Quantcast Problem with updater/java/vista - EQ2Interface
EQ2Interface.com
Search Downloads


Go Back   EQ2Interface > Featured Projects > ProfitUI

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 08-02-2012, 10:54 AM
Sandeep Sandeep is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Server: Unkown
Posts: 7
Default Problem with updater/java/vista

My updater isn't working. So I uninstalled it and attempted to redownload. I updated my Java so know that is working and attempted to load with the UAC and Firewall inactive. I run Win Vista and now have Java7.

The error I recieve is consistent: Unable to launch application:

Error Exception:

JNLParseException[ Could not parse launch file. Error at line 0.]
at com.sun.javaws.jnl.XMLFormat.decode(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.jnl.XMLFormat.parse(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.jnl.LaunchDescFactory.buildDescriptor(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.jnl.LaunchDescFactory.buildDescriptor(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.jnl.LaunchDescFactory.buildDescriptor(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.updateFinalLaunchDesc(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.prepareToLaunch(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.prepareToLaunch(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.launch(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Main.launchApp(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Main.continueInSecureThread(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Main$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)


and....."Wrapped Error Exception"

java.io.EOFException: encoding.error.not.xml
at com.sun.deploy.xml.XMLEncoding.decodeXML(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.jnl.XMLFormat.decode(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.jnl.XMLFormat.parse(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.jnl.LaunchDescFactory.buildDescriptor(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.jnl.LaunchDescFactory.buildDescriptor(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.jnl.LaunchDescFactory.buildDescriptor(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.updateFinalLaunchDesc(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.prepareToLaunch(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.prepareToLaunch(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.launch(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Main.launchApp(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Main.continueInSecureThread(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Main$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)

Can anyone tell me how to resolve this?

Thanks!

Last edited by Sandeep : 08-02-2012 at 11:00 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread 08-08-2012, 06:06 PM
Sandeep Sandeep is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Server: Unkown
Posts: 7
Default Any help out there?!

I guess from the lack of response I'm either in the wrong forum or no one knows the answer?!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread 08-09-2012, 02:09 AM
castion castion is offline
A Forest Scavenger
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 15
Default

I am also having an issue with the updater. It will not install fully. I click the orange launch button and it only goes about half way and never installs.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread 08-23-2012, 10:38 AM
Shammi Shammi is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 2
Default

i get the windo for updated files but it tells me I need administrator privileges but I can't see how to do that
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Unread 08-27-2012, 02:36 PM
Sandeep Sandeep is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Server: Unkown
Posts: 7
Default Still No Luck.... ANY HELP?!

I posted this at the beginning of the month and see no response. I've cruised the forums and FAOs and saw what appeared to be a response to a similar problem. The answer was to open the application and point it to the proper file..... well I tried that (can't open the updater to get to settings) and I've tried to reinstall the program with the following results:

JNLParseException[ Could not parse launch file. Error at line 0.]
at com.sun.javaws.jnl.XMLFormat.decode(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.jnl.XMLFormat.parse(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.jnl.LaunchDescFactory.buildDescriptor(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.jnl.LaunchDescFactory.buildDescriptor(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.jnl.LaunchDescFactory.buildDescriptor(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.updateFinalLaunchDesc(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.prepareToLaunch(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.prepareToLaunch(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.launch(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Main.launchApp(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Main.continueInSecureThread(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Main$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
java.io.EOFException: encoding.error.not.xml
at com.sun.deploy.xml.XMLEncoding.decodeXML(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.jnl.XMLFormat.decode(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.jnl.XMLFormat.parse(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.jnl.LaunchDescFactory.buildDescriptor(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.jnl.LaunchDescFactory.buildDescriptor(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.jnl.LaunchDescFactory.buildDescriptor(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.updateFinalLaunchDesc(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.prepareToLaunch(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.prepareToLaunch(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.launch(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Main.launchApp(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Main.continueInSecureThread(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Main$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)

Can you provide a layman's instruction on what to do in this case? I compared the shortcut path on two systems and they are the same although one works (win7) and one doesn't (vista). I really like profit and want to stay with it, but if I can't get the updater to work, what good is it?

Sandeep
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Unread 08-27-2012, 02:47 PM
Zidu Zidu is offline
A Weald Wolf
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Server: Unkown
Posts: 81
Default

My advice is uninstall Java and the updater if its on your machine. Reboot and install Java again then try the updater.

These problems with the updater usually occur when you update Java after awhile.

I also suggest downloading JavaRa

http://appscout.pcmag.com/utilities/...-installations
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Unread 08-28-2012, 11:29 AM
Sandeep Sandeep is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Server: Unkown
Posts: 7
Default Thanks for the reply

Thanks, I will try that just thought their might be an easier way!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Unread 08-28-2012, 02:03 PM
Lethiana Lethiana is offline
Premium Member
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Server: Najena
Posts: 12
Default

Thank you for your help.
__________________
Ferrill Kat (Age of Prophecy)

six-boxer extraordinaire on the Najena server
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Unread 08-30-2012, 12:35 PM
Sandeep Sandeep is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Server: Unkown
Posts: 7
Default resolved

As suggested, it seems that the most recent versions of Java didn't like the profit ui updater. I rolled Java back to v5 and reinstalled the updater - works fine now.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Unread 09-02-2012, 10:32 AM
Pardot Kynes's Avatar
Pardot Kynes Pardot Kynes is offline
A Forest Scavenger
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Server: Guk
Posts: 15
Default Java 7 works fine for Profit/Drums

Greetings folks.

Lots of people are having problems with Java programs lately. Don't use the old Java because of viruses and security threats!

I can guarantee that both the Drums UI Updater and the Profit UI Updater work just fine with the newest Java. I use them with no issues. The issue most Java users are running into lately is that they don't understand that even if they have 64-bit machines that their Java programs (well 99% of them) only use 32-bit Java. What does this mean? It means that every time you update Java you must install Java twice. Yes, this is stupid but blame Oracle for not being more clear. As of today (Sept 2nd, 2012) the correct version of Java is Version 7 Update 7.

To fix your issues make sure you:
1. Uninstall all versions of Java from your Programs section of your Control Panel. It may be listed up to 3 or 4 times. Remove them all.
2. Go to the Java download page here: http://www.java.com/en/download/manual.jsp
3. Download both the Windows Offline (32-bit) installer and the Windows Offline (64-bit) installer.
4. Run both installer programs as an administrator one at a time. I usually install 32-bit first myself but I don't think the order matters.
5. Problem solved.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Unread 09-13-2012, 03:20 PM
Tikshadow's Avatar
Tikshadow Tikshadow is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Server: Unrest
Posts: 6
Default Solution

Using Windows Vista - Your experience may be different.

This is what worked for me "this time". Right click the shortcut icon (the one you use to start Profitui Updater). Choose Properties and then the Shortcut Tab. In the window next to Target: is a long line. At the end of that line is -6004bcb3 change it to -36256871

That should fix the missing file problem. What's happening is the updater is looking for a file that no longer exists when you upgrade to Java 7. Changing the end of the Target: line points it to the new file.

Hope this helps some of you!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Unread 09-15-2012, 08:49 PM
lotusrain lotusrain is offline
A Brown Bear
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Server: Nagafen
Posts: 13
Default I can only type numbers

Today, when I logged into the game my keyboard was not working as I have had it set up in game. I check all my options and everything was the same. I came here to see if any others were having a similar problem. No but I noticed the Java/ProfitUI problems and have run them all. I even changed out my keyboard.

STILL having the same problem. When I try to type anything in game it will only type numbers?

Help me PLEASE
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Unread 09-20-2012, 02:13 AM
speedycerv speedycerv is offline
A Berserk Golem
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 57
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pardot Kynes View Post
Greetings folks.

Lots of people are having problems with Java programs lately. Don't use the old Java because of viruses and security threats!

I can guarantee that both the Drums UI Updater and the Profit UI Updater work just fine with the newest Java. I use them with no issues. The issue most Java users are running into lately is that they don't understand that even if they have 64-bit machines that their Java programs (well 99% of them) only use 32-bit Java. What does this mean? It means that every time you update Java you must install Java twice. Yes, this is stupid but blame Oracle for not being more clear. As of today (Sept 2nd, 2012) the correct version of Java is Version 7 Update 7.

To fix your issues make sure you:
1. Uninstall all versions of Java from your Programs section of your Control Panel. It may be listed up to 3 or 4 times. Remove them all.
2. Go to the Java download page here: http://www.java.com/en/download/manual.jsp
3. Download both the Windows Offline (32-bit) installer and the Windows Offline (64-bit) installer.
4. Run both installer programs as an administrator one at a time. I usually install 32-bit first myself but I don't think the order matters.
5. Problem solved.
I did the above and it still can't launch the application. Didn't work for me. Please let me know if anyone has any suggestions!

Here is my error:

CouldNotLoadArgumentException[ Could not load file/URL specified: C:\Users\Derek\AppData\LocalLow\Sun\Java\Deployment\cache\6.0\30\3c7a95e-2ade277a]
at com.sun.javaws.Main.launchApp(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Main.continueInSecureThread(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Main.access$000(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Main$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)



java.io.FileNotFoundException: C:\Users\Derek\AppData\LocalLow\Sun\Java\Deployment\cache\6.0\30\3c7a95e-2ade277a (The system cannot find the file specified)
at java.io.FileInputStream.open(Native Method)
at java.io.FileInputStream.<init>(Unknown Source)
at java.io.FileInputStream.<init>(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.jnl.LaunchDescFactory.buildDescriptor(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Main.launchApp(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Main.continueInSecureThread(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Main.access$000(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Main$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)


Actually my error looks different than the OPer's but just the same, if you think you can help, please do

Last edited by speedycerv : 09-20-2012 at 02:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Unread 09-20-2012, 02:15 AM
speedycerv speedycerv is offline
A Berserk Golem
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 57
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tikshadow View Post
Using Windows Vista - Your experience may be different.

This is what worked for me "this time". Right click the shortcut icon (the one you use to start Profitui Updater). Choose Properties and then the Shortcut Tab. In the window next to Target: is a long line. At the end of that line is -6004bcb3 change it to -36256871

That should fix the missing file problem. What's happening is the updater is looking for a file that no longer exists when you upgrade to Java 7. Changing the end of the Target: line points it to the new file.

Hope this helps some of you!
Still says it can't find the file even with that change :\

Also my target seems to be different than yours? C:\Windows\SysWOW64\javaws.exe -localfile "C:\Users\Derek\AppData\LocalLow\Sun\Java\Deployment\cache\6.0\30\3c7a95e-2ade277a"

Also I tried uninstalling java 7 and going back to 6 but that didn't work...

Last edited by speedycerv : 09-20-2012 at 02:21 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Unread 09-20-2012, 02:36 PM
Tikshadow's Avatar
Tikshadow Tikshadow is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Server: Unrest
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by speedycerv View Post
Still says it can't find the file even with that change :\

Also my target seems to be different than yours? C:\Windows\SysWOW64\javaws.exe -localfile "C:\Users\Derek\AppData\LocalLow\Sun\Java\Deployment\cache\6.0\30\3c7a95e-2ade277a"

Also I tried uninstalling java 7 and going back to 6 but that didn't work...
Using your information: Go to "C:\Users\Derek\AppData\LocalLow\Sun\Java\Deployment\cache\6.0\30\" --and look for the file that begins with "3c7a95e-". Note the information after the 3c7a95e- in the file name.

Then Right click the shortcut icon (the one you use to start Profitui Updater). Choose Properties and then the Shortcut Tab. In the window next to Target: is a long line. At the end of that line is -2ade277a change it to the information you noted earlier in the java folder. See if that works for you!

Last edited by Tikshadow : 09-20-2012 at 02:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Unread 09-21-2012, 06:23 PM
Swelter Swelter is offline
A Forest Scavenger
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 18
Default

I hav e Vista 32 and I have to say this really sucks. Is Profit going to be updated when the expansion arrives or is it just our issues that aren't important. I tried what you suggested and got lost in my files.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Unread 09-27-2012, 12:48 PM
Rhim Rhim is offline
A Coastal Crab
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 1
Default

Thanks Tikshadow, that helped me too!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Unread 09-27-2012, 07:50 PM
Tikshadow's Avatar
Tikshadow Tikshadow is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Server: Unrest
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhim View Post
Thanks Tikshadow, that helped me too!
I'm happy that it helped. Actually I'm ecstatic that I got some positive feedback! Thanks for taking the time to post.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Unread 09-28-2012, 01:30 PM
tknarr's Avatar
tknarr tknarr is offline
A Griffon
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Server: Unrest
Posts: 849
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swelter View Post
I hav e Vista 32 and I have to say this really sucks. Is Profit going to be updated when the expansion arrives or is it just our issues that aren't important. I tried what you suggested and got lost in my files.
This is a Java problem, not a UI or updater problem. Usually it happens when a Java auto-update's messed up the local Java application cache. What I do to fix it:
  1. Delete my desktop icon for the updater, and unpin it from the taskbar and start menu if it's pinned (or delete the shortcuts, depending on OS version).
  2. Go to http://updater.pala.de/ using Firefox or IE and launch the application from there. If it prompts, allow it to run the JNLP file (don't save it). I've found Chrome to be unreliable when it comes to Java.
  3. Once the updater launches, go to Settings | Updater | Reset Shortcuts. Use that to recreate the program menu and desktop icons.
  4. Re-pin the icons or drag to create shortcuts, depending on OS version.

The shortcuts point to hash entries in the Java application cache, and aren't necessarily fixed. I don't try to reuse or fix the old icons, I just let the updater recreate them if they're broken. I also minimize the number of problems by manually updating Java at need. That's especially important if you've got both 32- and 64-bit versions installed on a 64-bit system, the automatic updates typically only get the 32-bit version which leaves things a bit weird. By manually updating I can make sure I get both and that the 64-bit version gets installed/updated last.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Unread 10-09-2012, 08:32 AM
Tikshadow's Avatar
Tikshadow Tikshadow is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Server: Unrest
Posts: 6
Thumbs Up

Quote:
Originally Posted by tknarr View Post
This is a Java problem, not a UI or updater problem. Usually it happens when a Java auto-update's messed up the local Java application cache. What I do to fix it:
  1. Delete my desktop icon for the updater, and unpin it from the taskbar and start menu if it's pinned (or delete the shortcuts, depending on OS version).
  2. Go to http://updater.pala.de/ using Firefox or IE and launch the application from there. If it prompts, allow it to run the JNLP file (don't save it). I've found Chrome to be unreliable when it comes to Java.
  3. Once the updater launches, go to Settings | Updater | Reset Shortcuts. Use that to recreate the program menu and desktop icons.
  4. Re-pin the icons or drag to create shortcuts, depending on OS version.

The shortcuts point to hash entries in the Java application cache, and aren't necessarily fixed. I don't try to reuse or fix the old icons, I just let the updater recreate them if they're broken. I also minimize the number of problems by manually updating Java at need. That's especially important if you've got both 32- and 64-bit versions installed on a 64-bit system, the automatic updates typically only get the 32-bit version which leaves things a bit weird. By manually updating I can make sure I get both and that the 64-bit version gets installed/updated last.
This also worked for me. Thanks for the information.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Unread 10-22-2012, 10:31 AM
rimol rimol is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Server: Unrest
Posts: 4
Default

That worked for me also. Thank you very much!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13 AM.


Our Network
EQInterface | EQ2Interface | War.MMOUI | WoWInterface | VGInterface | LoTROInterface | MMOInterface