EQ2Interface.com
Search Downloads


Go Back   EQ2Interface > Developer Discussion > UI Developer Discussion

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 06-02-2006, 11:48 PM
Celestian Celestian is offline
A Crazed Gnoll
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 23
Default Player name/target name is text from UI mod problem

I've got a click to cast button on a group menu and when they press it I also have it gsay Focus healing %T. However when it fires it actually says %T not PlayerName.

I can only assume the UI has to use something else, how would I get the players target in there?

Last edited by Celestian : 06-04-2006 at 05:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread 06-03-2006, 03:49 AM
Pixi's Avatar
Pixi Pixi is offline
Cry Spoon!
Premium Member
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Server: Oggok
Posts: 241
Default

Seems to me (blissfully ignorant that I am) that there are two different interpreters in this situation. One that reads and renders your XML code and another that interprets your chatline commands and returns text depending on what is targetted. I'm pretty sure there should be a command that works like "%T" but is written more like "target.name" in your XML file.

Of course, I could be totally wrong too but it just seems logical to me in that quirky computer geeky kind of way hehe.
__________________

Bugrit - 64 Monk - 51 Tailor
Boznak - 64 Warden - 41 Provisioner

Founder and proud leader of: Alternate Reality
Bringing the lazy slackery back in the game.

Last edited by Pixi : 06-03-2006 at 04:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread 06-03-2006, 05:50 AM
mother9987's Avatar
mother9987 mother9987 is offline
A Griffon
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Server: Everfrost
Posts: 204
Default

I don't personally use click to cast for anything, but...

My experience with changing targets in a macro and saying something to the group is that the target change actually happens a split second after the macro runs, while the /gsay happens immediately.

For example:
/target_pet
/gsay %t has outlived it's usefulness and must die!
/pet getlost

Which I use on my coercer would always put the name of the tank on the group line, since I tend to keep the tank targetted. Even though after the macro ran, I would properly have my ex-pet targetted so I could root, mez, recharm, or nuke him as I see fit.

It was good for many a laugh, but it did annoy me. So, for my marco, I ended up replacing %t with "My ex-pet".

So, good luck! But you might just have an intractable timing problem.
__________________
'Tetht the printhiple, tetht the printhiple,' muttered Igor. 'Thorry, thur, but Igorth do not "tetht the printhiple". Thtrap it to the bench and put a good thick bolt of lightning through it, thatth our motto. Thatth how you tetht thomething.'
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread 06-04-2006, 05:05 PM
Celestian Celestian is offline
A Crazed Gnoll
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 23
Default

Let me try this again and perhaps people can understand better my problem:

I am having trouble finding out how to place a target name or player name into text output by a UI mod.

I currently have a group mod that has a push to cast option (like the click to cure stuff) and I want to alert my group when I use that spell on that player. It would do something like

OnPress="useability Focused Intercession;gsay Focus healing %T, stunned for the duration"

The spell fires off on the player properly however the text comes to the gsay channel just like above, %T is %T, not the target. I've tried using GameData fields for the name as well and it does the same.

Is there a way to do this?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Unread 06-04-2006, 06:18 PM
Talyns's Avatar
Talyns Talyns is offline
A Griffon
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Server: Everfrost
Posts: 604
Default

you might be able to do something like this:

Onpress = "
useability Focused Intercession
gsay ('Focus healing ')##(Parent.Parent.Target.Name.LocalText)##(', stunned for the duration') "
__________________
Talyns
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Unread 06-04-2006, 07:59 PM
Celestian Celestian is offline
A Crazed Gnoll
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 23
Default

I tried:

useability Focused Intercession ; gu ('Focus healing')##(Parent.Parent.Target.Name.LocalText)##(',stunned for the duration')

And it didnt display anything at all this round of tests. Note I used /gu for testing but that produced the same results as the original as well.

I am not familiar with this type of formating so posted what I used here case I did something incorrect.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Unread 06-04-2006, 08:00 PM
Pixi's Avatar
Pixi Pixi is offline
Cry Spoon!
Premium Member
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Server: Oggok
Posts: 241
Default

Aha!

I knew it, my geeky senses were true!

Now where are my spandex, it's time to go save the world...
__________________

Bugrit - 64 Monk - 51 Tailor
Boznak - 64 Warden - 41 Provisioner

Founder and proud leader of: Alternate Reality
Bringing the lazy slackery back in the game.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Unread 06-06-2006, 02:47 AM
Celestian Celestian is offline
A Crazed Gnoll
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 23
Default

I am still trying to figure this out and wanted to ask a few questions.

How do you know the depth of the parent.* ?

How do you know the variable names? For example if I want to get the name of the target from the eq2ui_mainhud_player.xml how would I know the variable name/depth?

Is there a doc on this I can read and not annoy people with silly questions?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Unread 06-06-2006, 06:42 AM
pooka's Avatar
pooka pooka is offline
A Griffon
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 250
Default

Look at the tree structure in UIBuilder. (Generally) Every level up is a 'parent' ... every level down follow the path.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	path.gif
Views:	311
Size:	1.8 KB
ID:	4963  
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Unread 06-07-2006, 04:52 PM
Celestian Celestian is offline
A Crazed Gnoll
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 23
Default

I did some testing from MainHUD/Player/TemplarPage/FocusHealPage/FocusHealButton using this on OnPress:
say Testing;say(Parent.Parent.Parent.Parent.Target.v0.Name.LocalText)

I also tried the same but with 3-5 Parents just to see if I messed up my tree counting.

However all it would do is say "Testing" and nothing else. I expected it would say:

You say 'Testing'
You say 'Celestian'

But no text would come out at all. Not even the "Debug" text.

I also did a test by just making something right off MainHud/TEST01/TestButton

I had it simply report target just as above and did from 4 parents to 1 and it would never show any text even the "Debug:" part either. I am sure I am missing something simple just dont know what.

Last edited by Celestian : 06-07-2006 at 04:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Unread 06-12-2006, 05:37 PM
Celestian Celestian is offline
A Crazed Gnoll
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 23
Default

Here is what I ended up using that worked. I've not tweaked it much but it works.

This is from MainHUD/Player, basically it casts Focus Intercession on me. I plan to use the same thing on my GroupMembers.

<Button LocalTooltip="Focused Benefaction" Name="FocusedHealingButton" OnPress="
Parent.FocusedHealingButton.sPlayerName=Parent.Parent.Parent.Parent.Target.v0.Na me.LocalText
msgTXT=(&apos;STUNNED while Focus healing &apos##(Parent.FocusedHealingButton.sPlayerName)
gsay=&apos;abc123&apos;
gsay=(msgTXT)
gsay=(msgTXT)
useability Focused Intercession" Opacity="0.000" ScrollExtent="20,20" Size="20,20"></Button>
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Unread 06-14-2006, 11:28 AM
Zonx's Avatar
Zonx Zonx is offline
A Green Troll
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Featured
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Server: Blackburrow
Posts: 2,221
Default

Just spotted this thread, yah I think your initial problem was in not properly formatting the gsay command and/or repeating it.

gsay=(sometext %t)
gsay=(sometext %t)

would probably work.

Dunno but the client may also not like cap "%T". I've always used lowercase with no probs.

If you haven't already, you may want to check if your button works when using the other con system. Not sure if v0 recieves values if v1 is shown.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 PM.


Our Network
EQInterface | EQ2Interface | WoWInterface | LoTROInterface | ESOUI | MMOUI