EQ2Interface

EQ2Interface (https://www.eq2interface.com/forums/index.php)
-   Dev Shack (https://www.eq2interface.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   UI Builder Feature Request and Bug Tracker (https://www.eq2interface.com/forums/showthread.php?t=9496)

SOE-Rothgar 10-27-2007 06:20 AM

UI Builder Feature Request and Bug Tracker
 
Post your UI Feature Requests and Bugs here. I'll do my best to keep this post updated with the latest information.

Features: In the Works

ColorStyle
A ColorStyle object will have a single color property. Any object should be able to take a reference to a ColorStyle as well as a specific color.
Left, Top, Width, Height Properties
Allow manipulation of UIWidget Location and Size via individual properties.
Features: For Consideration

Better Navigation of Modules
Improve the interface for navigating modules in the UI window. Possible solution is to allow users to open and close tabs for modules they are currently working on instead of showing a tab for every module.
Cleanup XML Output
Try to remove properties that aren't necessary like PackLocationProp, PackSizeProp, LocalText, LocalTooltip, etc.

Bugs

Events being fired when not in run mode
Need more info such as specific events, repro steps, etc.

gm9 10-27-2007 07:17 AM

UIbuilder Bugs (not listing those you already announced as addressed in the upcoming version)
  • Graphics cannot be reloaded - Fixed with GU44 version
  • Generally alignment within UIbuilder is often not like within the game. But I assume this cannot be helped as it is probably an issue of the UIengine itself (for example, US servers align differently than localized servers...)
  • When changing a style name, all references to it get automatically updated. When copying a style (to create a new one based on it), there are two styles with the same name. You don't know which one is the linked one, so you may end up renaming the wrong one without noticing.
  • Default DynamicDataFilter is set to FFFFFFFF instead of FFFF
  • If using <includes> to non .xml files UIbuilder automatically appends ".xml" to the file name and creates a file with that appended name.
  • The opacity setting for rectangle styles is not saved by UIbuilder, probably because it is also not shown in "Limit Properties" mode even for non-default values

UI Feature requests:
  • Could we get non-localized DynamicData objects please? I use subclass detection for a number of windows and the translation it needs to do internally is taking it's toll an performance (in particular since I need to repeat it all the time due to dynamic data taking too long to initialize for people with slow computers). At least non-localized adventure and crafting subclasses would be very helpful.
  • In addition to the above, sublcass DynamicData only becomes available to the UI a certain time after the UI loads (the OnShow event). Could you either slow down the triggering of the OnShow or speed of the DynamicData please?
  • I need to be able to use UI script on non-ASCII characters, in particular for compatibility with localized versions of EQ2. For example, I cannot do any useabilityonplayer coding for users having non-ASCII character names.
  • Let us convert floating point numbers to integers! - Now possible using Top, Left, Height, Width values as discovered by Drumstix42
  • Allow UIbuilder to load interface folders, not specific files. This will reduce confusion for new users, and make it easier for mods that do not include an eq2ui.xml file. This functionality is mostly already part of UIbuilder. Currently you can copy an eq2ui.xml into your customUI folder and load it via UIbuilder. You can then delete it from the customUI folder and continue loading that UI into UIbuilder via the "Recent" list.
  • I personally would love to be able to write a complete uisettings.ini file from within UIbuilder, based on the layout I made there.
  • Would you be able to add a way to switch the localization within UIbuilder so we can see how it looks in French or Japanese, for example? Would make it much easier to be fully compatible for international users.
  • Similarily I don't assume you could generate a table of asset codes so we could pick from already translated terms for our mods?

Other UI bugs:
see my Known Issues page

lordebon 10-27-2007 09:56 AM

Feature Request:

The ability to set (in a local uibuilder.ini file perhaps?) options such as what size the main pane loads as (and to preserve locations, SCALE it to the size in the eq2ui.xml file). For example, if the eq2ui.xml file's size is 1280x1024, you could set the Scale Factor to be .5 and the pane would open as 640x512, but all the locations would still be on a scale as though the window is 1280x1024.

This would save some headache for us folks without newer, larger monitors. Or alternatively, just let us save the size of it and ignore the location issue.

Landiin 10-30-2007 07:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SOE-Rothgar (Post 64722)
Bugs

Events being fired when not in run mode
Need more info such as specific events, repro steps, etc.

OnShow, OnHide: All you have to do is toggle the eye button.

Them are the only two I know of off the top of my head. I'll post more if I find any more.

Talyns 10-30-2007 11:23 PM

If I remember correctly, it's all the true/false events an object has (onActivate or onDeactivate, or, onEnable or onDisable, are some others)

For, example
If you manually change the true/false property of Activated or Enabled it will fire the OnActivate and OnEnable events respectively, even though the UI isn't "running".

Edited: to remove redundant information :)

Zonx 10-31-2007 12:51 AM

1) Fully implement SelectedItemIndex on all Data driven components so we can extract/manipulate the source data based on a selection. Currently I think only Dropdown and List work. Table, ComboBox, etc... do not.

2) Likewise implement all the relevent events, OnSellect, OnDeSellect, OnItemHover, OnItemHoverOut.

3) Implement some facility to strip non-text tagging from a text field. Example: Currently there is no way to remove say... a color tag from a line item in the Tracking window. Dropping that line item into a script with the color tag included hoses most scripting. Similar issues with link tags.

4) Implement an OnChange event for every component with a text atribute so that it fires even when the text is changed via server/client and not just user input.

dragowulf 10-31-2007 01:48 AM

OnClick
OnClickHold

FloridaFringe 10-31-2007 11:39 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SOE-Rothgar (Post 64722)
Cleanup XML Output
Try to remove properties that aren't necessary like PackLocationProp, PackSizeProp, LocalText, LocalTooltip, etc.

Regarding manual cleanup, can these bits of code be removed from existing xml files without recourse or should they be left alone?

Also, does there need to be a ScrollExtent when it's the same as Size?

gm9 10-31-2007 12:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by FloridaFringe (Post 64903)
Regarding manual cleanup, can these bits of code be removed from existing xml files without recourse or should they be left alone?

You can safely remove them.

Quote:

Originally Posted by FloridaFringe (Post 64903)
Also, does there need to be a ScrollExtent when it's the same as Size?

No.

Zonx 10-31-2007 12:53 PM

Although they can be safely removed... it was my understanding some of these atributes were specifically added to improve performance. If you remove them, the client has to calc them.

gm9 10-31-2007 01:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zonx (Post 64907)
Although they can be safely removed... it was my understanding some of these atributes were specifically added to improve performance. If you remove them, the client has to calc them.

I think that was changed a while ago, previously it was true. Currently I can't even get the client to read them. You can basically put arbitary values in any of these, it won't affect anything (at least when I tried).

Previously it actually mattered what you put in PackLocationProp, for example, I remember I had issues with that long ago when I tried to get my mini zoning window to center correctly on all resolutions. Today that issue does not exist anymore.

FloridaFringe 11-01-2007 08:03 PM

Thank you for the replies. I'm leaning towards believing the performance impact theory as I do use Fetish as a foundation with that in mind. However, as someone who's rather new at xml coding and having to learn on my own it would be nice to get an official position on this if at all possible as it would go a long way towards helping me to remove a lot of code that just seems to confuse me.

Thanks again for the insights.

Landiin 11-01-2007 10:33 PM

FloridaFringe, I have nerver once used them properties in any of the xml I write excluding LocalText, localTooltip. You can remove all of them and you will never know they are gone, but ATM the UI builder will add them back in so it is kind of pointless to remove them. They are saved in the settings.ini file no matter if they are in the XML file or not and that is where the profermace comes from I think, not from the property in the XML file it self.

Agian I could be wrong but then I never am.. Thats funny I don't care who you are!

FloridaFringe 11-01-2007 11:15 PM

I thought that the UI builder added properties. I also noticed that it removed certain properties as well, such as if you have Location="0,0".

At any rate, that's not much of a concern for me since I rarely use the UI Builder for actual saving. I make all my edits via Notepad++ and use the UI Builder mostly for visual ideas. Once I know what I'm doing a bit more I'll start using the UI Builder but by then it won't matter much to me whether these properties are either ignored, added or removed.

Thanks again for the help.

Othesus 11-02-2007 02:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by FloridaFringe (Post 65011)
I thought that the UI builder added properties. I also noticed that it removed certain properties as well, such as if you have Location="0,0".

Location="0,0" is the default so the UIBuilder will hide that if you have the hide default properties box checked. It's also not necessary to put default properties into the XML file, since those are assumed if there isn't anything specified otherwise.

Edit: the UIBuilder will always show Location even if it's the default "0,0" but most properties will be hidden if they are the default value.

gm9 11-02-2007 04:04 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by FloridaFringe (Post 65000)
I'm leaning towards believing the performance impact theory

Since the values are not used runtime loading them would actually reduce performance (but so slightly that it won't really matter).

FloridaFringe 11-02-2007 02:51 PM

Thank you both, again.

Everyone's willingness to help newbies without making them feel like an idiot is much appreciated.

Othesus 11-09-2007 09:31 PM

UIBuilder version 1.3.0.0 dated 10/27/2007

Run mode doesn't work at all. From what I looked at, trying to drag a window like the persona window actually drags the location of MainHUD around and you quickly get a MainHUD Location="65144,65307" or something crazy like that.

dragowulf 11-09-2007 09:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Othesus (Post 65387)
UIBuilder version 1.3.0.0 dated 10/27/2007

Run mode doesn't work at all. From what I looked at, trying to drag a window like the persona window actually drags the location of MainHUD around and you quickly get a MainHUD Location="65144,65307" or something crazy like that.

And it needs to be able to capture linefeed and linebreak commands that the persona window carries. it is really annnoying!

gm9 11-10-2007 12:12 AM

Not just persona window, it's encoding all linebreaks in your mods with that. I can't read my code like that. :(

Othesus 11-10-2007 12:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gm9 (Post 65394)
Not just persona window, it's encoding all linebreaks in your mods with that. I can't read my code like that. :(

Oh yikes! That's not good.

I haven't saved from within the UIBuilder for about a year or so.

gm9 11-10-2007 12:42 AM

I haven't used UIbuilder in a year or so but I saw drago's bug report in the beta forums and went to see what the new version is all about. You can now save individual files, that's the only reason why I tried saving something.

dragowulf 11-10-2007 12:59 AM

I still use UI Builder and save quite a few things, because sometimes the actual code is a pain. but the beta uibuilder isn't working so i guess i'll just have to wait for an update till then for the problem to be fixed.

It's not just saving though, it is not reading certain things that it's the encoding that seems to be broken because i can't touch anything in the uibuilder.

Drumstix42 11-12-2007 01:03 AM

I don't think this exists already, but...

I'd like to request a way to resize an object without it affecting other objects. Perhaps holding down ALT or SHIFT while resizing, would allow the user to resize that object without affecting properties of another. Sometimes resizing can be a pain if you've done a lot of placement of objects already, and then have to remove a bunch of PackSize/Location properties to resize something.

I know the way selection/de-selecting items is changing, so any hotkey would do really. Hope that made sense :)

dragowulf 11-12-2007 01:14 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Drumstix42 (Post 65481)
I don't think this exists already, but...

I'd like to request a way to resize an object without it affecting other objects. Perhaps holding down ALT or SHIFT while resizing, would allow the user to resize that object without affecting properties of another. Sometimes resizing can be a pain if you've done a lot of placement of objects already, and then have to remove a bunch of PackSize/Location properties to resize something.

I know the way selection/de-selecting items is changing, so any hotkey would do really. Hope that made sense :)

MAN I SO HATE THAT. You are so darn right!

Spot on mate!

Yes please add something to that nature because it is annoying.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 AM.

vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© MMOUI