Quantcast
How do I access the Music files? - EQ2Interface
EQ2Interface.com
Search Downloads


Go Back   EQ2Interface > General Discussion > Help!?!?!

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 01-04-2013, 09:26 AM
roncoallstar roncoallstar is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Server: Unkown
Posts: 2
Default How do I access the Music files?

I am finding it hard to believe that I cannot find even a trace of this answer anywhere on the web.

I have 8 2gb files in my assets directory that no doubt hold all of the game data, so can anyone PLEASE tell me how to access them?

I had all of the music to this game at one point but it is lost to me now, and I am DYING to get it back to listen to.

Please someone tell me it is possible to extract the music files?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread 01-04-2013, 10:58 AM
tknarr's Avatar
tknarr tknarr is offline
A Griffon
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Server: Unrest
Posts: 814
Default

If you're using the streaming client there are no individual files, only the large asset cache files. If you're using the full-download client, much of the music will be in MP3 files under the "music" folder in the game installation directory. The rest of the music is inside the .vpk files in the "paks" folder and needs a special tool to extract (and often aren't in a standard audio format but in a special format for use by the game to feed the sound hardware).
__________________
"Hey! I'm not illiterate. I had a book once. ...could've used some ketchup though..."
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread 01-04-2013, 01:11 PM
roncoallstar roncoallstar is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Server: Unkown
Posts: 2
Default

Ok thanks for the reply, I have a question though....

I apparently have the streaming client, how would I go about getting the real client? I haven't been a subscriber for a loooong time so I am on F2P if that matters.

I didn't see an option for 2 clients, I logged in and it made me download 16gb of data with the streaming client.

Any help is appreciated.

EDIT: Doh, you know what? I just did a search for full client and I found a page that directs me to it. Nevermind, thanks for the help!

Last edited by roncoallstar : 01-04-2013 at 01:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread 01-04-2013, 02:44 PM
tknarr's Avatar
tknarr tknarr is offline
A Griffon
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Server: Unrest
Posts: 814
Default

https://launch.soe.com/eq2/

Go to that page and click on the Full button. That'll download the client installer. Run the installer and select your game installation folder and it'll put the necessary Launchpad files in place. Inside the game installation folder delete the "cache", "assetcache", "fixedassets" and "logincache-us" folders, then launch the game as usual. It'll take a while to download the full game, it's something like 12 gigabytes of game data.
__________________
"Hey! I'm not illiterate. I had a book once. ...could've used some ketchup though..."
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 PM.


Our Network
EQInterface | EQ2Interface | War.MMOUI | WoWInterface | VGInterface | LoTROInterface | MMOInterface