EQ2Interface

EQ2Interface (https://www.eq2interface.com/forums/index.php)
-   ProfitUI (https://www.eq2interface.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
-   -   Profit UI UPDATER (https://www.eq2interface.com/forums/showthread.php?t=9139)

Escaav 09-19-2007 11:41 PM

Profit UI UPDATER
 
I have Java 1.6. I click the file. Nothing happens. It says the service is no longer available. Any ideas?

GeForceTony 09-20-2007 12:37 AM

I too get an error:

"Could not find the main class. Program will exit."

I've tried it with both Java 1.5.0.12 and Java 1.6.0.2, same thing on both.



I had this error come up once in a Java program I did back in High School (with Java 1.4) and it turned out to be a typo with the main class' naming and what it was being called as.

gerlinde 09-20-2007 01:12 AM

I too am unable to get it to run.

I get the following message:
Could not find the main class. Program will exit.

Kaldran 09-20-2007 02:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Escaav (Post 62796)
I have Java 1.6. I click the file. Nothing happens. It says the service is no longer available. Any ideas?

Please check if your firewall blocks outgoing connections on Port 88. Or just try again. Maybe the webserver was changing logfiles and skipped some requests.

Kaldran 09-20-2007 02:49 AM

Quote:

I had this error come up once in a Java program I did back in High School (with Java 1.4) and it turned out to be a typo with the main class' naming and what it was being called as.
Quote:

Originally Posted by gerlinde (Post 62799)
Could not find the main class. Program will exit.

Not able to reproduce that yet. The manifest file and class naming are correct (since they get generated automatically anyways :P).
Please try to run it from command line: java -jar Updater.jar
Are you using Windows or another OS for updating?

gm9 09-20-2007 03:13 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gerlinde (Post 62799)
Could not find the main class. Program will exit.

This happens if your system has an old java version. Please download the latest Java version first.

-> Installation instructions for the auto-updater.

GeForceTony 09-20-2007 03:26 AM

OK, tried it via the command prompt, and this is what I get:

Code:

C:\Temp>java -jar Updater.jar
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: Bad version
number in .class file
        at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
        at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
        at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
        at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
        at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$100(Unknown Source)
        at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(Unknown Source)
        at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
        at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(Unknown Source)
        at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
        at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
        at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
        at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClassInternal(Unknown Source)


This is using either Java 1.5.0.12 or Java 1.6.0.2 (the latter is the latest version available from Sun)

Also happens in either Windows XP or Windows Vista, and on 3 different computers, (my 2 and my friends, at a different location). I also made sure that port 88 is open and available, and it is.

Kaldran 09-20-2007 03:40 AM

That means your java version is not able to understand the bytecode. This usually happens if the program is compiled against a newer version of java than you are trying to use it with.

I know I get annoying with this, but please check your java version again by using java -version at command line. The current version is 1.6.0.2 Build 6. The updater got compiled against Build 5.

gm9 09-20-2007 03:44 AM

If you have the latest version you should see the following:

Quote:

java version "1.6.0_02"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_02-b06)
Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 1.6.0_02-b06, mixed mode, sharing)
Downloading the latest version is a good idea in any case since it contains security updates over previous versions you might have.

GeForceTony 09-20-2007 03:50 AM

I get:

Code:

java version "1.6.0_02"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_02-b06)
Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 1.6.0_02-b06, mixed mode, sharing)

The exact same as gm9.


And no worries about this, I author modified NVIDIA video drivers for laptops, so I'm used to troubleshooting, and am glad to help any way I can :) .

Kaldran 09-20-2007 04:11 AM

I've sent you a PM with the updater compiled for target VM 1.5, please try that. If it works, your class loader has a serious problem, if it does not, well, serious problem too :P

aigor 09-20-2007 04:15 AM

nothing happen i have this error

MissingFieldException[ Il seguente campo obbligatorio non è contenuto nel file di avvio: <jnlp>]
at com.sun.javaws.jnl.XMLFormat.parse(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.jnl.LaunchDescFactory.buildDescriptor(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.jnl.LaunchDescFactory.buildDescriptor(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.jnl.LaunchDescFactory.buildDescriptor(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Main.launchApp(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Main.continueInSecureThread(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Main$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)


my version is 1.6 Version 6 Update 2)

GeForceTony 09-20-2007 04:33 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kaldran (Post 62814)
I've sent you a PM with the updater compiled for target VM 1.5, please try that. If it works, your class loader has a serious problem, if it does not, well, serious problem too :P

OK the one you sent me works on both of my machines (one with Vista, one with XP)

Here are the specs of the 2 machines I'm using it on (as copied from my signature at NotebookForums.com:


Quote:

Originally Posted by GFT's NotebookForums.com Signature
Dell Inspiron XPS M1710
Intel Core 2 Duo T7600G (2.33GHz) | LG 17" WUXGA | 2GB DDR2-667 | NVIDIA GeForce Go 7950 GTX (575 Core/600 Memory) w/ NBF MobileForce XP 94.20 M4
160GB (7200RPM) HDD | DVD+/-RW | SB Audigy MB | Atheros AR5006EGS Wireless | Windows XP Home Edition

Dell Inspiron XPS M1710
Intel Core 2 Duo T7400 (2.16GHz) | LG 17" WUXGA | 2GB DDR2-667 | NVIDIA GeForce Go 7900 GS (375 Core/507 Memory) w/ NBF MobileForce VS 156.55 M6 (BETA)
120GB (5400RPM) HDD | DVD+/-RW | SB Audigy MB | Intel PRO/Wireless 3945ABG | Windows Vista Home Premium


I'm gonna try re-imaging to a stock/original install of Windows (on both machines) and installing fresh copies of Java on both, and try the original updater.

Kaldran 09-20-2007 04:46 AM

Pretty weird.

Are you using Windows x64?

Guess I'll have to push the target5 build -.-

GeForceTony 09-20-2007 04:49 AM

Nope, 32-Bit on both systems.

gm9 09-20-2007 05:07 AM

Ok, the download has been updated with that version. Hopefully this will now work for everyone. Get it here if you had problems with the old version.

Kaldran 09-20-2007 06:10 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by aigor (Post 62815)
nothing happen i have this error

MissingFieldException[ Il seguente campo obbligatorio non è contenuto nel file di avvio: <jnlp>]
at com.sun.javaws.jnl.XMLFormat.parse(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.jnl.LaunchDescFactory.buildDescriptor(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.jnl.LaunchDescFactory.buildDescriptor(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.jnl.LaunchDescFactory.buildDescriptor(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Main.launchApp(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Main.continueInSecureThread(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Main$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)


my version is 1.6 Version 6 Update 2)

Please do not try to run it with Java Web Start, that's not supported.

aigor 09-20-2007 06:13 AM

and with what i try to run it?

Kaldran 09-20-2007 06:23 AM

You need to use java.exe or javaw.exe instead of javaws.exe (which is webstart).

Your OS should not try to launch .jar files with WebStart, so please check your configuration. Make it so it always opens .jar files with javaw.exe

You can still start it up manually at command line with:
java -jar Updater.jar

aigor 09-20-2007 06:33 AM

i use java.exe or javaw.exe but nothing works..sorry

Kaldran 09-20-2007 06:38 AM

Pretty likely your installation is broken. Maybe you should uninstall and reinstall java.

aigor 09-20-2007 06:40 AM

i'will try ^^

aigor 09-20-2007 06:59 AM

nothing i've uninstalled and installed again java but nothing happens both with java.exe or javaw.exe..i don't know!^^

gerlinde 09-20-2007 07:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gm9 (Post 62807)
This happens if your system has an old java version. Please download the latest Java version first.

-> Installation instructions for the auto-updater.


Yes, this appears to have been the issue. It's running now. Thanks!

Kaldran 09-20-2007 08:04 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by aigor (Post 62826)
nothing i've uninstalled and installed again java but nothing happens both with java.exe or javaw.exe..i don't know!^^

Please run it from the command line with
java -jar Updater.jar

and quote the error message. Right now I don't have the slightest clue what it might be.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:50 PM.

vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© MMOUI