Quantcast
Zones with no map - EQ2Interface
EQ2Interface.com
Search Downloads


Go Back   EQ2Interface > Featured Projects > EQ2MAP > EQ2MAP New maps

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 03-25-2011, 03:26 AM
cooldeath cooldeath is offline
A Grizzled Badger
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: May 2005
Server: Crushbone
Posts: 46
Post Zones with no map

Please post replies to this thread if you find a zone large enough to warrant making a map of it.

I'd like compile a list of zones that do not have any map made for them.
Below is the list of zones that do not have a map.

=========================================================
Full Zones (large zones)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Deathtoll
Crags Estate (the 7yr vet reward house) - posted in unfinished maps
Icy Keep: Retribution
The Loping Plains Instances - Evernight Abbey Locs done - posted in unfinished maps
Venril's Lair

=========================================================
Medium Priority
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
the shroomba cave in echo echo canyon. Greater Faydark

Cave Systems Enchanted Lands, etc.
Wakening lands caves and giants section
=========================================================
Low Priority
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hammerfall Barrel Chambers, 2012 Brewday mini-zone

Smaller player housing
Yearly events
Zones small enough not to get lost in =)

=========================================================
If anyone knows of a zone with no map, please reply here and I'll add it to the list.

Last edited by cooldeath : 05-27-2012 at 02:39 AM. Reason: changed maps
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread 03-25-2011, 10:00 AM
gm9 gm9 is offline
gm10-1
Premium Member
EQ2Interface Super Mod
Featured
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Server: Runnyeye
Posts: 6,478
Default

We tried getting a full zone list from SOE years ago but never were able to. If you want to compile one here please go ahead, I'll sticky this one for you while you keep it updated.

If you feel like creating missing maps please do not forget the many posts in this forum here that did not result in finished maps. Basically every thread without [added] in the front of the name (unless too old). Many are just /loc posts that someone needs to forge into an actual map image.

Last edited by gm9 : 04-10-2011 at 07:21 AM. Reason: removed eq2map team forum link to avoid confusion
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread 04-10-2011, 05:55 AM
Emelie Emelie is offline
A Forest Scavenger
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Server: Splitpaw
Posts: 16
Default

i can't access the link so i don't know what list it have.

some map i miss tho is
think there is more player houses without map, don't remember the 5 room halas house to have one, but the list on maps don't seams to include any houses so i can't double check that. http://maps.eq2interface.com/map.php no guildhalls eather i think on this list even tho they are in game.

from moonlight enchantment
Enchanted Brownie Grotto
Enchanted Dryad Grotto
Enchanted Naiad Grotto

(this 3 probably share map whit some other zone perhaps not made?)

Bar of Brell is missing a map.

same cave systems are missing to some zone can mention enchanted lands and antonica.
there are already some cave system maps in game, i think it can be a con that they are there own maps, i would prefer if it was possible to put such map as an overlay on original map sharing same poi. thinking it could be like a level map (original + the cave levelmap) cave map could be original and cave put on top of it whit no opacity and original to have cave on top but whit 80% opacity. if it would work this way i would be much easier to follow group members as they now disappear in and out on cave (from map that is) and if seeing in original map that they are following a tunnel system it is easy to know that they are in cave not on top of it.

from tower of frozen shadow in DoV missing the labyrint layout
Tower of Frozen Shadows: 4th Floor: Darkness Rising (Raid)
http://maps.eq2interface.com/map.php?zone_id=569
Tower of Frozen Shadows: 4th Floor: Darkness Rising
http://maps.eq2interface.com/map.php?zone_id=577
the empty area in middle (the left one) are a smaller labyrinth not easy finding in it and in raidzone it is made so you have to be able to run out of there quickly.
think this could work as two layers but if getting a map at all in any matter would be good
__________________
i play on splitpaw server.
my main are a warden called "Lime".
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread 04-28-2011, 12:11 PM
cooldeath cooldeath is offline
A Grizzled Badger
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: May 2005
Server: Crushbone
Posts: 46
Default

That's odd, the mushroom ring maps have always shown up for me, though they were from the zone they were copied from.

Cave systems having their own map would be really great, someday it might get done. Doing an overlay so the POI can be shared is not very easy because I can not find the original maps to pull the map information from.

I've had a few requests for ToFS maps of that damn ring below Cara. Unfortunately I'm unable to find the original map so I can edit it. What I may do is just make the lower section it's own map, because it is very easy to get lost in there.

For Bar of Brell, that would be on a lower priority list. More of a "it's nice to have a map just to have one" list. The same would go for player housing.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Unread 12-23-2011, 10:50 PM
Joscelin V. Joscelin V. is offline
A Brown Bear
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Server: Unkown
Posts: 8
Default Silver Leaf Inn - 2 level Acorn

I've been attempting to create 2 maps (upper and lower floors) for the Kelethin 2 level Acorn house - Silver Leaf Inn. I've gathered the /loc's and textures. I've even created most of the files. What I'm having trouble with is it will not show up in-game. I'm guessing it's because Paint.net will not allow me to change the format to anything. It saves the format automatically in a format I cannot see and I do not have Photoshop on my Windows 7 machine. Additionally, I've had some issues with editing the XML file with the correct zonerect, availablerect, heightmin, heightmax and a couple other values. This is much harder than the tutorial explains with Paint.net.


This has been rather frustrating but I at least got most of it done. If there is another way to do this using the Paint.net program please let me know and I'll finish it. Otherwise, I'll just submit what I have so it can be completed by someone with a better understanding of the programs involved.


I have enclosed the 2 .jpg images so the textures can be seen for what I have in mind, as well as the .dds files and /loc file. It's funny that I was able to get the texture file to show in game from an earlier attempt that didn't look so good. That version also didn't allow a person to actually move on the map. All I could do was watch the arrow that represents my character spin in the upper left corner outside the map. Was kind of funny until I got tired of trying to fix it and start all over from scratch.


I have plans to create 3 maps (the third level is accessible via 2 climbable walls) for the Residence of the Blades prestige house.


Any information would be greatly appreciated.


Joscelin Verreiul - Freeport Server
61st Season Mercenary/Swashbuckler
Honor Bound Guild
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	exp03_rgn_gf_ph_1room_0.jpg
Views:	212
Size:	66.9 KB
ID:	7785  Click image for larger version

Name:	exp03_rgn_gf_ph_1room_1.jpg
Views:	210
Size:	68.4 KB
ID:	7786  
Attached Files
File Type: dds map_exp03_rgn_gf_ph_1room_0.dds (108.3 KB, 209 views)
File Type: dds map_exp03_rgn_gf_ph_1room_1.dds (108.3 KB, 197 views)
File Type: txt exp03_rgn_gf_ph_1room_1.txt (5.6 KB, 208 views)

Last edited by Joscelin V. : 12-23-2011 at 11:01 PM. Reason: Signature not showing in post
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Unread 12-24-2011, 06:29 PM
jnils's Avatar
jnils jnils is offline
EQ2MAP Developer
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Server: Splitpaw
Posts: 1,245
Default

Replace your _User_MapStyles.xml and copy your 2 DDS to images\maps\

And your done

For the images you could try to remove the 2 blue crosses in the corners.
Attached Files
File Type: xml _User_MapStyles.xml (638 Bytes, 282 views)
__________________
Pimigo / Splitpaw
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Unread 12-24-2011, 10:20 PM
Joscelin V. Joscelin V. is offline
A Brown Bear
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Server: Unkown
Posts: 8
Default

That works fabulously. I took out the blue "t"s and here are the .dds files without them. I included a .jpg that indicates the area where I'd like the maps to transition. Is it just a matter of tweaking the heightmin and heightmax values to have the transition happen in a specific area? If so, then I'll play with the values.

Thanks so much for the .xml file.


Joscelin Verreiul - Freeport Server
61st Season Mercenary/Swashbuckler
Honor Bound Guild
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	map_exp03_rgn_gf_ph_1room_1.jpg
Views:	224
Size:	68.6 KB
ID:	7791  
Attached Files
File Type: dds exp03_rgn_gf_ph_1room_0.dds (108.3 KB, 185 views)
File Type: dds exp03_rgn_gf_ph_1room_1.dds (108.3 KB, 196 views)
__________________
Joscelin Verreuil - Freeport Server
61st Season Mercenary/Swashbuckler
Honor Bound Guild
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Unread 12-24-2011, 10:47 PM
lordebon lordebon is offline
Fetish Core author
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Featured
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 2,557
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joscelin V. View Post
Is it just a matter of tweaking the heightmin and heightmax values to have the transition happen in a specific area? If so, then I'll play with the values
In this case yes, since it's a simple stacked map. Basically, find where you want to transition in game, take a /loc and use that value for the heightmin of the upper floor / heightmax of the lower. For more complex maps where you have multiple on the same z-range (eg, a submap for a cave system) it gets more hectic (SS croc caves are quite complex).
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Unread 12-25-2011, 12:52 PM
Joscelin V. Joscelin V. is offline
A Brown Bear
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Server: Unkown
Posts: 8
Default

Works awesome! I was able to get the transition just right. Only thing that isn't quite right is there is a slight lag when you move your character upstairs through the transition. After doing so there's no issue at all.

Here's a preview of my submission:

Merry Christmas everyone!
Attached Files
File Type: xml _User_MapStyles.xml (674 Bytes, 288 views)
File Type: dds map_exp03_rgn_gf_ph_1room_0.dds (108.3 KB, 187 views)
File Type: dds map_exp03_rgn_gf_ph_1room_1.dds (108.3 KB, 192 views)
__________________
Joscelin Verreuil - Freeport Server
61st Season Mercenary/Swashbuckler
Honor Bound Guild
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Unread 12-28-2011, 01:41 PM
Therendil's Avatar
Therendil Therendil is offline
A Griffon
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 276
Default

Note about prestige housing: All of the 'Magical Manors' use the same layout as the largest house in the same zone. For example, the Concordium Mage Tower home uses the 2 Bayle Court map. Maps for the Manors could therefore be cloned from existing maps.

Another project for housing maps.... update the existing maps to show the room that was added some months back.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Unread 12-31-2011, 02:31 AM
Ebarel Ebarel is offline
A Forest Scavenger
 
Join Date: May 2005
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 16
Default

maybe not the right place to post but ravenscale (LP2) map is gone, maybe you can bring it back?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Unread 01-25-2012, 12:26 AM
cooldeath cooldeath is offline
A Grizzled Badger
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: May 2005
Server: Crushbone
Posts: 46
Default

Yeah i've been out of mapping for a few months because I didn't have a job and income > eq mapping. So now i'm employed and so busy I don't have alot of time to mess around with mapping lol, I can't win. I do hope that I'll make some free time this weekend to finnaly finish craigs estate and the Loping plains maps that i've got mapped out and finnaly get them out of the list.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Unread 01-26-2012, 02:43 PM
Therendil's Avatar
Therendil Therendil is offline
A Griffon
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 276
Default

Sigh. It's true. You have time but no money, or money but no time. :-)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Unread 01-29-2012, 08:59 PM
Belexes's Avatar
Belexes Belexes is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Server: Blackburrow
Posts: 5
Default the shroomba caves

the shroomba cave in echo echo canyon. Greater Faydark
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Unread 03-09-2012, 09:44 PM
Erelas Erelas is offline
A Coastal Crab
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Server: Permafrost
Posts: 1
Default Hammerfall Barrel Chambers

Hammerfall Barrel Chambers, 2012 Brewday mini-zone, already submitted POI 56156, sorry someone might want to fix that, it apparently shows up in Kaladim, I goofed.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Unread 03-11-2012, 09:33 AM
Uggers Uggers is offline
A Forest Scavenger
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Server: Unkown
Posts: 18
Default

I'm making a map for Brell's Bar (the Brewday instance accessed from Commonlands, Antonica, etc.) at the moment - I'm hoping to get a basic lines-only version done very soon, perhaps so it can be put in game for people to use; then I'll tart it up with textures later.
I'm not sure if that approach would be acceptable to the EQ2Map team, of course.

I've done the /locs and cleaned up the lines; now I just need to work out how to create a multi-layered map and sort out the zonerect etc.
I'll post a new thread in this forum once I've done that.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Unread 03-13-2012, 05:51 PM
cooldeath cooldeath is offline
A Grizzled Badger
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: May 2005
Server: Crushbone
Posts: 46
Default

Awsome bar of brell map, thanks!
I was able to do more work on the maps i've been finishing up, and now my stubborn side kicks in and wants to texture them all. So I may submit an untextured version just so it's finally done then submit textures later. My Photoshop is on the fritz right now, so I'm not sure i'd even be able to submit anything at the moment even if i did finish it.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Unread 03-19-2012, 07:29 AM
Uggers Uggers is offline
A Forest Scavenger
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Server: Unkown
Posts: 18
Default

In the Medium priority section above there's a mention of the cave systems in Antonica, so I thought I'd investigate; I had a look in the gnoll caves in the middle of the zone and saw no map came up, so I thought I'd make one. I did the locs, tidied them up, and only then did I look in core_mapstyles.xml for similar zones so I could test the map out before texturing it.
At this point I discovered a map called 'map_antonica_2_gnoll_cave.dds' which seems to be exactly the required map, created by SaintPeter.
The entry for it is as follows:
Code:
<ImageStyle Name="antonica_2" displayname="Antonica Gnoll Cave" menugroup="Karan" zonerect="726, -231, 1031, 123" availablerect="750, -210, 1007, 70">
<ImageFrame Source="images/maps/map_antonica_2_gnoll_cave.dds" SourceRect="0,0,436,506" />
</ImageStyle>
It obviously isn't showing up, though - at least, not for me.
Any idea what happened to this map and why it isn't showing?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Unread 03-19-2012, 07:43 AM
jnils's Avatar
jnils jnils is offline
EQ2MAP Developer
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Server: Splitpaw
Posts: 1,245
Default

It might be from the time antonica was devided in west and east map, but the map should work anyway, i need to test it.

You create a lot of work for me :P

To bad you made a lot of work for nothing
__________________
Pimigo / Splitpaw
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Unread 03-19-2012, 07:50 AM
jnils's Avatar
jnils jnils is offline
EQ2MAP Developer
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Server: Splitpaw
Posts: 1,245
Default

I have made a change to the database, update your map files and try again.
Have not tested my self.
__________________
Pimigo / Splitpaw
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Unread 03-19-2012, 03:34 PM
Uggers Uggers is offline
A Forest Scavenger
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Server: Unkown
Posts: 18
Default

Sorry about creating all the work - I don't mean to be a pain, it just comes naturally

I'm not bothered about the work I put in with the locs; it didn't take me too long, and I enjoyed doing it anyway! My aim was to have a map for people to use in the game, and in doing mine I found that an existing one wasn't working, so if we can work out how to fix it the end result should be the same!

I updated my map files again today after seeing your post, and saw that the map styles was the only thing updated. However, when I went to Antonica I still didn't see the gnoll cave map when I was in the gnoll caves. I wandered all the way through them in case the availablerect was off by a little, but saw nothing.
Sorry!

Maybe if I have time I'll look into it a bit more, and try to work out what the availablerect should be, in case that's the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Unread 03-19-2012, 03:40 PM
jnils's Avatar
jnils jnils is offline
EQ2MAP Developer
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Server: Splitpaw
Posts: 1,245
Default

Tested it my self and found the problem, had to change the name to antonica_0
__________________
Pimigo / Splitpaw
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Unread 03-19-2012, 03:49 PM
Uggers Uggers is offline
A Forest Scavenger
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Server: Unkown
Posts: 18
Default

Ah - I've just updated again, and found that it's all working nicely!

Thanks for sorting it out!
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Unread 02-25-2014, 10:13 AM
mageice3 mageice3 is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Server: Unkown
Posts: 2
Exclamation

I don't know the priority levels on these but the Commonlands Tier 4 guild Hall doesn't have a map for the most part the Tier 3 map is the same cept the door in back and the new floor, anyways even a plain parchment map would be helpful as its easy to get lost in there. Also last I checked the Antonica T4 was missing as well.
Thanks,
Voraga AB Server
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13 PM.


Our Network
EQInterface | EQ2Interface | War.MMOUI | WoWInterface | VGInterface | LoTROInterface | MMOInterface