EQ2Interface.com
Search Downloads


Go Back   EQ2Interface > Developer Discussion > XML Modification Help & Info

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 11-03-2008, 10:01 PM
Draakthor's Avatar
Draakthor Draakthor is offline
A Crazed Gnoll
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Server: Permafrost
Posts: 22
Default Randomly missing tooltips

I added text objects to the experience bar to show attack, avoidance, and mitigation but their tooltips are not appearing. Oddly enough, texts that I copy/pasted from these three to create runspeed and haste labels DO have tooltips. Is there any common mistake I might be making that'll cause dynamic tooltips to not show? As far as I can tell, there's nothing else obstructing them, the tooltips just aren't there. I can post the entire file if needed.

Here's the code for one of the broken texts:
Code:
<Text DynamicData="/GameData.Stats.Defense_Avoidance" 
Font="/Fonts.FontZapf15" 
LocalText="10000" 
Location="126,39" 
MaxLines="1" 
Name="AVDValue" 
ScrollExtent="38,17" 
ShadowStyle="/ShadowStyles.Outline1" 
Size="38,17" 
TruncateElipsis="false">10000</Text>
And for a working text:
Code:
<Text DynamicData="/GameData.Stats.Run_Speed" 
Font="/Fonts.FontZapf15" 
LocalText="100%" 
Location="92,73" 
MaxLines="1" 
Name="RunValue" 
ScrollExtent="38,17" 
ShadowStyle="/ShadowStyles.Outline1" 
Size="38,17" 
TruncateElipsis="false">100%</Text>
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread 11-04-2008, 03:11 AM
gm9 gm9 is offline
gm10-1
Premium Member
EQ2Interface Super Mod
Featured
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6,479
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Draakthor View Post
As far as I can tell, there's nothing else obstructing them
If the two code snippets you posted are located on the same level in the XML tree and one works and the other doesn't then I'll guarantee that you have something obstructing the not-working one, that something having set AbsorbsInput="true".
__________________
P R O F I T U I ∙ R E B O R N [Auto-Updater] | [Portal] | [F.A.Q.] | [Support Forums]
~ Retired ~
If it does not work, you likely installed it incorrectly. Always try a clean install before reporting bugs.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread 11-04-2008, 06:34 AM
sorinth sorinth is offline
A Griffon
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Server: Najena
Posts: 160
Default

well, not being an xml coder, the only thing I see that is different is LocalText="10000" in the first one and 100% in the second.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Draakthor View Post
I added text objects to the experience bar to show attack, avoidance, and mitigation but their tooltips are not appearing. Oddly enough, texts that I copy/pasted from these three to create runspeed and haste labels DO have tooltips. Is there any common mistake I might be making that'll cause dynamic tooltips to not show? As far as I can tell, there's nothing else obstructing them, the tooltips just aren't there. I can post the entire file if needed.

Here's the code for one of the broken texts:
Code:
<Text DynamicData="/GameData.Stats.Defense_Avoidance" 
Font="/Fonts.FontZapf15" 
LocalText="10000" 
Location="126,39" 
MaxLines="1" 
Name="AVDValue" 
ScrollExtent="38,17" 
ShadowStyle="/ShadowStyles.Outline1" 
Size="38,17" 
TruncateElipsis="false">10000</Text>
And for a working text:
Code:
<Text DynamicData="/GameData.Stats.Run_Speed" 
Font="/Fonts.FontZapf15" 
LocalText="100%" 
Location="92,73" 
MaxLines="1" 
Name="RunValue" 
ScrollExtent="38,17" 
ShadowStyle="/ShadowStyles.Outline1" 
Size="38,17" 
TruncateElipsis="false">100%</Text>
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread 11-04-2008, 09:18 AM
keezyrick keezyrick is offline
A Griffon
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Server: Guk
Posts: 194
Default

Check the label element of the adjacent tag and make sure it is not overlapping the dynamic data. It might not be writing over it in appearance, but the label's reserved space may be over the top of your dynamic data for the non-working item and that will prevent a tooltip from appearing. The mouseover is not able to detect the dynamic data because there is a label on top of it.

You can select your dynamic data element in the tree and then hold the control key and start selecting the label elements of other things in the tree around it to see if there is overlap.

Just a thought.
__________________
GUK Server
<Legion of the White Rose>
Mezzes 90 Coercer
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Unread 11-04-2008, 11:46 AM
Draakthor's Avatar
Draakthor Draakthor is offline
A Crazed Gnoll
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Server: Permafrost
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gm9 View Post
If the two code snippets you posted are located on the same level in the XML tree and one works and the other doesn't then I'll guarantee that you have something obstructing the not-working one, that something having set AbsorbsInput="true".
Ah, thank you for pointing that out, I reopened it to check and one of the pages for the exp bar itself is overlapping those texts. I moved them to the top of the tree and now it works. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:41 AM.


Our Network
EQInterface | EQ2Interface | WoWInterface | LoTROInterface | ESOUI | MMOUI