Quantcast POI Icons - Page 2 - EQ2Interface
EQ2Interface.com
Search Downloads


Go Back   EQ2Interface > Featured Projects > EQ2MAP

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #26  
Unread 12-14-2018, 12:21 PM
jnils's Avatar
jnils jnils is offline
EQ2MAP Developer
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Server: Splitpaw
Posts: 1,442
Default

HEHE I noticed that to.
It works for now.

Is GIMP good, never used it.
Used Paint shop back in the days.
__________________
Pimigo / Splitpaw
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Unread 12-14-2018, 02:49 PM
Pijotre's Avatar
Pijotre Pijotre is offline
A Griffon
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Server: Crushbone
Posts: 137
Default

Well Gimps functionality is up to par to 2 generations back of photoshop, it takes some getting used to but its by far the best free image editor there is. It used to be a pain to get it to run on Windows but those day are gone and it works flawlessly. Just the dds is a bit of a problem as nvidia only made a dds plugin for photoshop and like I said the one google made for gimp has a compatability issue with our game when using compression. At least from my testing so far, there are other dds plugins but the sites were down and maybe I just choose the wrong setting.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Unread 12-15-2018, 07:20 AM
Pijotre's Avatar
Pijotre Pijotre is offline
A Griffon
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Server: Crushbone
Posts: 137
Default

Ahh, so it seems my problems with the dds were somehow related to me using the template.psd provided with the tutorial, if I just start from scratch it seems to work just fine:
Settings for exporting maps:
Compression: BC1 / DXT1
Format: RGBA8 (You have to select this before choosing the Compression)
Save: Selected layer (This is the reason why you need to combine all visible layers before exporting)
Mipmaps: No mipmaps

On occasion the map can look off after a message that multiple alpha layers have been combined during exporting. Just export the file to *.bmp (lossless fileformat that removes all alpha information on saving) and then just open that and export it again as *.dds.

If I can confirm these finding over time I'll make a post of how to use gimp for the maps as I guess many people might be put off by the barrier of the steep price of photoshop just to make maps for a game, especially when there is a free alternative.

P.s.: If the export is not a map but an icon file then you should choose no compression and use mipmaps.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Gimp DDS Settings.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	48.3 KB
ID:	8913  

Last edited by Pijotre : 12-22-2018 at 08:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Unread 12-15-2018, 09:44 AM
Pijotre's Avatar
Pijotre Pijotre is offline
A Griffon
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Server: Crushbone
Posts: 137
Default

Ok I proposed some changes in post #20.

Please don't change anything yet, lets discuss it first :-)

Last edited by jnils : 12-16-2018 at 04:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Unread 12-16-2018, 05:12 AM
jnils's Avatar
jnils jnils is offline
EQ2MAP Developer
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Server: Splitpaw
Posts: 1,442
Default

Posted some feedback.
__________________
Pimigo / Splitpaw
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04 PM.


Our Network
EQInterface | EQ2Interface | War.MMOUI | WoWInterface | VGInterface | LoTROInterface | MMOInterface