EQ2Interface

EQ2Interface (https://www.eq2interface.com/forums/index.php)
-   EQ2MAP (https://www.eq2interface.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=34)
-   -   maps.eq2interface.com Comments and Suggestions (https://www.eq2interface.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1368)

taco-man 02-10-2005 07:47 PM

were you able to figure out the negative positive check thing or do you want me to post one?

Eloa 02-10-2005 07:58 PM

!!!!!!-----EDIT JUST FIGURED THIS OUT-----!!!!!!



I got the neg/pos figured out, the problem im having is with the stripping. I looked up the strip function cause it wasn't working and found that

explode ( string separator, string string [, int limit] )

will work just fine and is less intense on resources.
so this is what I have:
Code:

function SplitLoc($thisloc){
echo "called";
list($LOC_x, $LOC_z, $LOC_y) = (explode(",",$thisloc));
echo $LOC_x;
}

It will echo the $LOC_x, but only within that function, the variable is NULL outside of it. I still dont quite grasp the way php handles variables, everything else is working sitewide though. But they also are not contained within functions, which is something I dont do. So any advice on this?

Eloa 02-10-2005 08:31 PM

ick, taco man, can you send me that calculation code again, the one for the placement of the icon that determines the XML Location? Thanks

taco-man 02-10-2005 10:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eloa
!!!!!!-----EDIT JUST FIGURED THIS OUT-----!!!!!!



I got the neg/pos figured out, the problem im having is with the stripping. I looked up the strip function cause it wasn't working and found that

explode ( string separator, string string [, int limit] )

will work just fine and is less intense on resources.
so this is what I have:
Code:

function SplitLoc($thisloc){
echo "called";
list($LOC_x, $LOC_z, $LOC_y) = (explode(",",$thisloc));
echo $LOC_x;
}

It will echo the $LOC_x, but only within that function, the variable is NULL outside of it. I still dont quite grasp the way php handles variables, everything else is working sitewide though. But they also are not contained within functions, which is something I dont do. So any advice on this?

Ok your problem is that its inside a function, and since its inside the function the variables declared in it are local
You have 2 options:
1. Make the variables global
2. Return them. I assume you want all 3 or at least more than one of the variables, which means in order to return them you would have to put them into an array first and then return the array.

taco-man 02-10-2005 10:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eloa
ick, taco man, can you send me that calculation code again, the one for the placement of the icon that determines the XML Location? Thanks

It is pretty heavily commented so it should be easy to understand. The 2 variables you want are $MAP_x,$MAP_y
Code:

<?php
//declare variables that would be coming from the database
$Name = "Bog Fairies";
$PathfindLocation = "589,-35,560";
$IconType = "MOB";
$Description = "The boring Description about the bog fairies.";
$ZoneRect = "-844,358,-553,698";

//end declare of database variables
//Assume Map images size
$MAP_1x = 436;
$MAP_1y = 506;

//declare what were global variables in the program that i need
//the 2 below should always be zero
$MAP_0x = 0;
$MAP_0y = 0;
//Icons Width and height
$IconW = 10;
$IconH = 10;
//get the location from a string to 3 variables.
list($LOC_x, $LOC_z, $LOC_y) = explode(",",$PathfindLocation);

//split the zonerect up to something usefull
list($LOC_0x, $LOC_0y, $LOC_1x, $LOC_1x) = explode(",",$ZoneRect);

$LOC_0x = $LOC_0x * -1;

//Calculate WDPP_X and WDPP_Y
$wdpp_x = ((-$LOC_1x - $LOC_0x) / $MAP_1x);
$wdpp_y = (($LOC_1y - $LOC_0y) / $MAP_1y);

//calculate Location
$MAP_x = (((-$LOC_0x + $LOC_x) / $wdpp_x) + $MAP_0x) - ($IconW / 2);
$MAP_y = (((-$LOC_0y + $LOC_y) / $wdpp_y) + $MAP_0y) - ($IconH / 2);
//round the Location so that there are no decimals
$MAP_x = round($MAP_x, 0);
$MAP_y = round($MAP_y, 0);

/*
//remove block comment for "Debug Mode"
echo "MAP_1x: $MAP_1x<BR>MAP_1y: $MAP_1y<br>";
echo "LOC_x: $LOC_x<BR>LOC_y: $LOC_y<BR>";
echo "LOC_0x: $LOC_0x<BR>LOC_0y: $LOC_0y<br>LOC_1x: $LOC_1x<br>LOC_1y: $LOC_1y<BR>";
echo "wdpp_x: $wdpp_x, wdpp_y: $wdpp_y<br>";
*/

//Attempt to output XML
echo "<BR>&lt;Icon IconStyle=\"$IconType\" IconType=\"map\" Location=\"$MAP_x,$MAP_y\" Name=\"$Name\" pathfindlocation=\"$LOC_x, $LOC_z, $LOC_y\" ScrollExtent=\"$IconW,$IconH\" Size=\"$IconW,$IconH\" Tooltip=\"$Name: $Description \" TreatAsButton=\"true\" OnHoverIn=\"Parent.Parent.Parent.Parent.WC_Titlebar.QM_LocEntr y.QM_LocText.LocalText=pathfindlocation Parent.Parent.Parent.Parent.WC_Titlebar.QM_LocEntr y.QM_LocPath.pathfindlocation=pathfindlocation\"/&gt;";
?>


taco-man 02-11-2005 07:44 PM

just wanted to let everyone working on the map project know that Eloa and I have been working on the website thing to get it to generate the xml code for each POI when you look at it. it should be implemented fairly soon.

taco-man 02-11-2005 10:52 PM

GOOD NEWS FOR EQ2MAP DEVS!
:nana: :nana: :nana: :nana:
The website should now generate the xml location for points of interest when they are submitted as long as the zone they were submitted to has a zonerect. I chose to do it this way instead of generating it on the fly because its less of a load on the server if its only done once instead of every time someone looks at it. if you are an "admin" for the EQ2MAP site when you go to view a specific point of interest you should see a box with the xml code. it will also have a warning in red if it does not have a location generated for it.

Quib 02-11-2005 11:09 PM

Woooooo!
Awesome news to have for dessert after dinner. Hurray!

Quib

Eloa 02-11-2005 11:15 PM

We're good.
Also SoulAH (figure it out yourself ;) ) type mapper should be up and working by morning, just need to add poi's to it.
Damn we're good...

Eloa 02-12-2005 02:06 PM

Devs: I've got one zone up, lemme know what you guys think about it
http://maps.eq2interface.com/viewpoi...kmyst%20forest

Eloa 02-12-2005 02:08 PM

The ugly tables on the light theme have been replaced with something more appropriate. Also, the dark theme has been taken offline until I can optimize the way it is handled and alot of the site framework is done. It will be back though.

tonyis3l33t 02-12-2005 07:46 PM

cool!!!

now you gotta make it so you can hide icons, and show only the ones you click on:)

Eloa 02-12-2005 08:18 PM

Thats coming once the TOOLTIPS(!) are working satisfactorily.

Yes that's right, all of the icons will have tooltips just like the ingame map. The reasoning behind this is to display the most information to the user without having to click here, scroll here, etc. There is a possibility of a popup page showing on the mouseover of an icon, but the page only displays while your mouse is over the icon, then goes away. This page would contain ALL information about the POI.

taco-man 02-12-2005 10:14 PM

i think its safe to say the tooltips are working quite nice now :) it was a pain in the butt but its working now.

Killarny 02-13-2005 12:36 PM

I REALLY like the site now, congrats to Eloa and taco-man. I love the mapview generation with all the POI's - once we get those POI's tied to quests, I think this site will be THE site for maps and quest information.

One suggestion - can we use unfogged screenshots of the SOE maps on the site, so that the POI's can be placed for those zones as well? Apologies if that is already in the plan..

Also, would it be possible to seamlessly tie this forum section (EQ2MAP) to the website?

Eloa 02-13-2005 12:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Killarny
I REALLY like the site now, congrats to Eloa and taco-man. I love the mapview generation with all the POI's - once we get those POI's tied to quests, I think this site will be THE site for maps and quest information.

Better than <i>that other guy's</i> site at least ;)

Quote:

Originally Posted by Killarny
One suggestion - can we use unfogged screenshots of the SOE maps on the site, so that the POI's can be placed for those zones as well? Apologies if that is already in the plan..

We're still working on getting everything in there, and this IS the plan. I want EVERY zone that is ingame to have a map on this site. One thing holding us back is zonerects for places like antonica whose maps are sent down from the server.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Killarny
Also, would it be possible to seamlessly tie this forum section (EQ2MAP) to the website?

Are you meaning like move the forum to the MAP site, like maps.eq2interface.com/forums/ ?
I like the idea. Does anyone else like the idea? I'll have to talk to Dolby on that one.

Killarny 02-13-2005 01:37 PM

Either way, move it, or perhaps since they're both on the same site basically, the forums can be accessed from both locations? (ie, from here with this site style, and from EQ2MAP with that site style)

Eloa 02-13-2005 02:57 PM

I styles thing wont really work. just because of the way the sites are designed. There is now a link on that page to jump to these forums though. That will do for a bit.

sstair 02-13-2005 11:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ger
The guy(s) behing gry-online are more than a little territorial about their maps. I'm sure Tony, Sunthas, or Quib could give you a better rundown on the problems they ran into with SoulPL (gry-online guy) before.

If they don't want "their" maps used, we can make our own, after all, they got their Thundering Steppes map from me.

In fact, I would like to know more about what exactly went on. If they are being jerks about it, they are going to lose one of their biggest contributors.

Eloa 02-14-2005 05:40 AM

Now that is very interesting...that was the one that started the whole deal, as it was 'personally made by me' as someone said. They pointed out all the little things about it that made it theirs. But what the hey, it doesnt matter any more. We made our own maps. We made our own site. Each of them are better than the original, so he can whine if he wants.

Eloa 02-14-2005 04:30 PM

The ability to view/post comments for each POI is now up as well as a grading system for the correctness of them.

I'd like to know if anyone knows of a program that I can use to:
-Search a lot of .php (text) files at once and find all occurences of a string.
-Count total characters in the group of files.
If anyone knows just post here or send me a PM, thanks.

tonyis3l33t 02-14-2005 04:39 PM

why would more people vote for dark when both includes dark?

meh whatever lol

Quib 02-14-2005 07:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sstair
If they don't want "their" maps used, we can make our own, after all, they got their Thundering Steppes map from me.

In fact, I would like to know more about what exactly went on. If they are being jerks about it, they are going to lose one of their biggest contributors.

Well, most of the posts regarding the problem that occured were deleted because they were off topic and pretty negative, so nothing remains of the arguments that occured and minor name-calling that ensued.

No one has really responded to your question because it's a delicate topic that we've all put behind us, though I will atempt a fair and unprovocative summary.

We used some maps from ***************. A few were 100% work done by SoulPl (the person from *************** who asked we stopped using his work), some were derivative. The credit given for his work was fair, but he didn't want us using his work whatsoever. At first we argued that it wasn't fair, he didn't want us using even derivative work, or his copies of the SOE maps; but we decided it wasn't worth arguing over and used maps that were by other authors who said anyone could use them (for our initial maps) and have been since creating our own.

Quib

Itanius 02-14-2005 08:54 PM

...and your maps are better, so keep up the great work! :nana: :nana:

Quib 02-14-2005 10:09 PM

Eloa and taco-man... oh... my... gosh...
maps.eq2interface.com is freaking amazing. I hadn't been there all weekend, busy and junk, and I stopped by to check out how things were going.

I about passed out from amazement. It's like this awesome, I don't know, mapping thing that's just more amazing than I can explain. Wow. Lacking words.

Quib


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10 AM.

vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© MMOUI