Quantcast Target Casting Window - EQ2Interface
EQ2Interface.com
Search Downloads


Go Back   EQ2Interface > Featured Projects > ProfitUI

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 10-20-2010, 11:50 AM
g0dless420's Avatar
g0dless420 g0dless420 is offline
Dyadem @ Zam.com
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Server: Everfrost
Posts: 31
Send a message via AIM to g0dless420 Send a message via Yahoo to g0dless420 Send a message via Skype™ to g0dless420
Default Target Casting Window

-Target Casting Bar: Added this new window to show what your target/implied target is casting. It looks like the player casting bar. To use type or make a macro with /show_window Custom.TargetCasting

Window works, but using it /hide_window doesn't turn it off permanently. Trying this out on my pet, and on it's long casting spells you see the window go away, until it casts its next spell and the window is back.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread 10-20-2010, 12:18 PM
TalTal TalTal is offline
A Griffon
Featured
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Server: Nagafen
Posts: 1,094
Send a message via Yahoo to TalTal
Default

I am unsure why that behavior is present. I will look into it.

Silat
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread 10-20-2010, 12:26 PM
g0dless420's Avatar
g0dless420 g0dless420 is offline
Dyadem @ Zam.com
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Server: Everfrost
Posts: 31
Send a message via AIM to g0dless420 Send a message via Yahoo to g0dless420 Send a message via Skype™ to g0dless420
Default

Thanks, if I figure out anything on my end will let you know as well.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread 10-20-2010, 01:08 PM
Landiin Landiin is offline
Slayer of clock cycles
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Featured
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Server: Oasis
Posts: 3,464
Send a message via ICQ to Landiin Send a message via AIM to Landiin Send a message via MSN to Landiin Send a message via Yahoo to Landiin
Default

I haven't looked the file Silat but if you have the dynamic data populated in the main window it will auto show that window every time the target cast. That is the only thing that would make the window reappear. Removeing that from the main window should allow users to perma hide the window.
__________________
Landiin's EQ2MAP Updater Discussion Download
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Unread 10-20-2010, 01:41 PM
TalTal TalTal is offline
A Griffon
Featured
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Server: Nagafen
Posts: 1,094
Send a message via Yahoo to TalTal
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Landiin View Post
I haven't looked the file Silat but if you have the dynamic data populated in the main window it will auto show that window every time the target cast. That is the only thing that would make the window reappear. Removeing that from the main window should allow users to perma hide the window.
I do. Thanks for the help.

Silat
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Unread 10-20-2010, 01:50 PM
TalTal TalTal is offline
A Griffon
Featured
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Server: Nagafen
Posts: 1,094
Send a message via Yahoo to TalTal
Default

Here is a fixed version that will stay hidden. It will be on the updater in the next few days. You can get the file from here in the interim.

Silat
Attached Files
File Type: xml _ProfitUI_TargetCasting.xml (3.2 KB, 589 views)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Unread 10-20-2010, 02:11 PM
g0dless420's Avatar
g0dless420 g0dless420 is offline
Dyadem @ Zam.com
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Server: Everfrost
Posts: 31
Send a message via AIM to g0dless420 Send a message via Yahoo to g0dless420 Send a message via Skype™ to g0dless420
Default

Works perfectly!! Thanks Silat (and Landiin).
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Unread 10-20-2010, 03:08 PM
Hellstorm Hellstorm is offline
A Crazed Gnoll
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Server: Befallen
Posts: 24
Default Cant get it to work

Hmmm, updater is not working and i have added the attached file in my profit ui folder but i cant get it work . . . or i cant get the bar to show up after typing in the command. Any help will be appreciated
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Unread 10-20-2010, 08:49 PM
DiggityMan's Avatar
DiggityMan DiggityMan is offline
A Dragoon Sith
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Server: Oasis
Posts: 95
Send a message via MSN to DiggityMan
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TalTal View Post
It will be on the updater in the next few days. You can get the file from here in the interim.

Silat
I got that file to work as expected
__________________
*On Leave Got Married*

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Unread 10-24-2010, 07:36 AM
Maelstrom64 Maelstrom64 is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 5
Default

Would it please be possible to have a screenshot of this window?

Just like Hellstorm I cannot seem to get it to work either, and I don't know what it should look like.

Thanks in advance

Maelstrom
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Unread 10-24-2010, 09:35 AM
TalTal TalTal is offline
A Griffon
Featured
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Server: Nagafen
Posts: 1,094
Send a message via Yahoo to TalTal
Default

For those that cannot see it make sure that you do not have _Profitui_custom.xml on ignore. As for a screenshot, it looks just like the casting bar except it shows the enemy's spells.

Silat
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Unread 10-24-2010, 11:02 AM
Maelstrom64 Maelstrom64 is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 5
Default

I am a little confused.

I can successfully see the enemy casting spells with the casting bar shown on the target window (or implied). It is incredibly useful

But I read the beginning of this thread as though it was possible to see players/allies casting bars too in addition to the enemy mobs.

Can you clarify this for me?

For example.. would I be able to target the MT and see him casting taunts or defensive skills or target a priest and see which spells they are using.

If this isnt possible then I apologise for the misinterpretation on my part.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Unread 10-24-2010, 11:38 AM
TalTal TalTal is offline
A Griffon
Featured
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Server: Nagafen
Posts: 1,094
Send a message via Yahoo to TalTal
Default

Nope. Not possible to see players casting.

Silat
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Unread 11-07-2010, 09:11 AM
Arweena Arweena is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: May 2005
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 2
Default always on

Is there a way to get the bar to always show up without having to use the macro every time I log in?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Unread 11-07-2010, 09:22 AM
skeg69 skeg69 is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: May 2005
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 3
Default permanently being displayed

I second this notion.

For those of us who want the target casting window to always be displayed, there should be an option that does not involve having to hit a macro every time the game is loaded.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Unread 11-07-2010, 10:44 AM
gjsi gjsi is offline
A Griffon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 134
Default

As long as those of us who don't use it, don't have to hit the macro.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Unread 12-10-2010, 11:59 AM
Abraxsis Abraxsis is offline
A Forest Scavenger
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Server: Unkown
Posts: 15
Default

I too would prefer having a setting to activate the TargetCasting bar rather than using a macro. (I added the command to my first attack button.)

I suggest adding a check box, similar to the "Show Auto Attack Bar" setting in the ProfitUI Control Center window. This way folks who do not want to see the TargetCasting bar can uncheck the setting, and those of us who do want to see the bar can do so without using /show_window Custom.TargetCasting to activate it.

On another note, thank you for adding the TargetCasting bar. It's appreciated.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Unread 12-10-2010, 03:18 PM
TalTal TalTal is offline
A Griffon
Featured
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Server: Nagafen
Posts: 1,094
Send a message via Yahoo to TalTal
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Abraxsis View Post
I too would prefer having a setting to activate the TargetCasting bar rather than using a macro. (I added the command to my first attack button.)

I suggest adding a check box, similar to the "Show Auto Attack Bar" setting in the ProfitUI Control Center window. This way folks who do not want to see the TargetCasting bar can uncheck the setting, and those of us who do want to see the bar can do so without using /show_window Custom.TargetCasting to activate it.

On another note, thank you for adding the TargetCasting bar. It's appreciated.
You can be my guinea pig. Extract the attached zip to your profitui directory. It should enable autoshow by default. It should also be able to be turned on and off via the control center. It contains three files. Change true to false in _ProfitUI_Settings_TargetCastBar.txt to make it not show by default. Please let me know if this works for you.

Silat
Attached Files
File Type: zip ProfitUI.zip (4.6 KB, 424 views)
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Unread 12-11-2010, 11:38 AM
gjsi gjsi is offline
A Griffon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 134
Default

I only have one request if you push this live, make the default to NOT show, instead of to show.

Much more appropriate for those that want the targetcasting bar showing to make the change, then have to make a change to get it back to where it was before the modification.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Unread 12-11-2010, 11:59 AM
Abraxsis Abraxsis is offline
A Forest Scavenger
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Server: Unkown
Posts: 15
Default

Thanks. I'll have a block of time this afternoon to properly test the change and get back to you.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Unread 12-11-2010, 12:14 PM
TalTal TalTal is offline
A Griffon
Featured
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Server: Nagafen
Posts: 1,094
Send a message via Yahoo to TalTal
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gjsi View Post
I only have one request if you push this live, make the default to NOT show, instead of to show.

Much more appropriate for those that want the targetcasting bar showing to make the change, then have to make a change to get it back to where it was before the modification.

Thanks.
I would. I do not use the bar .
I just left it at show by default for the tester.

Silat
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Unread 12-11-2010, 01:21 PM
Abraxsis Abraxsis is offline
A Forest Scavenger
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Server: Unkown
Posts: 15
Default

For testing I used taunt to pull unearthed settlers in The Thundering Steppes and woolly silkspinners in Frostfang Sea to show the state of the casting bar.

Results:

#1
On character login the current default for 'Show Target Cast Bar' is enabled in the ProfitUI Control Center:

The TargetCasting bar window is off. (The window should have been on.) Toggling the 'Show Target Cast Bar' condition off and back on works as expected. The TargetCasting bar only stays persistent until the character logs off.


#2
Loading a character with the 'Show Target Cast Bar' check box disabled during the prior session:

The TargetCasting bar window is off. The 'Show Target Cast Bar' check box setting on character login is enabled. (The check box setting should have remained disabled.) Toggling the 'Show Target Cast Bar' condition off and back on works as expected.


Summary:
It appears show_window is not being triggered on character load.


Quote:
Originally Posted by gjsi
I only have one request if you push this live, make the default to NOT show, instead of to show.
I will be using the TargetCast bar, but I do agree with gjsi. The default ProfitUI TargetCasting bar setting should be off.


Side note...
Using /show_window and /hide_window Custom.TargetCasting work fine in conjunction with the 'Show Target Cast Bar' ProfitUI Control Center setting. (User note: neither manual command will change the graphical state of the ProfitUI Control Center checkbox. However, the next change to the check box setting on or off does properly correspond to the TargetCasting bar window's true state.) This has only been mentioned for the sake of testing to show the manual commands continue to play nicely with the new Control Center setting.
__________________

Last edited by Abraxsis : 12-11-2010 at 01:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Unread 12-11-2010, 01:34 PM
TalTal TalTal is offline
A Griffon
Featured
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Server: Nagafen
Posts: 1,094
Send a message via Yahoo to TalTal
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Abraxsis View Post
For testing I used taunt to pull unearthed settlers in The Thundering Steppes and woolly silkspinners in Frostfang Sea to show the state of the casting bar.

Results:

#1
On character login the current default for 'Show Target Cast Bar' is enabled in the ProfitUI Control Center:

The TargetCasting bar window is off. (The window should have been on.) Toggling the 'Show Target Cast Bar' condition off and back on works as expected. The TargetCasting bar only stays persistent until the character logs off.


#2
Loading a character with the 'Show Target Cast Bar' check box disabled during the prior session:
<Snip>
As for that statement ...the checkbox setting does not and is not intended to persist across sessions. The text file has to be edited to make it your default.

Text file I am referring to is:
Change true to false in _ProfitUI_Settings_TargetCastBar.txt

Having said all that it should have been on by default with the unedited files I put in the zip. Will check to make sure I did as I intended and i'll troubleshoot.

Silat

Edit: Right files were uploaded. It seems to be a timing issue...Will have to make it wait a few seconds to activate and that should fix the problem. I just have to figure out how to do that .

Last edited by TalTal : 12-11-2010 at 01:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Unread 12-11-2010, 02:53 PM
Abraxsis Abraxsis is offline
A Forest Scavenger
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Server: Unkown
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TalTal
As for that statement ...the checkbox setting does not and is not intended to persist across sessions. The text file has to be edited to make it your default.

Text file I am referring to is:
Change true to false in _ProfitUI_Settings_TargetCastBar.txt
I though the checkbox setting might have been storing its persistent value in the text file. I understand now.

Thanks for taking time to work on this for us. I'll check in later to test your revision when ready.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Unread 12-29-2010, 02:20 AM
Abraxsis Abraxsis is offline
A Forest Scavenger
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Server: Unkown
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TalTal View Post
...Will have to make it wait a few seconds to activate and that should fix the problem. I just have to figure out how to do that .
Any luck getting this figured out TalTal?
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09 PM.


Our Network
EQInterface | EQ2Interface | War.MMOUI | WoWInterface | VGInterface | LoTROInterface | MMOInterface