EQ2Interface.com
Search Downloads


Go Back   EQ2Interface > Featured Projects > EQ2MAP > EQ2Map Troubleshooting

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #26  
Unread 11-29-2007, 03:03 AM
Talyns's Avatar
Talyns Talyns is offline
A Griffon
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Server: Everfrost
Posts: 604
Send a message via ICQ to Talyns
Default

You might have to do something like this:

Code:
Dim RegPermission As New RegistryPermission(RegistryPermissionAccess.AllAccess, "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\App Paths\EverQuest2.exe")
RegPermission.Assert()
Dim RegEQ2dir As Microsoft.Win32.RegistryKey = Microsoft.Win32.Registry.LocalMachine.OpenSubKey("SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\App Paths\EverQuest2.exe", False)
Dim PossibleEQ2dir As String = RegEQ2dir.GetValue("Path").ToString
RegPermission.RevertAssert()
But I'm not sure the syntax is perfect cause I'm used to the C languages


:edit: I would think that isn't needed if UAC is disabled and app is run as administrator but you never know..
__________________
Talyns

Last edited by Talyns : 11-29-2007 at 03:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Unread 11-29-2007, 03:16 AM
jnils's Avatar
jnils jnils is offline
EQ2MAP Developer
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Server: Splitpaw
Posts: 1,651
Default

Thanx , ill have a look at this
__________________
Pimigo / Splitpaw
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Unread 11-29-2007, 08:56 AM
Landiin Landiin is offline
Slayer of clock cycles
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Featured
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Server: Oasis
Posts: 3,464
Send a message via ICQ to Landiin Send a message via AIM to Landiin Send a message via MSN to Landiin Send a message via Yahoo to Landiin
Default

It's not going to hurt to try that but;
The UAC shouldn't even be invoked if your just reading from the Registry. If the UAC is invoked it will just ask for permission to allow the application to read it or not.
__________________
Landiin's EQ2MAP Updater Discussion Download
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Unread 11-29-2007, 01:13 PM
jnils's Avatar
jnils jnils is offline
EQ2MAP Developer
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Server: Splitpaw
Posts: 1,651
Default

A new try, and i hope this is the final one

Changed the Registry code to handle a missing entry.
Probably is this caused by a faulty EQ2 install.

Please try a clean install again :P
Attached Files
File Type: zip EQ2MAP-Updater-1.0.15-Setup.zip (877.5 KB, 185 views)
__________________
Pimigo / Splitpaw
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Unread 11-29-2007, 01:39 PM
Ripper-Joe Ripper-Joe is offline
A Forest Scavenger
 
Join Date: May 2006
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jnils View Post
Probably is this caused by a faulty EQ2 install.
Please try a clean install again :P
LOL I guess I had that coming to me.. <looks around for someone else to point the finger at, then settles on SOE> I guess I can blame the faulty install on SoE In any case, be it my fault, a faulty SoE install, or any number of other possible scenarios, I'm just thrilled I was able to help you narrow it down so you can put in some protective code to work around it.

I'm working (from home) right now but when I get a break I'll give the latest test file a go and let you know what I find.
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Unread 11-29-2007, 02:14 PM
Ripper-Joe Ripper-Joe is offline
A Forest Scavenger
 
Join Date: May 2006
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 15
Default

Wahoo!!! Jnils, that last installer did the trick!

On a clean install, the first time the updater is run (at least on my machine) it pops up a file tree and asks me to identify my EQ2 install directory. After browsing to my install directory and selecting the everquest executable, the updater takes over and begins the update process.

Well Done! I honestly can't thank you enough for taking the time to work with an end user like myself to isolate and resove an issue of this type. I hope the work you have done to help me through this issue will pay dividends with other users who have reported similar issues or have suffered in silence.

If there is anything else I can do to help, please let me know. Otherwise, thanks again for everything!
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Unread 11-29-2007, 03:32 PM
jnils's Avatar
jnils jnils is offline
EQ2MAP Developer
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Server: Splitpaw
Posts: 1,651
Default

Thanx

Im glad we finaly found the cause of this error.
There are not so many that had this problem 10-20 / 20.000+ so far
Somehow is not the registry set as it should , but now it works anyway

Thanx again for the help
Finaly i can sleep again

Ill update the Download section tomorrow.
__________________
Pimigo / Splitpaw
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15 AM.


Our Network
EQInterface | EQ2Interface | WoWInterface | LoTROInterface | ESOUI | MMOUI