EQ2Interface

EQ2Interface (https://www.eq2interface.com/forums/index.php)
-   Help!?!?! (https://www.eq2interface.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Welcome Window (https://www.eq2interface.com/forums/showthread.php?t=14534)

abbelyn 08-18-2010 02:58 PM

Welcome Window
 
Is anyone else having an issue with the Welcome window coming up regardless of the setting in the eq2.ini file?

If so doesn't anyone know of a way to stop it from popping up?
I think it may have added a command to OnShow even from one of the default UI files...not sure though.

Will be copying those files onto a flash drive and delving through them tonight while at work if I don't see any ideas by then =)

Draakthor 08-18-2010 03:16 PM

They seem to have removed the cl_show_welcome_screen_on_startup option completely. I'm rather upset about that myself.

Siliconeclone 08-18-2010 11:02 PM

Ok if you are using a custom ui move the "eq2ui_mainhud_welcome.xml" file to your custom UI folder (ie eq2maps ect..)

Then open up the .xml you just copied (not the original) in an editor of some sort (notepad or wordpad are fine)

Then find this, it should be at the very top

<Page Activated="true" eq2opensound="ui_window_inventory_open" eq2usescomwndcontrols="false" IgnoreTab="false" Location="112,72" MaximumSize="1024,1024" Name="Welcome" PackLocation="center,center" ScrollExtent="820,600" Size="820,600" UserMovable="true" UserScrollable="false" version="2.0">

And change the bolded part to

MaximumSize="0,0"

and it should look like

<Page Activated="true" eq2opensound="ui_window_inventory_open" eq2usescomwndcontrols="false" IgnoreTab="false" Location="112,72" MaximumSize="0,0" Name="Welcome" PackLocation="center,center" ScrollExtent="820,600" Size="820,600" UserMovable="true" UserScrollable="false" version="2.0">

Save your file and no more welcome screen... (at all, even if you want to actually look at it later lol)

abbelyn 08-19-2010 11:48 AM

I guess that will work for a temporary solution, however the Welcome screen does have useful info to pull up every now and then, just not everytime I login to any toon.

I also searched the text in the files for the default directory and didn't find any sort of OnShow command for the Welcome window.

abbelyn 08-29-2010 12:37 PM

Haven't seen any posts here on this in any forum, so figured I's spread what I found at the top of Page 3 of this link:

http://forums.station.sony.com/eq2/p...opic_id=485509

Code:

In the eq2.ini file you want to keep this code (or add it):  cl_show_welcome_screen_on_startup 0.

At the top of the eq2ui_mainhud_welcome.xml, you will see this code (same as the previously mentioned technique)

<Page Activated="true" eq2opensound="ui_window_inventory_open" eq2usescomwndcontrols="false" IgnoreTab="false" Location="112,72" MaximumSize="1024,1024" Name="Welcome" PackLocation="center,center" ScrollExtent="820,600" Size="820,600" UserMovable="true" UserScrollable="false" version="2.0">

Change Name="Welcome" to Name="Welcome Screen".  This makes the EQ2.ini file command valid again and actually PREVENTS the freaking SOE Billboard from showing at all, even minutely.

I have tested this and can confirm if you copy the Welcome window from default to your custom UI folder and made the change the eq2.ini command will work, however it also causes the link from the start menu to not work to open the Welcome window as well as the keybind for the Window to not work either. I even tried a few variations of creating a macro button to open the window, no dice there either.

I tried changing the Name in the file to "WelcomeScreen" Still cannot load with command, however it will still block it from loading fine.

I tried changing the command in eq2.ini to "cl_show_welcome_on_startup 0" & fixing the file back to standard, the window still shows.

Anyone got any other ideas, now that we know we can block the window again without resizing it, we just need to find a way to still be able to toggle it.

Drumstix42 08-29-2010 04:23 PM

That fix isn't a true fix, it just changed the window name so the game cannot find it, and the command you're putting in the eq2.ini is doing absolutely nothing.

A real fix would be to hide the window the first time it comes up with an OnShow event and only have it fire off once.

Add a property to the first <Page>:
HiddenOnce="false"

Add the OnShow property, also to the first <Page>:
OnShow="visible=HiddenOnce&#xD;&#xA;HiddenOnce=true"


Note: I didn't test this. but it should work ;)

Siliconeclone 08-29-2010 06:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Drumstix42 (Post 92898)
That fix isn't a true fix, it just changed the window name so the game cannot find it, and the command you're putting in the eq2.ini is doing absolutely nothing.

A real fix would be to hide the window the first time it comes up with an OnShow event and only have it fire off once.

Add a property to the first <Page>:
HiddenOnce="false"

Add the OnShow property, also to the first <Page>:
OnShow="visible=HiddenOnce&#xD;&#xA;HiddenOnce=true"


Note: I didn't test this. but it should work ;)

Um yes... yes it does. Very nice. It doesn't open but you can indeed open it yourself

Drumstix42 08-29-2010 07:11 PM

Glad to hear :)

abbelyn 08-29-2010 09:18 PM

Nicely done Drums, thanks for the help.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 AM.

vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© MMOUI