EQ2Interface

EQ2Interface (https://www.eq2interface.com/forums/index.php)
-   EQ2MAP (https://www.eq2interface.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=34)
-   -   EQ2MAP Updater 1.0 Released! (https://www.eq2interface.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3160)

taco-man 06-04-2005 02:17 AM

EQ2MAP Updater 1.0 Released!
 
After a week of final testing (thankyou to those who helped, you know who you are) and modifications the final version of the updater that i have been promising to release has finally been released. You can download it from Here You may want to read the section about the options menu to get an idea of some of the functions. I have had alot of fun working on this program however unless there are any major bugs it will be the last version that i release (i havent been on eq2 for months, and will most likely be cancelling my account soon) Thank you everyone i hope you guys enjoy it, i will still be around on the forums to help everyone and make an attempt to maintain the maps.eq2interface.com site with the help of dolby, who has been doing ALOT of maps lately. if anyone wants the source-code to try and learn something from (which may be pretty hard as my code is probably sloppy seeing as this was the first large program i ever wrote) you can get it from sourceforge(link below). It was written in visual basic .net using visual studio 2003.

EDIT: You may also download this program (including the source code) from http://sourceforge.net/projects/eq2map-updater/

Here is a list of all the things i can remember that have been added since the last version:
-Made a seperate window for all the options
-Added ability to auto-launch a second program as well as EQ2 (usefull for those who use combat stats)
-Window is resizeable for people running at non-standard DPI
-Added Overall progress bar w/ %
-Added # of files left to download
-Added Amount Downloaded/Total Status in KB/MB
-Added text to show the path to the everquest directory, as well as the exe files that it autolaunches
-Added browse buttons for changing all the paths to files/directory
-Added suport for the language folders I think its working well, but if there are any bugs please let me know, i couldnt really test it that well.
-Added Drop down boxes for switching between diffent UI folders (it will update the eq2.ini as well) and also for switching between languages.
-Fixed the testserver option so it actually launches TestEQ2.exe
-Added an option for File overwrite notification (currently only for mainhud.map but it can be added for files as needed)
-Made it show the UI directory being and language patched
-Error handling for unknown exceptions to help track down unusual bugs.
-Wont let the custom directory be se to default, fonts, sounds, or images
-added a way to stop downloading
-probably some other stuff i cant remember
-made the file scanning progress show up in the progress bar

dc_roenfanz 06-04-2005 02:34 AM

The updater insists on auto-launching EQ2.exe even though I have EverQuest2.exe selected. I restarted it like 15 times and it keeps going to the default

taco-man 06-04-2005 03:23 AM

whats even stranger is that if you pick something else besides everquest2.exe (like eq2settings.exe) it will work right. i cant figure out why its opening eq2.exe when everquest2.exe is selected. What is really odd is that its like eq is detecting that its being autolaunched or something because i just made it show the same path and filename its launching when its set to everquest2.exe and autolaunching and it shows the right program.

the code is pretty simple, here is what i used, its showing the right file in the messagebox but the wrong one is opening
Code:

Try
                Dim p As New Process
                With p.StartInfo
                    If TestServer = True Then
                        .FileName = "TestEQ2.exe"
                        .WorkingDirectory = AutoLaunchPath & "\TestServer"
                    Else
                        .FileName = AutoLaunchFile
                        .WorkingDirectory = AutoLaunchPath & "\"
                        MessageBox.Show(AutoLaunchPath & "\" & AutoLaunchFile)    'this line shows the right thing
                    End If
                    .WindowStyle = ProcessWindowStyle.Normal
                End With
                p.Start()
            Catch ex As Exception
                MessageBox.Show("There was an error trying to launch Everquest II, Please open Everquest 2 manually.")
                Exit Sub
            End Try

that eq2 is somehow detecting it being opened is the only thing i can think of but it doesnt make sense.

ITs just the stangest thing, i dont understand it at all :confused: its driving me crazy and doesnt make any sense! :mad:

taco-man 06-04-2005 04:04 AM

ok well now i have pretty much concluded that it couldnt be the program or if it is then i dont see how its possible because even when i hard code it in to where its just
.FileName = "EverQuest2.exe"
.WorkingDirectory = "D:\Program Files\Sony\EverQuest II"

eq2.exe opens

dc_roenfanz 06-04-2005 06:15 AM

could the launcher be directed to launch an applet that in turn runs everquest2.exe? Aside from my semester of VB in high school, I know squat about writing executables. And yes, I noticed that other .exe worked. I tested this by linking to the Station Pass launchpad. (under the station directory).

On a side note, I find it interesting that the StationPass launchpad gives the option for password retention, but the EQ2 LP doesnt.

taco-man 06-04-2005 10:41 AM

well now i KNOW its not something my program is doing, i made a program in vb that just has a button and the whole code for the program is just
Code:

    Private Sub Button1_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button1.Click
        Dim p As New Process
        With p.StartInfo
            .FileName = "EverQuest2.exe"
            .WorkingDirectory = "D:\Program Files\Sony\EverQuest II"
            .WindowStyle = ProcessWindowStyle.Normal
        End With
        p.Start()
    End Sub

and yet it still launches EQ2.exe

taco-man 06-04-2005 11:13 AM

i have added the files to sourceforge.net now, for anyone who wants the source code (link is above in the first post)

Zounia 06-06-2005 02:43 PM

Don't know if this will help ya Taco, as I code in VB6 still :eek:

But the code below is what I use to Launch the game without the LP in a program I have written.

Private Sub cmdLaunchGame_Click()
Dim retValue As Long
Dim hwnd As Long
Dim strFileName As String

strFileName = "C:\Program Files\Sony\EverQuest II\EverQuest2.exe"
retValue = ShellExecute(Me.hwnd, "Open", strFileName, "", "C:\Program Files\Sony\EverQuest II\", SW_SHOWNORMAL)

Debug.Print retValue
Me.WindowState = vbMinimized
End Sub

It uses a windows API call.

Z

taco-man 06-06-2005 03:15 PM

thanks alot, i will check it out!
:)

dc_roenfanz 06-06-2005 03:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zounia
Don't know if this will help ya Taco, as I code in VB6 still :eek:

But the code below is what I use to Launch the game without the LP in a program I have written.

Private Sub cmdLaunchGame_Click()
Dim retValue As Long
Dim hwnd As Long
Dim strFileName As String

strFileName = "C:\Program Files\Sony\EverQuest II\EverQuest2.exe"
retValue = ShellExecute(Me.hwnd, "Open", strFileName, "", "C:\Program Files\Sony\EverQuest II\", SW_SHOWNORMAL)

Debug.Print retValue
Me.WindowState = vbMinimized
End Sub

It uses a windows API call.

Z

THAT looks familiar, sort of. I'm guessing this is VB before the .net stuff, eh?

taco-man 06-06-2005 03:52 PM

that didnt help, but thanks for trying. The good news is i did figure out what was needed and it works, i will be uploading a new version soon.
EDIT: ok the new version is up and it should launch everquest2.exe properly.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03 AM.

vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© MMOUI