EQ2Interface

EQ2Interface (https://www.eq2interface.com/forums/index.php)
-   Chit-Chat (https://www.eq2interface.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   A handy little application... (https://www.eq2interface.com/forums/showthread.php?t=13554)

dragowulf 11-11-2009 01:52 AM

A handy little application...
 
I just ran across this application and I have to say that I'm loving it so much I want to share it with everyone. It's called Game Booster by IOBit. What it does is it temporarily turns off unnecessary services such as Windows Search, Search Indexer, Print Spooler, IP Helper, etc. while you are gaming. It increase my performance by around 5-10%. I like it mainly because of the obvious performance boost and I don't have to manually go to each service and disable it myself. I actually like Windows Search/Search Indexer, but it interrupts my gaming experience because it uses so many resources. I like how it disables everything for you, then when you're done gaming it re enables all the extra crap.

Using this and ReadyBoost really helps performance on Windows 7 64-bit. At least for me anyways.

Drumstix42 11-11-2009 02:07 AM

Yeah, sometimes disabling a load of those "small" processes leads to decent gains for other stuff :)

This sounds a lot like AMD Fusion -- which would allow you to both tweak/overclock CPU and GPU settings (with AMD Overdrive I think itw as called), but also disable other unnecessary processes at the click of a button.

gm9 11-11-2009 05:17 AM

net start/stop [service name]
to start/stop a service from the command line or your own batch file. Saves you the resources of running that application. ;)

dragowulf 11-11-2009 06:46 AM

I couldn't get it to work. I kept getting a syntax error on line 1 char 5.

My batch...:
Code:

NET STOP AeLookupSvc
NET STOP BITS
NET STOP UxSms
NET STOP DPS
NET STOP WdiServiceHost
NET STOP WdiSystemHost
NET STOP TrkWks
NET STOP fdPHost
NET STOP FDResPub
NET STOP hideserv
NET STOP IKEEXT
NET STOP iphlpsvc
NET STOP PolicyAgent
NET STOP Spooler
NET STOP LanmanServer
NET STOP ShellHWDetection
NET STOP wcncsvc
NET STOP WSearch
NET STOP WinHttpAutoProxySvc


gm9 11-11-2009 07:59 AM

Well syntax error implies they changed the syntax of that command in your operating system, surprising since that's been working since Windows NT days. Or it's UAC again, you'll need to run the batch as admin of course.

dragowulf 11-11-2009 01:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gm9 (Post 86936)
Well syntax error implies they changed the syntax of that command in your operating system, surprising since that's been working since Windows NT days. Or it's UAC again, you'll need to run the batch as admin of course.

I don't have UAC enabled. I know what programs I should run, so UAC in essence does nothing for security for advanced users.

Also the command net stop works in cmd, just not with batch files. Net start seems to work.

ddaniel51 11-11-2009 03:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dragowulf (Post 86935)
I couldn't get it to work. I kept getting a syntax error on line 1 char 5.

My batch...:
Code:

NET STOP AeLookupSvc
NET STOP BITS
NET STOP UxSms
NET STOP DPS
NET STOP WdiServiceHost
NET STOP WdiSystemHost
NET STOP TrkWks
NET STOP fdPHost
NET STOP FDResPub
NET STOP hideserv
NET STOP IKEEXT
NET STOP iphlpsvc
NET STOP PolicyAgent
NET STOP Spooler
NET STOP LanmanServer
NET STOP ShellHWDetection
NET STOP wcncsvc
NET STOP WSearch
NET STOP WinHttpAutoProxySvc


I cut and pasted your commands to a batch file, inserted a pause command between each line and it ran ok. Going a step further I downloaded the Windows server 2003 Resource kit (rtools.exe) http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en from MickeySoft in order to get the sleep.exe utility which I added to the Windows/System32 folder. Using Win 7 Pro 64 btw.

Replacing the pause in the batch file with [sleep 5](tweakable) gives the system time to gracefully shut down the processes before issuing the next command. Works fine this way. Enjoy!

gm9 11-11-2009 04:14 PM

Oh if that is the issue I have an ever better solution:
start /w net start/stop [ServiceName]
This waits for the command to finish before continuing execution of the batch file and passing on to the next command.

dragowulf 11-11-2009 05:36 PM

I don't know why it didn't work the first time, but here's my code for Windows 7. I'm still tweaking it to disable the crap I don't want while playing games. I want to keep my security software running. Is there a way to start/stop a process and if so is there a way to toggle the process/service instead of having two separate batch files?
Code:

NET STOP "Application Experience"
NET STOP "Background Intelligent Transfer Service"
NET STOP "Desktop Window Manager Session Manager"
NET STOP "Diagnostic Policy Service"
NET STOP "Diagnostic Service Host"
NET STOP "Distributed Link Tracking Client"
NET STOP "Computer Browser"
NET STOP "Function Discovery Provider Host"
NET STOP "Function Discovery Resource Publication"
NET STOP "Human Interface Device Access"
NET STOP "IKE and AuthIP IPsec Keying Modules"
NET STOP "IP Helper"
NET STOP "IPsec Policy Agent"
NET STOP "Print Spooler"
NET STOP "Security Center"
NET STOP "Server"
NET STOP "Shell Hardware Detection"
NET STOP "Task Scheduler"
NET STOP "Windows Connect Now - Config Registrar"
NET STOP "Windows Search"
NET STOP "Windows Update"
NET STOP "WinHTTP Web Proxy Auto-Discovery Service"

NET STOP "ASLDR Service"
NET STOP "ATKGFNEX Service"
NET STOP "avast! Mail Scanner"
NET STOP "IS360service"

Obviously I disabled Avast Mail Scanner because I don't check mail while gaming. I was also wondering if there are any unnecessary services that I can disable that isn't in my list?

gm9 11-12-2009 05:46 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by dragowulf (Post 86945)
is there a way to toggle the process/service instead of having two separate batch files?

not directly, but you could create your two batch files services1.cmd and services2.cmd and switch them out via another batch file toggle.cmd:
ren services1.cmd services1.bak
ren service2.cmd services1.cmd
ren services1.bak services2.cmd
start services1.cmd
Now each time you run toggle.cmd it alternates between running your start or your stop batch file.

Quote:

Originally Posted by dragowulf (Post 86945)
I was also wondering if there are any unnecessary services that I can disable that isn't in my list?

Depends on what you are currently running and what you need. ;) Attached is a .reg file (renamed) that I usually use after initial install to turn some services off which are running by default. Maybe it's helpful.

PS: I feel I may have made it more complicated than simply using the tool you proposed in the OP? ;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54 AM.

vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© MMOUI