EQ2Interface

EQ2Interface (https://www.eq2interface.com/forums/index.php)
-   EQ2MAP (https://www.eq2interface.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=34)
-   -   maps.eq2interface.com Comments and Suggestions (https://www.eq2interface.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1368)

Eloa 02-07-2005 08:21 PM

maps.eq2interface.com Comments and Suggestions
 
Post all your comments and suggestions about the maps.eq2interface.com site in this thread.

Killarny 02-07-2005 08:37 PM

I can't stand dark themed websites that have lots of text on them. It makes it hard to read for me (an extreme example, the SOE forums website hurts my eyes to read for long periods of time) - but the blue/white/gray you have now is very nice looking. I am a big fan of choice, though, so I think both options could be available.

Dolby 02-07-2005 09:35 PM

If you want it themed more like my dark theme I can make any graphics you need. Heck i could code a shell and then you could just pick off the html and put it where you need it.

Itanius 02-07-2005 09:38 PM

I'm a big fan of the dark theme here, and would like to see the option to apply a similar theme to that site as well.

Good work, all of you. :nana:

Dolby 02-08-2005 12:31 AM

Here is a rough html shell of the

[edit: dead ink removed] looks like Eloa is working on makeing the style now. :)

Itanius 02-08-2005 12:41 AM

Very nice!

tonyis3l33t 02-08-2005 02:01 AM

i think having the options for that dark theme/how it is now is the best idea:) If you ever get a good theme idea just add it to the options :nana:

Drumstix42 02-08-2005 11:54 AM

I like dark themes, but I can't stand the one on these forums for some reason. So if you have it, you should have an option ;)

Eloa 02-08-2005 03:11 PM

Theme selection is now up, the dark still needs modification a bit, ie the black text, tables are off color a bit, etc. The table colors on the light will be changed to match it, other themes may be made later on. Use the themes menu on the left nav bar. Thanks dolby for the shell and graphics

Eloa 02-09-2005 07:47 AM

Should I put up maps for each zone and put the icons just like it displays ingame, ala gry-online?

tonyis3l33t 02-09-2005 07:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eloa
Should I put up maps for each zone and put the icons just like it displays ingame, ala gry-online?

most definetly. I tried getting the "type your loc here" feature to work on my own but i can't figure out how they did it.

Eloa 02-09-2005 06:25 PM

I figure it would be simple math. All it should include is pull up the corner locations and use a calculation to send to the position variables that place the text, or in my case, image at the correct location in a page.

Killarny 02-09-2005 07:27 PM

Taco-man may have suggested this yesterday, and I realize this would probably be a bit of work, but here goes:

What about making the maps page automatically generate the final map xml code as quib approves each POI?

Instead of generating code for each POI that he has to copy/paste into a file, have all POIs currently in the xml re-added to the database (this only needs to be done once) and then have a button for quib that generates a text view of all previously approved POIs sorted and placed in xml already.

This way Quib doesn't have to worry about which ones he's already added, or keeping track of each one as he approves them. He can just go on an approval spree, and then generate the POI xml at his leisure.

taco-man 02-09-2005 07:31 PM

^^ what i am planning on doing, except i must take it 1 step at a time and pray to god that i can figure it out. :eek: assuming i can i was HOPING on making a way to automaticly import all the data for the pages but i am not sure if i can, and when i will actually have any free time, i was up working way too late last night and i will be again tomorrow....DAMN SCHOOL!

Quib 02-09-2005 08:00 PM

Since I've started breaking the XML up into "modules" the last two posts are a really good idea. If the database can generate the whole icon page for a zone, it'd basically be writing each of the xml files in their entirety.

Anyway, looks like we have a lot of interesting new concepts in the works, mostly on the development end, and we'll see how things turn out during the upcoming week.

Quib

taco-man 02-09-2005 09:23 PM

eloa do you have an instant messenger or microphone or something so we can talk to each other?

taco-man 02-10-2005 12:14 AM

ok, here is what i have accomplished so far.
as far as reading the xml and putting the info into the map DB i have written some php that write an array like this from the xml you just have to give it one page at a time. you should be able to modify it to get it into the database if you want.
Code:

Array
(
    [IconType] => Array
        (
            [NAMEzail] => NAME
            [MOBcavs] => MOB
            [MOBcanda] => MOB
            [LOCchapel] => LOC
            [ZONEshiii] => ZONE
            [LOCarchery] => LOC
            [MOBoozmist] => MOB
            [NAMEscion] => NAME
            [MOBzombies] => MOB
            [ZONElib] => ZONE
            [ZONEvalor] => ZONE
            [MOBgel] => MOB
            [MOBtorrent] => MOB
            [LOCatrium] => LOC
            [MOBdcrusaders] => MOB
            [MOBhand] => MOB
            [MOBstrongboxes] => MOB
            [ZONEshi] => ZONE
            [MOBtombs] => MOB
            [LOClib2] => LOC
            [MOBwrits] => MOB
        )

    [LOC] => Array
        (
            [NAMEzail] => 121.60, -24.72, -5.33
            [MOBcavs] => 111.86, -18.72, -29.67
            [MOBcanda] => 79.56, -16.57, -17.74
            [LOCchapel] => 79.56, -16.57, -17.74
            [ZONEshiii] => 93.16, -38.00, -99.10
            [LOCarchery] => 7.18, -24.82, -76.24
            [MOBoozmist] => 5.04, -26.55, -121.61
            [NAMEscion] => 5.04, -26.55, -121.61
            [MOBzombies] => 5.04, -26.55, -121.61
            [ZONElib] => 5.04, -26.55, -121.61
            [ZONEvalor] => -15.69, -24.83, -43.60
            [MOBgel] => -24.87, -24.79, -126.91
            [MOBtorrent] => -49.24, -24.79, -124.00
            [LOCatrium] => -72.69, -24.76, -98.14
            [MOBdcrusaders] => -103.73, -25.74, -64.59
            [MOBhand] => -103.73, -25.74, -64.59
            [MOBstrongboxes] => -95.61, -32.00, -173.57
            [ZONEshi] => -145.19, -16.00, -98.16
            [MOBtombs] => -116.51, -32.00, -154.36
            [LOClib2] => -116.51, -32.00, -154.36
            [MOBwrits] => -116.51, -32.00, -154.36
        )

    [Description] => Array
        (
            [NAMEzail] => The Maelstrom
            [MOBcavs] => Cavaliers
            [MOBcanda] => Cavaliers, Acolytes
            [LOCchapel] => The Chapel
            [ZONEshiii] => To Stormhold Keep III
            [LOCarchery] => Archery
            [MOBoozmist] => Oozing Fungus, Condensed Mist
            [NAMEscion] => Scion of Pain
            [MOBzombies] => Zombies
            [ZONElib] => To Library
            [ZONEvalor] => To Tomb of Valor
            [MOBgel] => Gel-Cubes
            [MOBtorrent] => Torrents
            [LOCatrium] => Atrium
            [MOBdcrusaders] => Defiled Crusaders
            [MOBhand] => Handmaidens
            [MOBstrongboxes] => Strongboxes
            [ZONEshi] => To Stormhold Keep I
            [MOBtombs] => Tombs
            [LOClib2] => The Library
            [MOBwrits] => Writs
        )

)

I have also written some php that will generate output look like:
Code:

<Icon IconStyle="MOB" IconType="map" Location="377,296" Name="MOBbogfairies" pathfindlocation="589, -35, 560" ScrollExtent="10,10" Size="10,10" Tooltip="Bog Fairies " TreatAsButton="true" OnHoverIn="Parent.Parent.Parent.Parent.WC_Titlebar.QM_LocEntry.QM_LocText.LocalText=pathfindlocation Parent.Parent.Parent.Parent.WC_Titlebar.QM_LocEntry.QM_LocPath.pathfindlocation=pathfindlocation"/>
That was generated using the following variables:
$Name = "MOBbogfairies";
$PathfindLocation = "589,-35,560";
$IconType = "MOB";
$Description = "Bog Fairies";
$ZoneRect = "-844,358,-553,698";

you would just have to change it to pull the variables from the database. also i noticed in the code view for some reason it puts spaces in random spots on this forum, it doesnt have them when it is generated.

Eloa 02-10-2005 06:43 AM

Hmm this is gonna get tough. What I mean is pulling the info out of XML. Or actually, automating the whole thing period. I'm at that point where you know exactly WHAT YOU WANT to say, just not how to say it exactly. Ill give it my best shot.


I tried, it wasnt working. Taco, IM me when you can, I'm on from like 4pm MST - 10pm, and just whenever overnight, usually between 2 and 6 am.


On a good note, I'm working on the webpage version of the ingame maps with locations, I just have to find out the php functions needed to do the string manipulation I need to do, such as take a 3 coordinate loc (that is in the form of 123,-142,-382; no spaces, just - or no -, commas, and integers) and break it down so I have an x and a y, how to return whether an interger is positive or negative, and how to reverse the negative or positive integers. If anyone knows, pass it on to me please.

I've got it working so long as I keep all of my integers positive.

NobodySpecial 02-10-2005 08:13 AM

Good Map Site
 
This is the best map site I have found for EQ2.
See if you guys can use any of the info contained in it.
http://www.***************/eq2/index.asp

For a good TeamSpeak server which is up 24/7 and has an EQ2 channel...
www.wolfgaming.net
All you have to do is register with the website and your user name and pass is the same for the TS login. This would be a good place to meet via VOIP and discuss things. Plus you might get a chance to talk to me! WOW!!
WolfGaming TS server IP is 66.179.164.24

You can DL TeamSpeak at...
www.goteamspeak.com

Trip
AKA - OBNOXUS (on TS)
AKA - NobodySpecial

ger 02-10-2005 08:58 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by NobodySpecial
This is the best map site I have found for EQ2.
See if you guys can use any of the info contained in it.
http://www.***************/eq2/index.asp

For a good TeamSpeak server which is up 24/7 and has an EQ2 channel...
www.wolfgaming.net
All you have to do is register with the website and your user name and pass is the same for the TS login. This would be a good place to meet via VOIP and discuss things. Plus you might get a chance to talk to me! WOW!!
WolfGaming TS server IP is 66.179.164.24

You can DL TeamSpeak at...
www.goteamspeak.com

Trip
AKA - OBNOXUS (on TS)
AKA - NobodySpecial

The guy(s) behing gry-online are more than a little territorial about their maps. I'm sure Tony, Sunthas, or Quib could give you a better rundown on the problems they ran into with SoulPL (gry-online guy) before.

tonyis3l33t 02-10-2005 09:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ger
The guy(s) behing gry-online are more than a little territorial about their maps. I'm sure Tony, Sunthas, or Quib could give you a better rundown on the problems they ran into with SoulPL (gry-online guy) before.

yea....only thing that place is useful for is quests/icon placement on zones where you dont know zonerect yet. Which is enough. Helps me get those overlay icons done. Which, are boring as hell....i wanna see someone else to a few:)

taco-man 02-10-2005 09:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eloa
Hmm this is gonna get tough. What I mean is pulling the info out of XML. Or actually, automating the whole thing period. I'm at that point where you know exactly WHAT YOU WANT to say, just not how to say it exactly. Ill give it my best shot.


I tried, it wasnt working. Taco, IM me when you can, I'm on from like 4pm MST - 10pm, and just whenever overnight, usually between 2 and 6 am.


On a good note, I'm working on the webpage version of the ingame maps with locations, I just have to find out the php functions needed to do the string manipulation I need to do, such as take a 3 coordinate loc (that is in the form of 123,-142,-382; no spaces, just - or no -, commas, and integers) and break it down so I have an x and a y, how to return whether an interger is positive or negative, and how to reverse the negative or positive integers. If anyone knows, pass it on to me please.

I've got it working so long as I keep all of my integers positive.

to split up a string:
Code:

list($LOC_x, $LOC_z, $LOC_y) = split(",", $PathfindLocation , 3);
that will split $pathfindlocation into the 3 different strings, $LOC_x, $LOC_z, $LOC_y.

Oh and for the positive negative thing, just write a small function that returns true if its >= 0 or flase if its less than 0

Eloa 02-10-2005 10:29 AM

awesome....

Killarny 02-10-2005 04:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by taco-man
split(",", $PathfindLocation , 3);

I don't know PHP, but based on my experiences with C/C++, Java, Python, ObjectPascal and a few others, if the split() function is worth a damn, you should be able to pass it multiple delimiters, so that you can parse any combination of comma or space delimited strings. That way you don't have to have the strict limitation of loc,loc,loc with no spaces.

Eloa 02-10-2005 05:49 PM

Actually I already changed the posting method to remove all spaces when it is submitted.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30 AM.

vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© MMOUI