EQ2Interface.com
Search Downloads


Go Back   EQ2Interface > Developer Discussion > XML Modification Help & Info

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 05-23-2007, 11:42 AM
Vexen Vexen is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Server: Befallen
Posts: 4
Default Help with OnPress

I have a button that you click to cure/cast etc etc.

I am trying to get it to say something in chat (ie guild chat or say or whatever) and cant get the "onpress" function (I think it is) to work properly.

Question #1:
What is the proper formatting for this function?

Question #2:
Is there a way to have a variable that is easily edited for the users of the UI to change what is said in the chat?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread 05-23-2007, 12:01 PM
gm9 gm9 is offline
gm10-1
Premium Member
EQ2Interface Super Mod
Featured
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6,479
Default

The commands you put into UI elements work mostly like you would type them into the chat window in game, except that you do not need the "/". So
OnPress="say Hello World!"
should work. Another format is this:

Code:
OnPress="say=('Hello World!') say=('Hello World!')"
The code above is always how it looks in the XML of course.

Your question #2 has many answers, most of all depending on wether you want the user to change the function in game or out of game. The easiest out-of-game solution is to tell the user how to edit your xml of course. Or you can make a separate file with only the text you want to say, <include> it into the window and reference it via the OnPress function. Best look through some existing UIs to see how it works (all .txt files in ProfitUI are <includes> for example).
__________________
P R O F I T U I ∙ R E B O R N [Auto-Updater] | [Portal] | [F.A.Q.] | [Support Forums]
~ Retired ~
If it does not work, you likely installed it incorrectly. Always try a clean install before reporting bugs.

Last edited by gm9 : 05-23-2007 at 03:00 PM. Reason: smilies in my code :)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread 05-23-2007, 02:10 PM
Vexen Vexen is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Server: Befallen
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for the help.. I will try this tonight.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread 05-26-2007, 06:51 PM
Vexen Vexen is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Server: Befallen
Posts: 4
Default

Problem..

Code:
OnPress="say=(&apos;Hello World!&apos;) say=(&apos;Hello World!&apos;)"
This says it twice for me? Any way to make it only say it once?

Last edited by Vexen : 05-26-2007 at 06:58 PM. Reason: Smilies!! ;)
Reply With Quote
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07 AM.


Our Network
EQInterface | EQ2Interface | WoWInterface | LoTROInterface | ESOUI | MMOUI