EQ2Interface.com
Search Downloads


Go Back   EQ2Interface > Featured Projects > EQ2MAP

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 07-03-2005, 02:21 PM
Trip Trip is offline
A Grizzled Badger
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 45
Default [map] Trial of Harclave

Edit* Uggh, I forgot to include "map_" infront of the .dds file when I renamed it. * It works fine now. I am so Lame! Hopefully tonight I can clear the zone one more time and finish mapping.

************************************************



I started mapping Trial of Harclave (solo instance) and found it was difficult to map this maze without seeing my progress. I was hoping to get my partial map into the game so I can see what I have done and what remains unfinished.

In looking at some of the code for the rest of the splitpaw zones, I am having trouble figuring out what I need to do to put this partial map into the game. I am hoping I only have to do this one more time to finish mapping this zone, because you have to clear the entire zone before you start mapping. Unless, ofcourse, you can sneak or invis. LOL

This is the code regarding splitpaw in the core_mapstyles.xml file:

<ImageStyle Name="adv02_dun_sundered_splitpaw_0" zonerect="-62,-266,149,-22" heightmax="-51">
<ImageFrame Name="imageFrame" Source="images/maps/map_adv02_dun_sundered_splitpaw_0.dds" SourceRect="0,0,436,506"/>
</ImageStyle>
<ImageStyle Name="adv02_dun_sundered_splitpaw_1" zonerect="-111,-265,150,33" heightmin="-51">
<ImageFrame Name="imageFrame" Source="images/maps/map_adv02_dun_sundered_splitpaw_1.dds" SourceRect="0,0,436,506"/>
</ImageStyle>
<ImageStyle Name="adv02_dun_sundered_splitpaw_2" zonerect="-60,-249,100,-49" availablerect="-57,-217,96,-81" availablepriority="0" heightmax="-40">
<ImageFrame Name="imageFrame" Source="images/maps/map_adv02_dun_sundered_splitpaw_2.dds" SourceRect="0,0,436,506"/>
</ImageStyle>
<ImageStyle Name="adv02_dun_sundered_splitpaw_hub" zonerect="-48,-321,96,-154">
<ImageFrame Name="imageFrame" Source="images/maps/map_adv02_dun_sundered_splitpaw_hub.dds" SourceRect="0,0,436,506"/>
</ImageStyle>
<ImageStyle Name="adv02_dun_sundered_splitpaw_1" zonerect="340,-450,900,321" availablerect="-10000,-10000,10000,-22" availablepriority="1">



My zone erect so far is: -150.14, -330.5, 132.04, -33.93

I thought I could just insert my zone erect and change the filename, but it didn't work. This is what I did:

<ImageStyle Name="adv02_dun_sundered_splitpaw" zonerect="-150.14, -330.5, 132.04, -33.93">
<ImageFrame Name="imageFrame" Source="images/maps/map_adv02_dun_sundered_splitpaw.dds" SourceRect="0,0,436,506"/>
</ImageStyle>

When I inserted that code into the core_mapstyles.xml file and pasted my map into the \UI\Custom\images\maps directory, the game loaded a map that was completely black and it was not fog. I am not sure what use the heightmin/max is used for, so I didn't insert that into my code.

I have inserted a picture to show you what I have done so far. As you can see, I made a few mistakes that need to be corrected and the zone is not nearly finished. Also, to get the image posted here, I had to erase some of the lines to tidy it up a bit. I am not sure which lines need to be fixed, but it's obvious that something is not right.

I am hoping you guys can help me fix the code, so that I can get this into the game and resume mapping.

Trip

P.S. Thought I would post the final image up here, for convenience.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Harclave4.jpg
Views:	501
Size:	50.8 KB
ID:	3297  

Last edited by Trip : 08-05-2005 at 02:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread 07-03-2005, 07:17 PM
Trip Trip is offline
A Grizzled Badger
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 45
Default Trouble resizing Harclave map (pics included)

Hey there guys, sorry to keep posting for help, I don't want to be a nuisance. I tried resizing the map to 75% ( so the whole map shows) before saving to .dds and when I go in game, my position indicator is off map. Then when I leave it at 100%, a big part of the map doesnt show up it is off map. Further, my current position indicator, still seems to go outside of the mapped area.

I am stumped. I sure wish I could get it into the game correctly so that I can see what needs to be fixed, and work on the unfinished areas. I posted two pictures, one is at 75% and the other is at 100%.

I followed the [HowTo] very carefully and have had no problems like this with smaller maps. Can I resize the map_blank.dds? Or will that screw it all up? If it has to be to the power of 2, probably not.

Anyone know what I should do?

Trip

P.S. Scroll below for final version of map in a later post.

Last edited by Trip : 08-02-2005 at 04:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread 07-03-2005, 08:53 PM
psouza4's Avatar
psouza4 psouza4 is offline
A Brown Bear
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Server: Lucan DLere
Posts: 14
Default

Calculating the correct Zone Rect. is difficult once you resize the image. I'm working on formulas and such to get the correct values in my program that leaves a consistant 2.5% border around the entire image. As soon as I get the program working smoothly, I will release it.

It will tell you (a) what to use for a ZoneRect, (b) AvailableRect, and (c) what to size your image to. It also converts log files to .svg from the standard log format as well as XUnleashed map format. Additionally, it has a nice fill-in-the-blank section for adding POIs accurately.

All I need to do to release the first version of this is get the calculations for a reduced ZoneRect working. It's close, now, but the margin of error isn't acceptable. So, my solution: wait it out (it can't be much longer).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread 07-03-2005, 09:25 PM
taco-man's Avatar
taco-man taco-man is offline
EQ2MAP Updater Author
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 1,349
Default

could you put 2 red dots on opposite corners ie upper left/lower right and give us the in game locations of them, then i could get the zonerect for you.
__________________
EQ2MAP Updater Download
EQ2MAP Website
How to Install a custom interface
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Unread 07-03-2005, 09:26 PM
Dolby's Avatar
Dolby Dolby is offline
Bacon Eater
Premium Member
EQ2Interface Admin
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,452
Default

You can use taco-mans tool located here. You enter 2 in game locations and then the pixel location and it gets you a very good zonerect.

I normally open the log txt, take about 10 strings of locs from the top and 10 strings from around the middle and make a new log txt then Render that out to SVG, then PNG, then overlay it on top of my map in photoshop and change the color to red and resize/posistion it so it over-lays on top of the outline.. Then I use the locs from the top of those 2 strings and the corresponding pixel location and feed them into taco-mans calculator. Its a pita but it works and this way you can resize the map as mush as you want as long as you keep it in the same proportion (locked aspect).

Last edited by Dolby : 07-03-2005 at 09:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Unread 07-04-2005, 10:56 PM
ogrebear ogrebear is offline
A Rumbleroot Sapling
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Server: Neriak
Posts: 67
Default

I know for a fact the bottom 1/2 of the map is the same as the Devliing in to darkness zone. (bottom part of that one). But Harclave as a lot more of the paths open.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Unread 07-08-2005, 10:00 AM
Trip Trip is offline
A Grizzled Badger
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 45
Default Sorry, I haven't gotten back to this.....

Hi, sorry that I have not been able to resume mapping this zone. The holiday had me busy for a few days and I have other engagments for another day or so. I will get back to this as soon as possible.

Once again, sorry for the delay.

Trip

P.S. Well, the holiday is long gone, but I still havn't found a good four or more hours that I will need to get back to this project. Hopefully after Wednesday, the 27th of July, I will be able to get back to it.

Last edited by Trip : 07-25-2005 at 12:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55 PM.


Our Network
EQInterface | EQ2Interface | WoWInterface | LoTROInterface | ESOUI | MMOUI