is there any way to do this with out the group member's name coming up twice?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread 06-27-2008, 05:18 PM
Drumstix42's Avatar
Drumstix42 Drumstix42 is offline
A Griffon
Featured
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 3,287
Default

So your code ends up putting text in the chat like:

/t Drumstix Drumstix

?

*edit* nevermind. you mean it executes /beginchatinput twice
__________________
"I'm afraid you're guilty of thought-crime. Don't bother getting the door, we'll let ourselves in..."
<Donate to DrumsUI> < [DrumsUI] Updater > < [DrumsUI] Full Interface> < Drumstix42 on Twitch.tv
>

Last edited by Drumstix42 : 06-27-2008 at 05:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread 06-27-2008, 05:36 PM
lordebon lordebon is offline
Fetish Core author
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Featured
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Server: Crushbone
Posts: 2,667
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RickF7666 View Post
I've come up with a way to send a tell to a group member. This is suppose to be an easy way for group members to have a private chat with out involving the entire group. Basically, push a button and send a tell to that group member. The problem I'm having is that it sends the group member's name twice to the chat window. So what I have is:

OnPress="beginchatinput &quot;/t &quot; ## parent.Name.text"

Is there any way to do this with out the group member's name coming up twice?
I've had this issue before. Here's what to do...

OnHover="A = &quot;/t &quot; ## parent.Name.text"
OnPress="beginchatinput A"

Note that code may not be 100% correct, I'll check it against the file I use later.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread 06-27-2008, 05:58 PM
Drumstix42's Avatar
Drumstix42 Drumstix42 is offline
A Griffon
Featured
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 3,287
Default

Oh I think I see the problem. It seems whenever you execute an in-game command on only one line of code, it executes it twice...

This should work:

Code:
OnPress="sTempName=(&quot;/t &quot;)##(Parent.Name.Text)
beginchatinput sTempName"
__________________
"I'm afraid you're guilty of thought-crime. Don't bother getting the door, we'll let ourselves in..."
<Donate to DrumsUI> < [DrumsUI] Updater > < [DrumsUI] Full Interface> < Drumstix42 on Twitch.tv
>
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Unread 06-28-2008, 07:46 AM
gm9 gm9 is offline
gm10-1
Premium Member
EQ2Interface Super Mod
Featured
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6,479
Default

It's simpler to just remove the ## operator, i.e. it needs to look like this:
OnPress="beginchatinput &quot;/t &quot; parent.Name.Text"
PS: Apart from that - as a general rule - I recommend to not use command abbreviations in code, i.e. write /tell instead of /t. Abbreviations may change over time, better be on the safe side.
__________________
P R O F I T U I ∙ R E B O R N [Auto-Updater] | [Portal] | [F.A.Q.] | [Support Forums]
~ Retired ~
If it does not work, you likely installed it incorrectly. Always try a clean install before reporting bugs.

Last edited by gm9 : 06-28-2008 at 07:49 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Unread 06-28-2008, 12:53 PM
Drumstix42's Avatar
Drumstix42 Drumstix42 is offline
A Griffon
Featured
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 3,287
Default

May still need to make it two lines of code as I did above, to avoid your double executed command.
__________________
"I'm afraid you're guilty of thought-crime. Don't bother getting the door, we'll let ourselves in..."
<Donate to DrumsUI> < [DrumsUI] Updater > < [DrumsUI] Full Interface> < Drumstix42 on Twitch.tv
>
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Unread 06-28-2008, 02:08 PM
lordebon lordebon is offline
Fetish Core author
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Featured
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Server: Crushbone
Posts: 2,667
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drumstix42 View Post
May still need to make it two lines of code as I did above, to avoid your double executed command.
Double executed has to do with the concat ( ## ) operator I believe. It's the only time I've seen it, and it seems that if you put command A ## B you end up with command A B B (ie it concats twice). If you use more than one concat it gets even worse.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Unread 06-28-2008, 02:23 PM
gm9 gm9 is offline
gm10-1
Premium Member
EQ2Interface Super Mod
Featured
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6,479
Default

Exactly, that's what I was trying to say above.
__________________
P R O F I T U I ∙ R E B O R N [Auto-Updater] | [Portal] | [F.A.Q.] | [Support Forums]
~ Retired ~
If it does not work, you likely installed it incorrectly. Always try a clean install before reporting bugs.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Unread 06-28-2008, 04:23 PM
Drumstix42's Avatar
Drumstix42 Drumstix42 is offline
A Griffon
Featured
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 3,287
Default

Oh ok. That's strange...
__________________
"I'm afraid you're guilty of thought-crime. Don't bother getting the door, we'll let ourselves in..."
<Donate to DrumsUI> < [DrumsUI] Updater > < [DrumsUI] Full Interface> < Drumstix42 on Twitch.tv
>
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Unread 06-28-2008, 04:58 PM
lordebon lordebon is offline
Fetish Core author
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Featured
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Server: Crushbone
Posts: 2,667
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drumstix42 View Post
Oh ok. That's strange...
That's exactly what I said the first time I saw it happen. But after I figured out how to stop it (using variables and the onHover of the button) it's worked fine. My only guess is that the command parser for whatever reason is parsing the concat twice if you try and put it in a command.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Unread 06-28-2008, 05:05 PM
Drumstix42's Avatar
Drumstix42 Drumstix42 is offline
A Griffon
Featured
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 3,287
Default

Trying not to derail here... but is it only for executed commands? Cause I haven't run into the problem before (that I know of)
__________________
"I'm afraid you're guilty of thought-crime. Don't bother getting the door, we'll let ourselves in..."
<Donate to DrumsUI> < [DrumsUI] Updater > < [DrumsUI] Full Interface> < Drumstix42 on Twitch.tv
>
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Unread 06-29-2008, 04:13 AM
Aseekia's Avatar
Aseekia Aseekia is offline
A Brown Bear
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Server: Innothule
Posts: 9
Default another simple code - works fine ;)

<Page Name="Tellmacro">
<Data Name="Tell1" text="Write your Tell here."/>
</Page>

OnPress="tell Parent.Name.LocalText Parent.Parent.Parent.Tellmacro.Tell1.Text

test it on my new grp window and it works fine





mfg
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Unread 06-29-2008, 05:02 AM
gm9 gm9 is offline
gm10-1
Premium Member
EQ2Interface Super Mod
Featured
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6,479
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drumstix42 View Post
Trying not to derail here... but is it only for executed commands? Cause I haven't run into the problem before (that I know of)
Yes, apparently the scripting engine doesn't like combining different types of operations, combining a command with an operator always trips it up (whether you pass it to the command line or just run the command internally).
__________________
P R O F I T U I ∙ R E B O R N [Auto-Updater] | [Portal] | [F.A.Q.] | [Support Forums]
~ Retired ~
If it does not work, you likely installed it incorrectly. Always try a clean install before reporting bugs.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Unread 06-29-2008, 10:55 AM
RickF7666's Avatar
RickF7666 RickF7666 is offline
A Griffawn
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Server: Oasis
Posts: 70
Default Thanks for the help

Thanks everyone for all the help. I've have just uploaded my first group window. As far as I can tell everything works.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:35 AM.


Our Network
EQInterface | EQ2Interface | WoWInterface | LoTROInterface | ESOUI | MMOUI