Quantcast Want the old 'unexplored map' back - EQ2Interface
EQ2Interface.com
Search Downloads


Go Back   EQ2Interface > General Discussion > UI User Discussion

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 03-12-2015, 09:29 PM
Goldra Goldra is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Server: Unkown
Posts: 4
Default Want the old 'unexplored map' back

Is there a UI interface that will bring back the old 'unexplored map' areas? It's plain weird when my alts go to a new area where they've never been and the whole map shows they know it from corner to corner. Thanks ahead of time.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread 03-13-2015, 04:25 PM
lordebon lordebon is offline
Fetish Core author
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Featured
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Server: Crushbone
Posts: 2,667
Default

To my knowledge this is not possible. The data which specified which areas of the map you've explored or not was stored server-side. They've changed it so that that data is no longer sent and that the client treats maps as fully explored, nothing we can really do since that behavior was all hard-coded.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread 03-13-2015, 06:25 PM
ShadowProwler420's Avatar
ShadowProwler420 ShadowProwler420 is offline
A Griffon
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Server: Permafrost
Posts: 660
Default

Dangit! Don't they realize it's so much easier for us to just look at the map and tell where the unexplored regions are (for those 'achievement hunters' out there)??
__________________

"Certainty of death! Small chance of success! What are we waiting for?!"

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread 03-14-2015, 09:59 AM
Therendil's Avatar
Therendil Therendil is offline
A Griffon
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 414
Default

I have the same issue with the change and wish they would put back the map fog. But the devs were very clear on the point that they needed to make the change. Apparently, the map fog represented a big percentage of the data that needed to be sent to the client when you zone, and that it was a big contributor to the problem of dropping out to character select when zoning.

-= Therendil =-
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 PM.


Our Network
EQInterface | EQ2Interface | War.MMOUI | WoWInterface | VGInterface | LoTROInterface | MMOInterface