Quantcast loadui - EQ2Interface
EQ2Interface.com
Search Downloads


Go Back   EQ2Interface > General Discussion > Dev Shack

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 06-08-2005, 09:24 AM
SOE_Bobble SOE_Bobble is offline
EQII Developer
Yes this person is from Daybreak!
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 82
Default loadui

The version of /loadui in Update #10 should no longer crash.

I'm not at 100% confidence so nothing will appear in the release notes.

If you can get it to crash, please post as much detail as you can.
If some data does not get updated, please let me know.

You can also use "/loadui <name>" as in "/loadui default"
Bobble
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread 06-08-2005, 10:19 AM
Corren Silverfir's Avatar
Corren Silverfir Corren Silverfir is offline
A Berserk Golem
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 55
Default

So am I to understand you believe you have /loadui functioning properly but wish us to test it?

Trying to put it in laymans terms lol.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread 06-08-2005, 11:27 AM
Kromulis Kromulis is offline
A Grassland Beetle
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Server: Befallen
Posts: 61
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SOE_Bobble
The version of /loadui in Update #10 should no longer crash.

I'm not at 100% confidence so nothing will appear in the release notes.

If you can get it to crash, please post as much detail as you can.
If some data does not get updated, please let me know.

You can also use "/loadui <name>" as in "/loadui default"
Bobble

Awesome. Hopefully it works 100%. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread 06-08-2005, 11:32 AM
Kosmos's Avatar
Kosmos Kosmos is offline
A Griffon
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Server: Lucan DLere
Posts: 581
Default

If your comment here, or the length of time it took to get this fixed are any indication.


That must have been one hell of a bug to find!

Thanks!
__________________
Kosmos
Qeynos Ranger (Retired)
Lucan D'Lere
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Unread 06-08-2005, 11:32 AM
Clink's Avatar
Clink Clink is offline
A Rumbleroot Sapling
 
Join Date: May 2005
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 66
Default

would we need to remove the eq2.ini before testing the /loadui ?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Unread 06-08-2005, 02:40 PM
Dolby's Avatar
Dolby Dolby is offline
Bacon Eater
Premium Member
EQ2Interface Admin
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,445
Default

Looks like its working (still testing more though). Also noticed a nice in game error telling me a custom window was out of date. VERY nice.

edit: hmmm, rebooted and then tried to load the same skin but in a different folder and it didnt work. None of the dynamic data was showing.

Doing more testing to find a pattern.

edit: tried to load about 3 different UI peices that are up to date and each time I do none of the dynamic data gets populated, guages dont work, etc.

Whats weird is it worked once, just the 1st time.

Last edited by Dolby : 06-08-2005 at 02:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Unread 06-08-2005, 02:51 PM
dc_roenfanz's Avatar
dc_roenfanz dc_roenfanz is offline
A Griffon
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Server: Unkown
Posts: 588
Send a message via Yahoo to dc_roenfanz
Default

Tested with both eq2.ini present and not. Seems to not matter with regard to the command, but you should know that if you leave it in, everytime you run the game, it will load from the INI.

Observations:

1) Typing /loadui just doesnt cut it. The UI Skin window loads, but the only option is the default skin. Not too sure on how to fix that. How does this window work?

Typing /loadui <custom> works fine however. Be sure to replace <custom> with your custom folder name.

2) Accessing options window after performing /loadui crashes to desktop every single time. Like clockwork. I suppose this is understandable, since everything in the options window (apart from the skin) is hardcoded/pushed from the server. Zoning doesnt help.

3) After, er .. loading /loadui, other non-dynamic windows show their [DEVL] state. This includes the quest window, the skills window, the recipebook window, maybe the knowledge window as well. However after zoning, (which unloads/loads the UI, I suppose) everything is fixed. DOES NOT WORK WITH ISSUE TWO


4) After performing the switch, chat and hotbar settings get borked. They resort to default locations, and only one of each are open.

I have not tried combat after performing /loadui. Will attempt in a min and update report.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Unread 06-08-2005, 02:57 PM
Dolby's Avatar
Dolby Dolby is offline
Bacon Eater
Premium Member
EQ2Interface Admin
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,445
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dc_roenfanz
Tested with both eq2.ini present and not. Seems to not matter with regard to the command, but you should know that if you leave it in, everytime you run the game, it will load from the INI.

Observations:

1) Typing /loadui just doesnt cut it. The UI Skin window loads, but the only option is the default skin. Not too sure on how to fix that. How does this window work?
The folder needs a eq2ui_skininfo.xml filled out properly for it to show in the loadui window. Then it will look like this... (minus the 2nd default folder)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	loadui.jpg
Views:	973
Size:	62.3 KB
ID:	2894  

Last edited by Dolby : 06-08-2005 at 03:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Unread 06-08-2005, 03:16 PM
Dolby's Avatar
Dolby Dolby is offline
Bacon Eater
Premium Member
EQ2Interface Admin
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,445
Default

Every time I try /loadui it doesnt populate the dynamic data and some windows dont even load like the options window. I deleted my char ui ini, eq2.ini, etc and still doesnt work correctly.

However It does seem to remember what interface to use (if you remove your eq2.ini) if I log out and log back in. So I can do a /loadui, pick my interface, log out and log back in and everything works.

Also I notice there is no keep current UI posistions.

Last edited by Dolby : 06-08-2005 at 03:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Unread 06-08-2005, 03:25 PM
Laffs's Avatar
Laffs Laffs is offline
A Griffon
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Server: Runnyeye
Posts: 1,404
Default

Quote:
Gnolls are on the move and abducting adventurers!
More like abducting dynamic data!... lol .. if thats the case I wonder if these new artifacts in TS are linked to the /loadui command hehe...

Anyways thanks for the heads up on this before I went and borked my set up by playing with that damn command
__________________
Laffs UI Mods
I can only please one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow doesn't look to good either !
(Wicann on Runnyeye)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Unread 06-08-2005, 03:29 PM
dc_roenfanz's Avatar
dc_roenfanz dc_roenfanz is offline
A Griffon
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Server: Unkown
Posts: 588
Send a message via Yahoo to dc_roenfanz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dolby
The folder needs a eq2ui_skininfo.xml filled out properly for it to show in the loadui window. Then it will look like this... (minus the 2nd default folder)
OK, HMM, well Zonx includes an eq2ui_skininfo.xml file in his, and it just doesnt show up. I suppose I can compare the default vs zonx
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Unread 06-08-2005, 03:35 PM
Dolby's Avatar
Dolby Dolby is offline
Bacon Eater
Premium Member
EQ2Interface Admin
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,445
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dc_roenfanz
OK, HMM, well Zonx includes an eq2ui_skininfo.xml file in his, and it just doesnt show up. I suppose I can compare the default vs zonx
Yeah compare the two I think they changed the layout of the skinfio xml a while back and also try to remove any punctuation.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Unread 06-08-2005, 11:50 PM
Deathbane27's Avatar
Deathbane27 Deathbane27 is offline
aka Mook
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Server: Nektulos
Posts: 1,451
Default

Dolby: Turn autoattack on after using /loadui and see if that refreshes the dynamicdata. It always did when I did it. (Actually attacking something always caused a crash before, though.)
__________________
If it ain't broke, it needs more features!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Unread 06-08-2005, 11:54 PM
Kosmos's Avatar
Kosmos Kosmos is offline
A Griffon
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Server: Lucan DLere
Posts: 581
Default

dc_r


each interface needs to be in a seperate folder.

There is no eq2.ini needed.

A folder with the name 'custom' should have a skininfo file named 'custom'

a folder with the name zonxfetish should have a skininfo file named something like Zonx Fetish... etc.... etc..

one folder, per one skin info file.

So when you type LoadUI, it will look for any folder with SkinInfo Files and display those names, and if you load one of those.
it will load the files in that directory.

If you want to 'mix and match' you will need to create a folder, and skin info file for that particular combination of UI.s

I do not believe the load UI is meant to load pieces from multiple directorys at the same time.

You are basically just telling it...

This is NOW my custom UI folder, and I want you to check in this folder, first, if the file is not found here. then load the default for the rest of the windows.

The loadUI command works almost exactly like the eq2.ini file would work, with the exception that the /loadUI will 'eventaully' loadthe UI in game, at any time, and not just on startup.

Hope that is a bit more clear.

Sorry to here that the Dynamic Data is not working with it.

Sounds like they are getting closer though.
__________________
Kosmos
Qeynos Ranger (Retired)
Lucan D'Lere
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Unread 06-09-2005, 12:04 AM
Dolby's Avatar
Dolby Dolby is offline
Bacon Eater
Premium Member
EQ2Interface Admin
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,445
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deathbane27
Dolby: Turn autoattack on after using /loadui and see if that refreshes the dynamicdata. It always did when I did it. (Actually attacking something always caused a crash before, though.)
ahhh ha, that worked. After i did /loadui I atked something and the dynamic data populated. Some windows still dont load though... like the options window and the quest journal shows no data.

Last edited by Dolby : 06-09-2005 at 12:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Unread 06-09-2005, 07:23 AM
dc_roenfanz's Avatar
dc_roenfanz dc_roenfanz is offline
A Griffon
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Server: Unkown
Posts: 588
Send a message via Yahoo to dc_roenfanz
Default

Edited:

I appreciated the help you offered, K, and I'm sure it wasnt your intention, but you made me feel like I was a bloomin idiot.

I left EQ1 before they implemented the loadui window ( i think), so I'm sorry if I was a bit ignorant on this part.
__________________

Last edited by dc_roenfanz : 06-10-2005 at 07:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Unread 06-09-2005, 08:56 AM
Tarrant's Avatar
Tarrant Tarrant is offline
A Sea Turtle
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Server: Blackburrow
Posts: 31
Default

And Kosmos will certainly remember not to help you in the future :P
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Unread 06-10-2005, 07:27 PM
dc_roenfanz's Avatar
dc_roenfanz dc_roenfanz is offline
A Griffon
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Server: Unkown
Posts: 588
Send a message via Yahoo to dc_roenfanz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dolby
ahhh ha, that worked. After i did /loadui I atked something and the dynamic data populated. Some windows still dont load though... like the options window and the quest journal shows no data.
The journals window works for me, upon zoning. The options window is forever borked tho
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Unread 06-12-2005, 07:15 PM
SOE_Bobble SOE_Bobble is offline
EQII Developer
Yes this person is from Daybreak!
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 82
Default Thanks

Thanks for the feedback on this!

If I'm reading the thread correctly the summary is:

No longer any crash reports after using /loadui
The option window won't work afterwards.
The quest journal data isn't updated until after zoning.
The dynamic data isn't immediately refreshing -- combat may trigger the update.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Unread 06-12-2005, 07:49 PM
Clink's Avatar
Clink Clink is offline
A Rumbleroot Sapling
 
Join Date: May 2005
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 66
Default

opening the options window after using /loadui crashes the game for me.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Unread 06-12-2005, 07:56 PM
DBurgdorf's Avatar
DBurgdorf DBurgdorf is offline
A Griffon
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Server: Permafrost
Posts: 320
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SOE_Bobble
Thanks for the feedback on this!

If I'm reading the thread correctly the summary is:

No longer any crash reports after using /loadui
The option window won't work afterwards.
The quest journal data isn't updated until after zoning.
The dynamic data isn't immediately refreshing -- combat may trigger the update.
Also, chat window settings are lost. The main window reverts to default size, and additional windows vanish. That was mentioned already by someone, but it wasn't included on your list, so I thought I'd bring it up again. It's a "dealbreaker," in my book.

-- Darryl
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Unread 08-26-2005, 04:40 AM
Drumstix42's Avatar
Drumstix42 Drumstix42 is offline
A Griffon
Featured
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 3,287
Send a message via AIM to Drumstix42 Send a message via MSN to Drumstix42 Send a message via Yahoo to Drumstix42
Default

Been out of it for a while. Taking advantage of this "Come back and play for 7 days" thing going on.

Very glad to see that there was at least some progress with the /loadui
__________________
"I'm afraid you're guilty of thought-crime. Don't bother getting the door, we'll let ourselves in..."
<Donate to DrumsUI> < [DrumsUI] Updater > < [DrumsUI] Full Interface> < Drumstix42 on Twitch.tv
>
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Unread 12-02-2005, 02:24 PM
Savie Savie is offline
A Griffon
Featured
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Server: Nagafen
Posts: 229
Default

I know this post is very old sorry to bump it, but I tried loading a ui the other day and it didn't work right so I tried to go back to default, and it wiped out all my Quest Journal entries, but said I has 35 quests over the max allowed. Only this that brought them back up and fixed my quest count was restarting the game. Just thought I'd post and let someone know
__________________
~ Savie
92 Warden, Nagafen.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Unread 03-16-2006, 01:08 PM
Adder's Avatar
Adder Adder is offline
A Grove Wisp
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Server: Befallen
Posts: 27
Default Any updates?

Has there been any progress or updates to the /loadui since this thread started? I took an unexpected and involuntary hiatus from EQII for quite a few months (but kept my subscription current), and am still trying to catch up on all of the changes. I can't seem to find anything about the /loadui in any updates so I am assuming that it is still not functioning properly. Has it been put on a backburner again or is it actually working and I just haven't located the update notes for it?
__________________
Adder
Quick, Silent, Deadly

"You shall know the truth, and the truth will set you free."
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Unread 03-16-2006, 02:24 PM
Landiin Landiin is offline
Slayer of clock cycles
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Featured
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Server: Oasis
Posts: 3,464
Send a message via ICQ to Landiin Send a message via AIM to Landiin Send a message via MSN to Landiin Send a message via Yahoo to Landiin
Default

No it still only half way works
__________________
Landiin's EQ2MAP Updater Discussion Download
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32 AM.


Our Network
EQInterface | EQ2Interface | War.MMOUI | WoWInterface | VGInterface | LoTROInterface | MMOInterface