Quantcast BFZ zonerect Calculator - EQ2Interface
EQ2Interface.com
Search Downloads


Go Back   EQ2Interface > Featured Projects > EQ2MAP

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 02-28-2005, 05:42 PM
Quib Quib is offline
A Griffon
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 720
Default BFZ zonerect Calculator

Here's my BFZ (short for Black Fogged Zone) zonerect Calculator. It's an in-game tool used to figure out zonerects for SOE's default outdoor mapped zones (Antonica, TS, Nektulos, Commonlands, EL, etc.).

You put the attached XML in your eq2map folder. Once in-game, click the little Question Mark button on the top right of the Map window (formerly the Help button). The window will expand to the right and show a kinda crazy grid of 0's and 6 buttons labeled Step 1 - Step 6. Hold your mouse cursor over each of these buttons for instructions.



EDIT: Updated the attached XML. If you downloaded before 8:07 PM PST 2/28/05, redownload.

Quib
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	bfzcalc.jpg
Views:	2796
Size:	228.3 KB
ID:	1525  
Attached Files
File Type: xml window_quests.xml (12.4 KB, 724 views)

Last edited by Quib : 03-02-2005 at 04:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread 02-28-2005, 06:11 PM
taco-man's Avatar
taco-man taco-man is offline
EQ2MAP Updater Author
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 1,349
Send a message via AIM to taco-man Send a message via MSN to taco-man Send a message via Yahoo to taco-man
Default

well done!
__________________
EQ2MAP Updater Download
EQ2MAP Website
How to Install a custom interface
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread 02-28-2005, 06:36 PM
Killarny Killarny is offline
A Griffon
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Server: Neriak
Posts: 273
Default

Can this be adapted to use for unmapped zones too?

I suspect not, but it doesn't hurt to ask........
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread 02-28-2005, 07:18 PM
Quib Quib is offline
A Griffon
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 720
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Killarny
Can this be adapted to use for unmapped zones too?

I suspect not, but it doesn't hurt to ask........
Well, I could make an in-game version of taco-man's zonerect calculator, but it wouldn't be that helpful unless we figure out how to concatenate strings in-game (if even possible). If the zonerect could be changed on-the-fly I'd consider setting one up, but at this point there'd be no difference. I set this one up in-game, because the "Step 1" and "Step 3" buttons grab the necessary values (one of which is hard to get without some sort of little script).

I forgot to compensate for the width of the location arrow, so the values actually are off by a little. Will have a new version soon.

Quib
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Unread 02-28-2005, 07:25 PM
Tiggerdruid Tiggerdruid is offline
A Forest Scavenger
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Server: Everfrost
Posts: 15
Default

Ok i may be an utter newbie to this, but i have a simple question. I have most of the server side maps cleared completely. But i still have some black around the border covering up the "paper" around the map. All these screens i see have removed that black. May i ask how?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Unread 02-28-2005, 08:12 PM
Quib Quib is offline
A Griffon
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 720
Default

There's I think 3 ways to do this.

1) You uncover as much as you can then use Photoshop (or a similar image editor) to fake reveal the rest of the black. Filling in the blanks so-to-speak.

2) You can make another UI object load the current zone's map image. The fog is layer over the image, so by loading the current zone's image directly, you get a fog free picture. Then take a screenshot and you have a clean version.

3) There's a way to displace the fog on the main map, essentially shoving it off to the side so it doesn't obscure the map. This is what's been done in the above screenshot.

The second way is the easiest and best.

Quib
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Unread 02-28-2005, 09:46 PM
Tiggerdruid Tiggerdruid is offline
A Forest Scavenger
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Server: Everfrost
Posts: 15
Default

Would you have a window that does this, or how can I as somone wanting to help out. Acomplish this?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Unread 02-28-2005, 10:25 PM
Quib Quib is offline
A Griffon
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 720
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiggerdruid
Would you have a window that does this, or how can I as somone wanting to help out. Acomplish this?
Check out Zonx's Fetish Combo 2.5 UI. It has a Mini Map that shows unfogged versions of zones and is perfect for getting clean screenshots of maps.

Quib
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Unread 03-04-2005, 01:54 PM
Jakep Jakep is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 4
Default

Quick Question:
Will there ever be a feature in EQ2MAP that will remove the fog from all maps, even the ones SOE already has maps for?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Unread 03-04-2005, 02:02 PM
Quib Quib is offline
A Griffon
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 720
Default

Nope. The idea had been toyed with but was abandoned.

Also, the only zones that have fog are the ones SOE provides.

Quib
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Unread 03-04-2005, 02:23 PM
Jakep Jakep is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 4
Default

What were you saying earlier about displacing the fog on the map so that it wouldn't cover the main areas? Is this possible, and if so how do you do it?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Unread 03-04-2005, 02:32 PM
Quib Quib is offline
A Griffon
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 720
Default

Yes it's possible and it's pretty complicated. You have to start the MapPage object at 3x normal width before EQ2 loads the first map, then set it back to normal width the first time the map window is opened. This also displaces your location arrow so that you don't see it either. The lack of location arrow (until you've zoned) and the particular order in which the map window must be opened and it's state upon camping is why we abandoned making it a standard feature. Plus I imagine the EQ2 devs don't really like the players getting rid of the fog.

Quib
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Unread 03-04-2005, 03:20 PM
Jakep Jakep is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for the clarifications!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Unread 03-19-2005, 02:48 AM
tonyis3l33t's Avatar
tonyis3l33t tonyis3l33t is offline
a hedgehog
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Server: Nagafen
Posts: 854
Send a message via AIM to tonyis3l33t Send a message via Yahoo to tonyis3l33t
Default

we need a list of original zones that need zonerect found.
__________________
Nagafen (Evil) - Climax, Goshawk
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Unread 03-30-2005, 07:08 PM
jgok jgok is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyis3l33t
we need a list of original zones that need zonerect found.
I know the Feerrott needs one... I've been marking PoIs for it, but I haven't tried this thing to get a map of it. I'll run that tonight or tomorrow and post the results.

Do I need to have the entire zone as clear as possible of the fog, or is that even a worry? The only sections of the Feerrott I haven't cleared are those near the Temple of Cazic-Thule, as the mobs there are the only ones who see through my invis...
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Unread 03-30-2005, 08:17 PM
Quib Quib is offline
A Griffon
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 720
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jgok
I know the Feerrott needs one... I've been marking PoIs for it, but I haven't tried this thing to get a map of it. I'll run that tonight or tomorrow and post the results.

Do I need to have the entire zone as clear as possible of the fog, or is that even a worry? The only sections of the Feerrott I haven't cleared are those near the Temple of Cazic-Thule, as the mobs there are the only ones who see through my invis...
Revealing the map isn't important, you just need to get far NW and far SE to get /loc's.

If it's easier to get far NE and SW than NW and SE (rather, if you can get farther NE than NW and farther SW than SE) go ahead and do so, and just post a pic of the BFZ calculator and I can do some reversed calculations on the numbers.

Quib
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29 PM.


Our Network
EQInterface | EQ2Interface | War.MMOUI | WoWInterface | VGInterface | LoTROInterface | MMOInterface