Quantcast What is the Window Manager? - EQ2Interface
EQ2Interface.com
Search Downloads


Go Back   EQ2Interface > General Discussion > Dev Shack

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 01-14-2008, 05:07 PM
SOE-Rothgar SOE-Rothgar is offline
A Griffon
Yes this person is from Daybreak!
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Server: Unrest
Posts: 208
Default What is the Window Manager?

Some of you may have noticed when RoK came out the inclusion of a new window called WindowManager but no explanation as to what it does.

Basically the WindowManager is built-in support for minimizing EQ2 windows. This is something I wanted to implement in my own EQ2 interface so I worked on this feature in my spare time. Think of it as the start-menu bar in Windows.

To see it in action, make the WindowManager visible using the command /show_window MainHUD.WindowManager

Next you'll need to add a minimize button to a window, like the Persona Window. The easiest thing to do is make a copy of the Close or Settings button that already exists in the WindowFrame page, and rename it to "Minimize".

Now, when you click the minimize button, the window should become hidden, and a button corresponding to that window will appear in the window manager. Clicking the button in the window manager will make the window visible again and remove the button from the window manager.

If you have any questions about it, let me know.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread 01-14-2008, 06:07 PM
Landiin Landiin is offline
Slayer of clock cycles
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Featured
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Server: Oasis
Posts: 3,464
Send a message via ICQ to Landiin Send a message via AIM to Landiin Send a message via MSN to Landiin Send a message via Yahoo to Landiin
Default

Nice! I figured it was something like that. But figured it wasn't fully working or implemented yet so never messed with it.
__________________
Landiin's EQ2MAP Updater Discussion Download
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread 01-14-2008, 09:53 PM
Drumstix42's Avatar
Drumstix42 Drumstix42 is offline
A Griffon
Featured
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 3,287
Send a message via AIM to Drumstix42 Send a message via MSN to Drumstix42 Send a message via Yahoo to Drumstix42
Default

Ah ok. I think "taskbar" is the proper analogy for it. That's pretty nifty though.
__________________
"I'm afraid you're guilty of thought-crime. Don't bother getting the door, we'll let ourselves in..."
<Donate to DrumsUI> < [DrumsUI] Updater > < [DrumsUI] Full Interface> < Drumstix42 on Twitch.tv
>
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread 01-15-2008, 02:41 AM
gm9 gm9 is offline
gm10-1
Premium Member
EQ2Interface Super Mod
Featured
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6,479
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SOE-Rothgar View Post
my own EQ2 interface
Screenshots?
__________________
P R O F I T U I ∙ R E B O R N [Auto-Updater] | [Portal] | [F.A.Q.] | [Support Forums]
~ Retired ~
If it does not work, you likely installed it incorrectly. Always try a clean install before reporting bugs.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Unread 01-15-2008, 07:32 AM
Landiin Landiin is offline
Slayer of clock cycles
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Featured
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Server: Oasis
Posts: 3,464
Send a message via ICQ to Landiin Send a message via AIM to Landiin Send a message via MSN to Landiin Send a message via Yahoo to Landiin
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gm9 View Post
Screenshots?

Yea, I'd like to see the UI of a person with access to "the" code :P
__________________
Landiin's EQ2MAP Updater Discussion Download
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Unread 01-15-2008, 11:55 AM
Zoltaroth-SOE Zoltaroth-SOE is offline
A Sea Turtle
Yes this person is from Daybreak!
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 31
Send a message via AIM to Zoltaroth-SOE
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Landiin View Post
Yea, I'd like to see the UI of a person with access to "the" code :P
I use stock ProfitReborn, I know not very exciting.
__________________
Nandor "Zoltaroth" Szots
Technical Director, EverQuest II
Sony Online Entertainment, LLC.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Unread 01-15-2008, 12:12 PM
lordebon lordebon is offline
Fetish Core author
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Featured
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Server: Crushbone
Posts: 2,667
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoltaroth-SOE View Post
I use stock ProfitReborn, I know not very exciting.
Ooh, Zoltaroth is tryin' to pull the switch... we wants to see Rothgar's special one teehee.

And it must be great indeed to go "ohh I've got an idea... but I'd need <suchandsuch> so I'll just put that in..." ehehehe.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Unread 01-15-2008, 12:29 PM
Zoltaroth-SOE Zoltaroth-SOE is offline
A Sea Turtle
Yes this person is from Daybreak!
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 31
Send a message via AIM to Zoltaroth-SOE
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lordebon View Post
Ooh, Zoltaroth is tryin' to pull the switch... we wants to see Rothgar's special one teehee.

And it must be great indeed to go "ohh I've got an idea... but I'd need <suchandsuch> so I'll just put that in..." ehehehe.
Well yes that is indeed very handy
__________________
Nandor "Zoltaroth" Szots
Technical Director, EverQuest II
Sony Online Entertainment, LLC.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Unread 01-15-2008, 01:59 PM
Narzoo's Avatar
Narzoo Narzoo is offline
(^\. ./^)
Premium Member
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Server: Splitpaw
Posts: 144
Send a message via AIM to Narzoo Send a message via MSN to Narzoo
Default

Eeeeeek

It's Minimize not Minimise.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Unread 01-15-2008, 02:07 PM
gm9 gm9 is offline
gm10-1
Premium Member
EQ2Interface Super Mod
Featured
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6,479
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Narzoo View Post
It's Minimize not Minimise.
Hehe, I think you wanted to say that the other away around if you wanted to get all British on us...
__________________
P R O F I T U I ∙ R E B O R N [Auto-Updater] | [Portal] | [F.A.Q.] | [Support Forums]
~ Retired ~
If it does not work, you likely installed it incorrectly. Always try a clean install before reporting bugs.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Unread 01-15-2008, 04:44 PM
Narzoo's Avatar
Narzoo Narzoo is offline
(^\. ./^)
Premium Member
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Server: Splitpaw
Posts: 144
Send a message via AIM to Narzoo Send a message via MSN to Narzoo
Default

Took me months to type color instead of colour when I first started programming.

I just accept it now

I just noticed that the tool tip for the Windows Minimise button saws Minimize. Had never occured to me that that was spelt wrong too.

And even more off topic. Good to see you back, Gm9 and hope you had a good time on holiday.

Back on topic.....

This Window manager is useful. I'm a roleplayer and people always choose the time when I am at the broker to start roleplaying with me...so I close the broker window so I can see them and roleplay back...now it minimises
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Unread 01-15-2008, 06:41 PM
gm9 gm9 is offline
gm10-1
Premium Member
EQ2Interface Super Mod
Featured
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6,479
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Narzoo View Post
And even more off topic. Good to see you back, Gm9 and hope you had a good time on holiday.
Was great. Thanks for taking good care of my support hungry minions while I was away.
__________________
P R O F I T U I ∙ R E B O R N [Auto-Updater] | [Portal] | [F.A.Q.] | [Support Forums]
~ Retired ~
If it does not work, you likely installed it incorrectly. Always try a clean install before reporting bugs.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Unread 02-09-2008, 11:01 PM
Landiin Landiin is offline
Slayer of clock cycles
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Featured
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Server: Oasis
Posts: 3,464
Send a message via ICQ to Landiin Send a message via AIM to Landiin Send a message via MSN to Landiin Send a message via Yahoo to Landiin
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SOE-Rothgar View Post
Some of you may have noticed when RoK came out the inclusion of a new window called WindowManager but no explanation as to what it does.

Basically the WindowManager is built-in support for minimizing EQ2 windows. This is something I wanted to implement in my own EQ2 interface so I worked on this feature in my spare time. Think of it as the start-menu bar in Windows.

To see it in action, make the WindowManager visible using the command /show_window MainHUD.WindowManager

Next you'll need to add a minimize button to a window, like the Persona Window. The easiest thing to do is make a copy of the Close or Settings button that already exists in the WindowFrame page, and rename it to "Minimize".

Now, when you click the minimize button, the window should become hidden, and a button corresponding to that window will appear in the window manager. Clicking the button in the window manager will make the window visible again and remove the button from the window manager.

If you have any questions about it, let me know.
This works for the Persona window, but not for the browser window. I tried adding it to the browser and it did not work, so I added it to the persona window and it did work.. So hey, don't be predigest against the browser lol
__________________
Landiin's EQ2MAP Updater Discussion Download
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Unread 02-14-2008, 08:42 PM
dragowulf's Avatar
dragowulf dragowulf is offline
A man among men
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Server: Nagafen
Posts: 934
Send a message via AIM to dragowulf Send a message via MSN to dragowulf
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SOE-Rothgar View Post
Some of you may have noticed when RoK came out the inclusion of a new window called WindowManager but no explanation as to what it does.

Basically the WindowManager is built-in support for minimizing EQ2 windows. This is something I wanted to implement in my own EQ2 interface so I worked on this feature in my spare time. Think of it as the start-menu bar in Windows.

To see it in action, make the WindowManager visible using the command /show_window MainHUD.WindowManager

Next you'll need to add a minimize button to a window, like the Persona Window. The easiest thing to do is make a copy of the Close or Settings button that already exists in the WindowFrame page, and rename it to "Minimize".

Now, when you click the minimize button, the window should become hidden, and a button corresponding to that window will appear in the window manager. Clicking the button in the window manager will make the window visible again and remove the button from the window manager.

If you have any questions about it, let me know.
Can you make it so it shows the name and number of the window.

ex. if i minimize 2 chat windows it would look like [MainChat1] [Mainchat2]

Ive also noticed that sometimes when you minimize windows, they pop up all of a sudden when you don't click the button to maximize it again.
__________________
May Jesus Have Mercy On Us
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Unread 11-11-2008, 09:11 PM
dragowulf's Avatar
dragowulf dragowulf is offline
A man among men
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Server: Nagafen
Posts: 934
Send a message via AIM to dragowulf Send a message via MSN to dragowulf
Default

Window Manager does not work with the Browser window. Or at least the minimize button doesn't.
__________________
May Jesus Have Mercy On Us
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Unread 11-12-2008, 01:39 AM
SOE-Rothgar SOE-Rothgar is offline
A Griffon
Yes this person is from Daybreak!
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Server: Unrest
Posts: 208
Default

Hmm ok. I'll try to check it out sometime soon.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Unread 11-24-2008, 05:28 PM
Zonx's Avatar
Zonx Zonx is offline
A Green Troll
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Featured
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Server: Blackburrow
Posts: 2,221
Send a message via Yahoo to Zonx
Default

Factoid: DDS files from the original EQ2 UI included icons for a window manager

Can we get support for Icon buttons in this? I'm thinking a BarIcon property for each window with an IconStyle value. If BarIcon == valid IconStyle, show icon button, else show text button. Icon button would also receive the window name as its ToolTip.

Last edited by Zonx : 11-24-2008 at 05:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Unread 11-24-2008, 05:48 PM
SOE-Rothgar SOE-Rothgar is offline
A Griffon
Yes this person is from Daybreak!
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Server: Unrest
Posts: 208
Default

That would be pretty cool.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 AM.


Our Network
EQInterface | EQ2Interface | War.MMOUI | WoWInterface | VGInterface | LoTROInterface | MMOInterface