EQ2Interface.com
Search Downloads


Go Back   EQ2Interface > Featured Projects > DrumsUI

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 02-16-2010, 08:26 AM
Drumstix42's Avatar
Drumstix42 Drumstix42 is offline
A Griffon
Featured
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 3,287
Send a message via AIM to Drumstix42 Send a message via MSN to Drumstix42 Send a message via Yahoo to Drumstix42
Default Quick Cast Buttons & Cures guide

Quick Cast Buttons & Cures Guide

When editing your quick cast and cures buttons in-game, you'll be prompted with a pop-up window. The first field is un-editable. This is purposefully implemented so you know which edit button you recently clicked and from a developer standpoint makes it easier to make sure things are working correctly.

You'll find a similar description of "guidelines" listed right in the window:
Quote:
- use commands without the slashes (one command per line)
- MYSELF is a variable for your own name
- SELECTED is a variable for group/raid member being casted on
- wrap special characters in single quotes, ie: hello'!!!'
- Spells/abilities with quotes in them require a GAME RESTART after saving but is suggested to use the spell id instead

All of the Quick Cast & Cure buttons save between sessions and are saved by character name, so you can configure all of your toons separately!

Basic examples were included in the Self Cure options, and the Group/Raid buttons included a guideline filler to get each user started.



Basic functions:
  • The buttons are basically fully-functionally command macros. They work like a normal macro would, but you don't need to include the slashes on the commands.
  • All commands should be on separate line
  • Included in the code are 2 variables that you can make use of in any hot button, as many times as you would like
    • MYSELF: This will use your player's name
    • SELECTED: This will use the player's name of the corresponding quick cast/cure button from the Raid or Group windows
    • Make sure to leave a space before and after these variables so that they are read properly!
  • Having separate options set to self cures and raid cures can allow healers, who sometimes cannot cure him or herself, an opportunity to setup a hotkey to annouce they're debuffed

Example Self Cure Curse:
Code:
raid Curse on MYSELF and I cannot cure
gsay Curse on MYSELF and I cannot cure
Example Group/Raid Cure Curse:
Code:
useabilityonplayer SELECTED "Cure Curse"
raid Curing curse on SELECTED
gsay Curing curse on SELECTED



Special Characters
  • Special characters do not play friendly within the XML code
  • You will need to wrap your sentence or spell name in normal ("double") quotes to have them work properly in game
  • Several characters include: ' / * + - > < ( ) ! (not all of these are tested)

Example Quick Cast button:
Code:
useabilityonplayer SELECTED "Ro's Blessing"
gsay I think SELECTED "needs some **help**!! They're going to need a hand or two!"
Output: You tell the party, "I think Drumstix needs some **help**!! They're going to need a hand or two!"




Limitations!
  • Wrap spell names in double quotes, especially spell names with apostrophes.
    • International servers will have trouble using plain text
    • The best alternative to this is to try to find your SPELL ID number for spells/abilities:
      • See this topic for detailed info on finding spell ID numbers.

You no longer have to relog with spells that have single quotes, as the wrapping of double quotes will save you the trouble.

It is a very quick process to edit your buttons in game!
__________________
"I'm afraid you're guilty of thought-crime. Don't bother getting the door, we'll let ourselves in..."
<Donate to DrumsUI> < [DrumsUI] Updater > < [DrumsUI] Full Interface> < Drumstix42 on Twitch.tv
>

Last edited by Drumstix42 : 12-30-2010 at 03:15 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread 08-25-2010, 06:16 AM
Drumstix42's Avatar
Drumstix42 Drumstix42 is offline
A Griffon
Featured
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 3,287
Send a message via AIM to Drumstix42 Send a message via MSN to Drumstix42 Send a message via Yahoo to Drumstix42
Default

I'll be updating the above guide to reflect this, but I figured out a solution to avoid needing to ever relog with spell names that have an apostrophe in it.

Simply wrap the whole spell name in double quotes and it'll work just fine.
Ex:
useabilityonplayer SELECTED "Garsin's Funeral March"
__________________
"I'm afraid you're guilty of thought-crime. Don't bother getting the door, we'll let ourselves in..."
<Donate to DrumsUI> < [DrumsUI] Updater > < [DrumsUI] Full Interface> < Drumstix42 on Twitch.tv
>
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread 12-29-2010, 11:09 PM
jester0770 jester0770 is offline
A Forest Scavenger
 
Join Date: May 2005
Server: Crushbone
Posts: 19
Default item use

how exactly would you word item use for another person?...been messing with using necrotic flashpots for the quick cast buttons, but have yet to get it to work.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread 12-30-2010, 03:04 AM
Drumstix42's Avatar
Drumstix42 Drumstix42 is offline
A Griffon
Featured
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 3,287
Send a message via AIM to Drumstix42 Send a message via MSN to Drumstix42 Send a message via Yahoo to Drumstix42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jester0770 View Post
how exactly would you word item use for another person?...been messing with using necrotic flashpots for the quick cast buttons, but have yet to get it to work.
This has been asked in a few others threads, but items cannot be directly casted on another player. You will always have to first target them.

But basically:
target SELECTED
use_itemvdl -661875382
Some will agree that targeting and casting will sometimes be undependable due to server lag but there isn't much you can do there. Would just have to resort to clicking it more than once if the cure isn't successful the first time.
__________________
"I'm afraid you're guilty of thought-crime. Don't bother getting the door, we'll let ourselves in..."
<Donate to DrumsUI> < [DrumsUI] Updater > < [DrumsUI] Full Interface> < Drumstix42 on Twitch.tv
>
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Unread 12-31-2010, 11:00 PM
jester0770 jester0770 is offline
A Forest Scavenger
 
Join Date: May 2005
Server: Crushbone
Posts: 19
Default

thx i was doing that until i got a reply on how to do it like a spell but since that isn't possible i guess it was right.....thx for the fast response
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Unread 01-29-2011, 06:54 AM
Kimmidoll Kimmidoll is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Server: Unkown
Posts: 3
Default Qtn regarding item command

Hi,

I have been a fan of your work and it's amazing! Keep it up!

Just a quick qtn regarding the commanding setting for potion.

How do I add:
\aITEM 99234158 1476826067:Focused Arcane Remedy\/a

to: use_itemvdl

in the command settings editor for the self cure?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Unread 01-29-2011, 09:33 AM
Accredo Accredo is offline
A Griffon
 
Join Date: May 2005
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 100
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kimmidoll View Post
Hi,

I have been a fan of your work and it's amazing! Keep it up!

Just a quick qtn regarding the commanding setting for potion.

How do I add:
\aITEM 99234158 1476826067:Focused Arcane Remedy\/a

to: use_itemvdl

in the command settings editor for the self cure?
Like this: use_itemvdl 99234158
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Unread 01-30-2011, 05:51 PM
Drumstix42's Avatar
Drumstix42 Drumstix42 is offline
A Griffon
Featured
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 3,287
Send a message via AIM to Drumstix42 Send a message via MSN to Drumstix42 Send a message via Yahoo to Drumstix42
Default

The item_vdl command was default before, but I've updated (my defaults) to sony's new slash commands. A lot easier to use them, since you don't need to fool with item ID numbers for potions.

Just use:
cureplayer MYSELF arcane potion

Or:
cureplayer SELECTED arcane spell


If you are in game you just hit the "Default" button while editing.
__________________
"I'm afraid you're guilty of thought-crime. Don't bother getting the door, we'll let ourselves in..."
<Donate to DrumsUI> < [DrumsUI] Updater > < [DrumsUI] Full Interface> < Drumstix42 on Twitch.tv
>

Last edited by Drumstix42 : 04-22-2011 at 07:03 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Unread 02-18-2011, 08:03 AM
ChickenCasual ChickenCasual is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Server: Splitpaw
Posts: 5
Send a message via MSN to ChickenCasual
Default

Ok i simply cant fingure it out

I have made a quick cast button for Jester's Cap.

But what is the command so the person gets a tell when i cast it on him.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Unread 02-18-2011, 07:17 PM
Drumstix42's Avatar
Drumstix42 Drumstix42 is offline
A Griffon
Featured
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 3,287
Send a message via AIM to Drumstix42 Send a message via MSN to Drumstix42 Send a message via Yahoo to Drumstix42
Default

Something like this:
useabilityonplayer SELECTED "Jester's Cap"
tell SELECTED "You have Jester's Cap"
__________________
"I'm afraid you're guilty of thought-crime. Don't bother getting the door, we'll let ourselves in..."
<Donate to DrumsUI> < [DrumsUI] Updater > < [DrumsUI] Full Interface> < Drumstix42 on Twitch.tv
>
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Unread 04-22-2011, 03:55 AM
Kimmidoll Kimmidoll is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Server: Unkown
Posts: 3
Default Query

Hi,

I have been a fan of your work and it's an awesome UI!

I am unable to use the self cure button for noxious. The error msg "the item no longer exists or is not in inventory" appears when I tried to use \aITEM -1222056897 -1511728904:Focused Noxious Remedy\/a ,

Tried both numbers but doesn't work:
use_itemvdl 1222056897
use_itemvdl 1511728904

Will appreciate your help on this!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Unread 04-22-2011, 07:06 AM
Drumstix42's Avatar
Drumstix42 Drumstix42 is offline
A Griffon
Featured
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 3,287
Send a message via AIM to Drumstix42 Send a message via MSN to Drumstix42 Send a message via Yahoo to Drumstix42
Default

It looks like you are missing the negative symol in front of your number. But refer to my reply #8, a few above yours:
http://www.eq2interface.com/forums/s...68&postcount=8

Just do the in-game "Default" button method or use the following instead of messing with the numbers:
cureplayer SELF noxious item

*edit* Whoops:
cureplayer SELF noxious potion
__________________
"I'm afraid you're guilty of thought-crime. Don't bother getting the door, we'll let ourselves in..."
<Donate to DrumsUI> < [DrumsUI] Updater > < [DrumsUI] Full Interface> < Drumstix42 on Twitch.tv
>

Last edited by Drumstix42 : 04-22-2011 at 11:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Unread 04-22-2011, 10:54 AM
Kimmidoll Kimmidoll is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Server: Unkown
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drumstix42 View Post
It looks like you are missing the negative symol in front of your number. But refer to my reply #8, a few above yours:
http://www.eq2interface.com/forums/s...68&postcount=8

Just do the in-game "Default" button method or use the following instead of messing with the numbers:
cureplayer SELF noxious item
Sweet, thanks for the help!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Unread 04-22-2011, 11:32 AM
Drumstix42's Avatar
Drumstix42 Drumstix42 is offline
A Griffon
Featured
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 3,287
Send a message via AIM to Drumstix42 Send a message via MSN to Drumstix42 Send a message via Yahoo to Drumstix42
Default

Sorry I meant to type "potion" not "item".
__________________
"I'm afraid you're guilty of thought-crime. Don't bother getting the door, we'll let ourselves in..."
<Donate to DrumsUI> < [DrumsUI] Updater > < [DrumsUI] Full Interface> < Drumstix42 on Twitch.tv
>
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Unread 04-29-2011, 08:04 AM
Istarial Istarial is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Server: Unkown
Posts: 5
Default Journeyman/Adept spells etc

New to EQ2 and Drums but loving the game and this UI layout! One thing I can't figure, with the click to heal buttons I understand that you put the spell name between the appostraphies, i.e "spell name II" etc and the button then casts the spell fine, but if the spell is upgraded to Adept it's still casting the original - I noticed this with my defilers ancient shroud only shielding for the apprentice amount. I've tried using (adept) but then it just doesn't work at all. Sorry if this is really obvious I'm new to it all
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Unread 04-29-2011, 08:06 AM
Istarial Istarial is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Server: Unkown
Posts: 5
Default Assigning

Oh and also is there a quick way to assign the spells? A drag 'n' drop kinda thing?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Unread 04-29-2011, 08:55 AM
Istarial Istarial is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Server: Unkown
Posts: 5
Default Sorted

Hi again, sorry for the multiple posts here. In answer to the 1st question I asked it worked properly once I'd relogged, so the issue is sorted
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Unread 04-29-2011, 02:36 PM
Drumstix42's Avatar
Drumstix42 Drumstix42 is offline
A Griffon
Featured
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 3,287
Send a message via AIM to Drumstix42 Send a message via MSN to Drumstix42 Send a message via Yahoo to Drumstix42
Default

Good to hear. And, no, currently there is no way to support drag'n'drop. Lets just say I wish it were possible!
__________________
"I'm afraid you're guilty of thought-crime. Don't bother getting the door, we'll let ourselves in..."
<Donate to DrumsUI> < [DrumsUI] Updater > < [DrumsUI] Full Interface> < Drumstix42 on Twitch.tv
>
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Unread 06-06-2011, 08:09 AM
Klaymour Klaymour is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Server: Unkown
Posts: 5
Default Pets...

Howdy yall,

As a Fury, I am often asked by Conjy and Necros for Animal Form on their Pets to boost the Health for Soul Burn. My Question in is: How can I modify the quick cast buttons to cast Animal Form directly on their Pets and send them a tell about it, with out changing targets??


Thank you for your time,


Mordae
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Unread 06-06-2011, 10:12 AM
Drumstix42's Avatar
Drumstix42 Drumstix42 is offline
A Griffon
Featured
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 3,287
Send a message via AIM to Drumstix42 Send a message via MSN to Drumstix42 Send a message via Yahoo to Drumstix42
Default

As far as I know, it is not possible to cast on a players pet without changing target. I'm also unaware, off hand, of how to target a group member's pet.

You'd probably have to target the group member twice (so that it cycles to pet) and send a tell along with it. Doing the cast in a macro with two target commands probably wouldn't result in dependable outcomes though.
__________________
"I'm afraid you're guilty of thought-crime. Don't bother getting the door, we'll let ourselves in..."
<Donate to DrumsUI> < [DrumsUI] Updater > < [DrumsUI] Full Interface> < Drumstix42 on Twitch.tv
>
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Unread 06-07-2011, 10:56 PM
Klaymour Klaymour is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Server: Unkown
Posts: 5
Default

I know the slash command in game is /target_group_pet 1
with "1" being the position of the group memeber in the group window. Would there be any way to incorparate that into the script for the Quick Cast buttons??


Thanks for your time


Mordae
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Unread 06-08-2011, 12:54 AM
Drumstix42's Avatar
Drumstix42 Drumstix42 is offline
A Griffon
Featured
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 3,287
Send a message via AIM to Drumstix42 Send a message via MSN to Drumstix42 Send a message via Yahoo to Drumstix42
Default

I used to have a member number variable, but I dunno if the group pet number would coincide with it. For now you wouldn't be able to do with the click buttons.
__________________
"I'm afraid you're guilty of thought-crime. Don't bother getting the door, we'll let ourselves in..."
<Donate to DrumsUI> < [DrumsUI] Updater > < [DrumsUI] Full Interface> < Drumstix42 on Twitch.tv
>
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Unread 06-09-2011, 03:07 PM
cooldeath cooldeath is offline
A Grizzled Badger
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: May 2005
Server: Crushbone
Posts: 46
Default

Well, I didn't see it asked sooooo...

Will there ever be a way to associate the spell's icon with the click button?

I really want to use this UI as it's more friendly then what I use now, but the one I use now allows you to set the icon for the spell.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Unread 06-09-2011, 03:15 PM
Drumstix42's Avatar
Drumstix42 Drumstix42 is offline
A Griffon
Featured
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 3,287
Send a message via AIM to Drumstix42 Send a message via MSN to Drumstix42 Send a message via Yahoo to Drumstix42
Default

Has been asked. Currently would just take a lot of coding to keep adding more icons, and no easy way to just assign an ID to select from all of the available icons. It's very doable, I just don't have the spare time to mess with it atm.
__________________
"I'm afraid you're guilty of thought-crime. Don't bother getting the door, we'll let ourselves in..."
<Donate to DrumsUI> < [DrumsUI] Updater > < [DrumsUI] Full Interface> < Drumstix42 on Twitch.tv
>
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Unread 01-20-2012, 05:27 AM
Pharel Pharel is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Server: Valor
Posts: 2
Default

I there and thanks for this nice UI but i have one Problem, some spells in my language have some letters like Ä, Ö, Ü. Is there a chance to get it in the Spelltimer or 1,2,3,4,5 buttons? when i use a letter like Ä then this happens:

http://www.abload.de/img/eq2_000089ixvy7.jpg

and it dont works then

I hope u can help me

Greetings
Pharel
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:08 AM.


Our Network
EQInterface | EQ2Interface | WoWInterface | LoTROInterface | ESOUI | MMOUI