Quantcast Avast: "Threat has been detected" - EQ2Interface
EQ2Interface.com
Search Downloads


Go Back   EQ2Interface > Featured Projects > ProfitUI

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 09-12-2016, 10:13 AM
offkilterkitty offkilterkitty is offline
A Sea Turtle
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 34
Default Avast: "Threat has been detected"

Listened to Avast chirp that for every single one of the new updates posted to
link removed

URL/Mal is what it was whining about.

I did not have problems with the last set of updates.

Last edited by Dolby : 09-12-2016 at 04:28 PM. Reason: removed link per owners request
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread 09-12-2016, 04:08 PM
Darqwood's Avatar
Darqwood Darqwood is offline
A Griffon
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 177
Default

If you feel that Therendil and I are putting malware into your files, then stop using the UI. Otherwise we would appreciate it if you would remove the link to the updater files, thank you. Exposing information of this type on a public message board is unwise and dangerous. At best, it is completely unnecessary for resolving your issue.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread 09-12-2016, 04:44 PM
Dolby's Avatar
Dolby Dolby is offline
Bacon Eater
Premium Member
EQ2Interface Admin
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,444
Default

Looks like a false positive. You can report it to Avast here: https://www.avast.com/false-positive-file-form.php
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread 09-14-2016, 07:05 AM
offkilterkitty offkilterkitty is offline
A Sea Turtle
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 34
Default

Darqwood, I do not think you are posting malware, and am rather insulted that was your first thought.

I was asking for help in clearing up the issue so I COULD continue to use the UI. Sometimes it is something in the coding that triggers the flag and can be resolved simply, especially if I was not the only one having the issue. I had not gotten such a message before in all my YEARS of using the UI and promoting it to others.

At least you did confirm that the path was the proper one and not high-jacked.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Unread 09-14-2016, 12:22 PM
Therendil's Avatar
Therendil Therendil is offline
A Griffon
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 404
Default

I saw nothing in offkilterkitty's post that accused us of posting code with malware in it, and my first thought was annoyance at yet another false positive result from someone's security software.

I do, however, agree that posting the direct server link in the forums was a bad idea and I am pleased to see that the link has been edited out.

I hope Avast is able to correct their detection database to eliminate the issue.

-= Therendil =-
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Unread 09-14-2016, 07:56 PM
Darqwood's Avatar
Darqwood Darqwood is offline
A Griffon
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 177
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by offkilterkitty View Post
Darqwood, I do not think you are posting malware, and am rather insulted that was your first thought.

I was asking for help in clearing up the issue so I COULD continue to use the UI. Sometimes it is something in the coding that triggers the flag and can be resolved simply, especially if I was not the only one having the issue. I had not gotten such a message before in all my YEARS of using the UI and promoting it to others.

At least you did confirm that the path was the proper one and not high-jacked.

Forgive me if you were insulted. But I was surprised to say the least to see the equivalent of home address, phone number and social security number of my server broadcast on a public message board. Possibly -- and this is just me thinking out loud -- it may be more prudent if one is concerned about a web server being hijacked to send a private message to Therendil or me with the internet address in question. I promise we will take a personal interest in helping to sort out any concerns.


.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Unread 09-14-2016, 08:10 PM
Darqwood's Avatar
Darqwood Darqwood is offline
A Griffon
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 177
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Therendil View Post
...

I hope Avast is able to correct their detection database to eliminate the issue.

-= Therendil =-

These are straight-up simple txt and xml ASCII files, distributed with industry standard compression over industry standard connections. Frankly, if "Avast" chokes on the utterly simplest of the simple, then I have zero confidence in the accuracy of their detections.


.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Unread 09-15-2016, 12:56 PM
feldon30's Avatar
feldon30 feldon30 is offline
Premium Member
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Server: Butcherblock
Posts: 11
Default

I guess we are seeing the benefit of anonymous domain registration here. As for Avast flipping out on an XML file being downloaded. that is pretty silly. Any launcher/updater I develop will also periodically check a 3rd party website for the availability of updates.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Unread 09-16-2016, 07:30 PM
Dolby's Avatar
Dolby Dolby is offline
Bacon Eater
Premium Member
EQ2Interface Admin
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,444
Default

I did suggest to register a domain, then use cloudflare dns and free cdn/ddos protection. The public when pinging the domain will only see cloudflare's ip and it will keep your origin ip private as long as the cdn/ddos protection is enabled under their DNS settings. As long as the general public only needs content on port 80, 8080 or 443 your good. They even provide free SSL from user to their cdn servers.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Unread 09-17-2016, 09:25 AM
yovNuthq yovNuthq is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Server: Unkown
Posts: 5
Default

I'm a little weirded out by some of the reactions in this thread, the urls the updater hits are pretty obvious. Maybe another option would be roping Feldon into this for the updates hosting? (sorry feldon~)

Thanks for the PSA in any case, @offkilterkitty. Hopefully it's been addressed and Avast won't scare any less savvy users away. Sorry you got beat up about it.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Unread 09-17-2016, 09:27 AM
feldon30's Avatar
feldon30 feldon30 is offline
Premium Member
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Server: Butcherblock
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yovNuthq View Post
I'm a little weirded out by some of the reactions in this thread, the urls the updater hits are pretty obvious. Maybe another option would be roping Feldon into this for the updates hosting? (sorry feldon~)

Thanks for the PSA in any case, @offkilterkitty. Hopefully it's been addressed and Avast won't scare any less savvy users away. Sorry you got beat up about it.
I would be happy to host this as a subproject of EQ2Wire.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37 AM.


Our Network
EQInterface | EQ2Interface | War.MMOUI | WoWInterface | VGInterface | LoTROInterface | MMOInterface